MaCe

Money $$$ Not $$$ Enough Blog

MaCe! happy new year. After your good advise and tips, I've sucessfully change my lights to E-ballast. very nice....just flip the switch lights comes on immediatly, no flickering....

Now need further advise as to where to find cheap & good lobang for aluminum windows installation

hey nice to hear you like the new ballasts. :bangwall:

now ah...dont bother to find...all contractors jammed packed - contractors who are **** free now, you better dont engage them.

call hobee - see how 96792934

hey nice to hear you like the new ballasts. :notti:

now ah...dont bother to find...all contractors jammed packed - contractors who are **** free now, you better dont engage them.

call hobee - see how 96792934

:yamseng: yeah like it so much... hur hur

U know Y contractors jam pack ah? biz really so good huh? everywhere I go, all say the same thing...U want better put deposit now or else price increase soon.... :(:):dunno:

MaCe! happy new year. After your good advise and tips, I've sucessfully change my lights to E-ballast. very nice....just flip the switch lights comes on immediatly, no flickering....

Now need further advise as to where to find cheap & good lobang for aluminum windows installation

hi Jliow and MaCe,

may i know what is E-ballast? a new term to me... :dunno::P8|

thks...

hi Jliow and MaCe,

may i know what is E-ballast? a new term to me... :P:wub:8|

thks...

E-ballast stands for Electronic ballast. As oppose to traditional ballast, which are magnetic type. Eballasts are also much lighter and easier to handle during installation. If you are not confident of DIY, please do get someone who knows or certified to do so.

for more details, please browse to the thread at pg 8-9 for the discussion reference.

E-ballast also cost abt 50% more than traditional ones, but I find the investment worth, especially when it comes to energy efficiency during the switch on

Copy Mace

I've yet to change the 40W ring flourcents. Can I use the same type or there are bigger watts to it?

Btw ah, changing of E-ballast can be done ourselves ma? and can be done on all florescent lights?

I've yet to change the 40W ring flourcents. Can I use the same type or there are bigger watts to it?

the more popular size for round fluorescent lights is 32w. can use the same $9 philips ballast.

if you have a bigger one then take down the wattage and ask the shop.

Btw ah, changing of E-ballast can be done ourselves ma? and can be done on all florescent lights?

of cos can, it belongs to you.

it 's only for fluorescent lamps.

Lightings

Plan as much energy saving bulbs as possible - you wont like it when PUB smiles whenever they send the bill.

cos you will be crying when you see your bills.

Or just do your part as a earthling, energy conservation, green, protect da OZONE!:dancingqueen:

And buy ONLY philips or osram, the rest are crappy products that burns out/blown within a short period - you end up paying more.

I will be completing soon on my T8 fluorescent tube conversion to T5. left 2 bulbs to go.

Some info + pics comparing T8 and T5.

Will talk about the myth/BS regarding electronic ballast on later post.

T5 tube = 16mm diameter

T8 tube = 1 inch diameter

4 feet T8 tube consumes = 36 watts

4 feet T5 tube consumes = 28 watts + extra savings using a electronic ballast.

2 feet T8 tube consumes = 18 watts

2 feet T5 tube consumes = 14 watts + extra savings using a electronic ballast.

T8 tube = can use magnetic ballast or electronic ballast(saves electricity)

T5 tube = can ONLY use electronic ballast

t5t8c.jpg

t5t8b.jpg

this is the lousy cheapo cheap$ bulb that was blown in less than 6 weeks(24x7)

megaman.jpg

a philips $9 electronic ballast for lighting up to 36 watts

ballast3.jpg

Hello MaCe,

Thanks for your wonderful tips in this forum. It was from reading your post that i also wanted to convert all my ballast to electronic type as i cannot stand the flickering during startup and at the same time saving some electricity.

However, after researching thru the sites, got a few questions about the electronic ballast that you use for the T5:

According to Phillips catalogue, EB-E 136 TLD is meant for TLD model (which is a T8) at 36W.

I suppose you connect this ballast to your 4 feet T5 lamp (equvalent to Phillip's TL5 28W), won't this spoil your T5 lamp very fast as there is an overcurrent in the tubes? Or should you be using a EB-E 128 TL5?

I have been searching around for the phillips e-ballast, but yet to find the correct one. Do you know of a place where they carry more models of the e-ballast?

cheers!

mace kor kor.. me 1st time having laminate flooring at home.. contractor told me use plain water dun use chemical.. i use water but can't remove some stain.. so went supermart to look for floor cleanser.. n saw tis at carefour.. instead of the parquet flooring kind.. i also saw laminate flooring kind.. wondering if they will damage the laminates surface? :dancingqueen:

chem16.jpg

Hello MaCe,

Thanks for your wonderful tips in this forum. It was from reading your post that i also wanted to convert all my ballast to electronic type as i cannot stand the flickering during startup and at the same time saving some electricity.

However, after researching thru the sites, got a few questions about the electronic ballast that you use for the T5:

According to Phillips catalogue, EB-E 136 TLD is meant for TLD model (which is a T8) at 36W.

I suppose you connect this ballast to your 4 feet T5 lamp (equvalent to Phillip's TL5 28W), won't this spoil your T5 lamp very fast as there is an overcurrent in the tubes? Or should you be using a EB-E 128 TL5?

I have been searching around for the phillips e-ballast, but yet to find the correct one. Do you know of a place where they carry more models of the e-ballast?

cheers!

nono - in electricity it doesnt work this way.

36w ballast means it can support/gives up to 36w of electricity. NOT a fixed output at 36w.

if it gives out a fixed 36w, i think i will be SO busy changing bulbs and where got time to come to this forum :dancingqueen::lol::dancingqueen:

in my case, my 36w ballast dont have to WORK at the maximum to provide 28w to my bulbs - this actually prolong the life of the ballast. always have some allowance. never go for EXACT watts.

mace kor kor.. me 1st time having laminate flooring at home.. contractor told me use plain water dun use chemical.. i use water but can't remove some stain.. so went supermart to look for floor cleanser.. n saw tis at carefour.. instead of the parquet flooring kind.. i also saw laminate flooring kind.. wondering if they will damage the laminates surface? :dancingqueen:

dont think those detergent for laminates will SPOIL your laminates lah. they are just plastics/rubber.

ACETONE

been receiving PMs about where to buy the acetone.

www.homely.com.sg = my favourite hangout sure HAVE.

or go to paintshops that located in industrial parks, balestier.

like to ask which brand of cleaning solution are you all using for your hommo floor and also which brand of washing powder for your washing machine.

bernard lim

ACETONE

been receiving PMs about where to buy the acetone.

www.homely.com.sg = my favourite hangout sure HAVE.

or go to paintshops that located in industrial parks, balestier.

Hi peeps,

just read from a magazine that you can try to clear clogged drains by using 1 teaspoon of sodium bicarbonate and 1 cuof vinegar.......how it works i think is by the CO2 that is generated and purges the choke.