MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 10, 2007 Wah thus why me wanted to hack + tile .. you told me to SAVE on it .. hack + tile just to clean those stains/grouts is for the rich...you beri rich lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 10, 2007 Shopping for Lightsalways go to Kelantan road first before going to those so-called designer lightshops in balestier.the only lightingshop i patronise in balestier is thomson lighting.www.streetdirectory.com , type kelantan road and search. Go to Block 30 for lights/fans/hardware tools/branded switches..etc. Legrand distributor is at Block 27.While at Block 27, you might want to try the FAMOUS original Sungei road LAKSA, using charcoal to boil the laksa soup.Do take note that from Block 27 to Block 30, all these shops sells to contractors, their main biz is not the end-consumer. Thats why their price is at least 30-40% lower than those at balestier, sometimes 50-90% less if you happen to walk into those cut throat lighting shops in balestier.Unless you are getting a REAL DESIGNER lamp(UNIQUE) that costs thousands - what you can find in balestier, most likely you can find it in kelantan road/jalan besar. The only problem with these lighting shops in this area is that, you need to ask and tell them what kind of lights you are searching for - cos they deal mainly with contractors who knows WHAT MODEL-WHAT TYPES-NO-NEED-TO-VIEW and they dont HANG their expensive stocks to collect dust. Thats why at their shop front, you will see mostly lousy/dirty/ugly lamps.a round glass ceiling lamp costs just $35 compare to $90-$120 I found in balestier(exactly the same design).a similiar halogen lamp costs $20 compare to $50-$90 in balestier.$35$20When planning your lights, plan as much as possible using energysaving bulbs. As well as electronic ballasts if you are using fluroscent lightings - see earlier posts.I have the following switched-on 24x74x 5w energysaving bulbs2x 20w,35w energysaving Halogen1x water feature1x hitachi fridgeno aircon though.total of 4 pple in the house and my PUB bill is only $68.00(before modifications). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 11, 2007 (edited) Curtains - thousands of dollars curtains for a simple house?my take into curtains is - if your house reno is like one of those pretty designer houses that appear in reno magazines/tv, then go ahead and spend thousands or even tens of thousands on your curtains. Since your reno already costs $40-100k and looks like a 5star hotel suite, cheap curtains will spoil the whole design. Matching is the key.but if you spend thousands(on curtains) and yet your curtains together with your reno looks just like anybody/everybody's house...then whats the point?nice curtains goes with nice house(design), simple curtains goes with simple houses.expensive looking curtains matches only with expensive looking houses.no offense to anybody - just my opinion towards spending on curtains.My total spending on curtains for 3 stretch of windows/balcony(4 panels of windows)1) Stainless steel water pipes as curtain rod - $44+ for 40ft ( cut to size, sells by per 20ft)remaining SS pipes were used as bamboo.2) Copper end caps(stoppers) - $1.50 each x 63) Ready made curtains - $79, $79, $694) Curtain rod holder from ikea - $2 x 3total for everything = $286.00Why use stainless steel rods? Cos You cant scratch stainless pipes.Curtain rods from ikea are a lot cheaper but the paint on the rod will peel/scratch off when you drag open/closes your curtains, and they are flimsy too. Edited September 11, 2007 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 11, 2007 are the pipes heavy?thinking of getting them as 'bamboo' polesmore lasting than the real ones Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 are the pipes heavy?thinking of getting them as 'bamboo' polesmore lasting than the real ones not heavy by itself but with wet clothes/laundries....it's heavy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Hey Mace,You did mentioned about energy saving halogen, where did you get them? And what is the price range in the market? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 (edited) Hey Mace,You did mentioned about energy saving halogen, where did you get them? And what is the price range in the market?You can only get them from OSram's distributors, not avaliable in retails.I got mine from www.penta.com.sg$6-$6.50 only (normal halogens costs $2.50-$4) Edited September 12, 2007 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sumobear 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 You can only get them from OSram's distributors, not avaliable in retails.I got mine from www.penta.com.sg$6-$6.50 only (normal halogens costs $2.50-$4)Hi...Ok thanks so much...so can walk in and buy? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Hi...Ok thanks so much...so can walk in and buy?NO! you must RUN in and buy! of cos can lah...but dont go in and just buy 1 piece...get a few for standby unless you live near them. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 1) Stainless steel water pipes as curtain rod - $44+ for 40ft ( cut to size, sells by per 20ft)remaining SS pipes were used as bamboo.2) Copper end caps(stoppers) - $1.50 each x 6Why use stainless steel rods? Cos You cant scratch stainless pipes.Bro MaCe, where to buy stainless steel water pipes and the copper end stoppers? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 Bro MaCe, where to buy stainless steel water pipes and the copper end stoppers?joo chiat nearer to me so I went to tembeling street. opposite the famous really nice wanton mee - not the stupid simi feifei wanton.infact you can just look for such water pipe shops(they supply to contractors) in most industrial parks, amk, defu lane...etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 joo chiat nearer to me so I went to tembeling street. opposite the famous really nice wanton mee - not the stupid simi feifei wanton.infact you can just look for such water pipe shops(they supply to contractors) in most industrial parks, amk, defu lane...etchaha! that simi fei fei is franchised one u know! is the tembeling st shop just one wu jing dian shop on its own? i roughly think i know which one. gam xia!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 haha! that simi fei fei is franchised one u know! is the tembeling st shop just one wu jing dian shop on its own? i roughly think i know which one. gam xia!!yesh....just tell the uncle(boss) how many X length pipes you need, he will have them cut from the 20ft stainlesssteel pipe, whatever left over you take home use as bamboo.you pay for the WHOLE 20ft pipe regardless of how long/short you need.If you have check the prices of a stainless steel curtain rod from those curtain shops - it costs roughly $200 for a 4 window length. and yet the quality of the SS is inferior to those SS water pipes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted September 15, 2007 im here... im here... wah bro, i like your metal soap cedarfresh leh... can clean hands and smell.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 16, 2007 im here... im here... wah bro, i like your metal soap cedarfresh leh... can clean hands and smell.... welcome welcome...that cedarfresh...always no stock one. but i can use my head as guarantee that it works, even on diesel/petrol/grease Share this post Link to post Share on other sites