MaCe

Money $$$ Not $$$ Enough Blog

you are missing the points.

the purpose of engaging a ID is to give a house design that is unique and suits the taste of the owner.

no 2 house owners can have the same taste but the problem is - IDs are giving copy and paste designs to all their customers which i find NO POINT in spending $60k and have my house looking the same as everyone's house.

I have been to quite a number of housewarmings - sad to say, only 2 houses look unique(40k-$50k) and a few that looks lagi more unique($20k less), the rest all looked the same!

the lesser the owner spends on reno - the more unique his/her house is. cos the owner focus more on furnitures, furniture layout, off the shelves deco items...etc.

Totally agree. What's important to me is to have a warm and cosy flat to return to after a hard day's of work...a place to chill with my loved ones. I don't see any point to spend our entire savings or get bank loan to finance a $60k reno. Doing a simple reno that costs $10k doesn't mean it is distastefully done or "low class" anyhow. A home, afterall, is a place we feel comfortable staying in, not some place to use as a showcase to friends and relatives.

We spent abt $15k on the reno, with most of the things which we DIY ourselves. But must admit we've spent quite a fair bit of money furnishing and decorating the house. :notti: As the theme of my home is nowhere near the usual contemporary style, a lot of effort and time was spent to transform it to my unique individual taste.

Totally agree. What's important to me is to have a warm and cosy flat to return to after a hard day's of work...a place to chill with my loved ones. I don't see any point to spend our entire savings or get bank loan to finance a $60k reno. Doing a simple reno that costs $10k doesn't mean it is distastefully done or "low class" anyhow. A home, afterall, is a place we feel comfortable staying in, not some place to use as a showcase to friends and relatives.

We spent abt $15k on the reno, with most of the things which we DIY ourselves. But must admit we've spent quite a fair bit of money furnishing and decorating the house. :notti: As the theme of my home is nowhere near the usual contemporary style, a lot of effort and time was spent to transform it to my unique individual taste.

some houses - their furniture costs MORE than their reno hor? :lol:

simi also picket&rail wahsay :lol:

My father also advise me try not to have money burden hanging over our backs, especially in Singapore. Last time he was a boss running a machinery business but all becos of many loans, he sold his business to repay the loans and left only a little to himself. Now he's working part-time to pass his time and to earn a little allowance to himself (of cos I also got give him some allowance lah...hehe).

That's how come I also spent less than 10k for reno and pay housing loans by CPF only. Furnitures and appliances also try to get 2nd hand from relatives or friends.

During recession, not just have people jumping, also have crazy people walking around. During the last recession, saw one young guy (20+) wearing like a salesman with shirt and tie, walking alone talking to himself (definitely not using hands-free or bluetooth)...sad... :(

fortunate that your dad giving you this advice - I learn it the hard way(creditcards).

my house also full of either free(donate by relatives) or cheap furnitures(price we paid). :notti:

When we first moved in - we dont even have a "presentable" TV, just a 21 inch donno how many yrs old sony from my wife's old house. now upgraded to 29" but free also :lol:

Edited by MaCe

My 5 room cost less than $25k (flooring granite tiles and counter top also granite tiles)...simple reno, no fanciful, at the end of the day, you must feel happy and relax and enjoy your new house.

Not come back and see the features wall you have and you begin to tell yourself...:hey...actually everyday see also sian!" That will defeat the purpose of having features all over your house.

Right MACE??

My 5 room cost less than $25k (flooring granite tiles and counter top also granite tiles)...simple reno, no fanciful, at the end of the day, you must feel happy and relax and enjoy your new house.

Not come back and see the features wall you have and you begin to tell yourself...:hey...actually everyday see also sian!" That will defeat the purpose of having features all over your house.

Right MACE??

yalor.

but i do feel a simple feature wall looks good for covering up/hiding the bomb shelter, cos in some houses bomb shelter were located at at some funny location. hmm some dont call this as feature wall.....decor?

some houses - their furniture costs MORE than their reno hor? :lol:

simi also picket&rail wahsay :lol:

:P Since we didn't spend much on reno, so used the remaining budget to buy nicer furniture lor. No choice man, cos our theme is country, most furnishing shops here sell modern/contemporary kind of furniture, which don't blend in with my theme.

i rather spend money on travelling which is my priority over renovation..haha...

i also spend more on furniture rather than on flooring or lights, thats why some of my frens who visited my house find the 'theme' abit weird. it is like very expensive bed in a room with window grill of 20 years ago design and MDR door is those with carving on it..haha.....

sigh..all little money so many WANTS..work hard work hard

i also spend more on furniture rather than on flooring or lights, thats why some of my frens who visited my house find the 'theme' abit weird.

For me, everything can 'chin chai' except the flooring. Because during valuation of the unit at the point of selling it, the HDB people will look at the flooring as first priority to the valuation price. That's what my property agent friend said...

MaCe and guys,

Any idea hw to get rid of those brown stains tt's below the windows (bottom edge)?

A strong cleaner? :unsure:

got pic? :dunno:

i rather spend money on travelling which is my priority over renovation..haha...

i also spend more on furniture rather than on flooring or lights, thats why some of my frens who visited my house find the 'theme' abit weird. it is like very expensive bed in a room with window grill of 20 years ago design and MDR door is those with carving on it..haha.....

sigh..all little money so many WANTS..work hard work hard

all my windows/sliding door@balcony = all original hdb aluminium 1987 :notti:

infact the hdb technical officer advised us not to change - cos nowadays the aluminium is so flimsy - quality no way can compare to those in the past.

travelling = knowledge gained

knowledge = priceless

hehe, i think i travel too much for work it's not a priority, i'd rather buy jewelry :):dancingqueen: but it is true there are so many life experiences to be gained from travelling!

think experience and stuff seen from travelling is great

but good to balance also

too much travelling = $$

too much shopping = $$

depends on wat u like la

Experience gained & knowledge learnt from travelling is good, they will add values & colours to our lives.

I don't mean shopping hor, buying lots of oversea souvenirs has very little value to our lives. They only create holes in our pockets :lol:

Experience gained & knowledge learnt from travelling is good, they will add values & colours to our lives.

I don't mean shopping hor, buying lots of oversea souvenirs has very little value to our lives. They only create holes in our pockets :lol:

he he... and gather a lot of dust! (speaking from expereince!)

It's very reflective... think my lights were on when i took it. :( Try not to magnify it, else lagi more reflective...

use finger nails can scrap off? if can, use acetone.