MaCe

Money $$$ Not $$$ Enough Blog

Hi Mace,

like to check with you, normally where you go and buy your halogen lamps? i looking for 35W12V.

Bernard Lim

Edited by bernard21

Hi Mace,

like to check with you, normally where you go and buy your halogen lamps? i looking for 35W12V.

Bernard Lim

I bought my OSRAM ENERGY SAVING halogen bulbs from :

Penta Lighting Pte Ltd

32 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2

#06-17 Sing Industrial Complex / 569510

yes I am stating energy saving halogen. :dancingqueen:

Have read thru a few pages of this topic and learnt many useful money saving tips and value for money products, salute to all the contributors.

I always thought that energy saving light bulbs really save electricity until I did a google on the net. Some people said they cost more to turn on, less to leave on, than conventional bulbs. The initial energy consumption would be approximately equal to 20 minutes of energy of a traditional light bulb. They are recommended only in places that one need to keep on for a long time, not switch on and off frequently ie. toilet. Another guy said the more often you off them, the more likely you will shorten their lifespan. 5 years ago, when we were doing reno in my parents flat, the ID used energy saving bulbs for all the lightings. I do not know their power watts. 2 years later, the bulb in the toilet died off. The 2 bulbs in my kitchen are still going well till now. So can I say that these people are telling the truth of energy saving bulbs?

When I was in a lighting shop looking at those energy saving bulbs, a shopper told me a Philips 20W bulb is only bright enough for small area like toilet and bathroom. Since Philips produces max. 20W bulbs, for bedrooms, he told me to go for higher power such as Hitachi 50W. I find his theory a bit weird to me, because a Philips 20W bulb produces the same brightness as a conventional 100W bulb. Does it mean that an equivalent 100W can't even brighten up a bedroom? :sport-smiley-004:

i find that among all electrical stuffs salesmen, the ones selling lamps are the WORST lot.

out of 100 maybe you can only find 2 who really knows about lamps and bulbs.

I laugh at their face when they told me there isnt SUCH a thing as ENERGY SAVING HALOGEN bulbs.

read here regarding all the MYTHs and grandmother stories those salesmen likes to tell you.

http://michaelbluejay.com/electricity/myths.html

Penta Lighting Pte Ltd

yes I am stating energy saving halogen. !!

i find that among all electrical stuffs salesmen, the ones selling lamps are the WORST lot.

I laugh at their face when they told me there isnt SUCH a thing as ENERGY SAVING HALOGEN bulbs.

read here regarding all the MYTHs and grandmother stories those salesmen likes to tell you.

Does the shop sell other types of lighting? other like Dining Light and room light..?

they are one of the major distributor for OSRAM.

they sell bulbs only....99% of their customers are contractors.

Hi MaCe,

May I know what kind of cloth do you use to wipe the window when you use Kiwi Kleen Window Cleaner?

Dorcas

old newspapers :dunno:

Penta Lighting Pte Ltd

yes I am stating energy saving halogen. :bangwall:

mace bro, when you free to bring me there ar ??

or do i need to fix up an appt with them ar ??

scared that i would kena bully by the ppl at Penta lighting ...

I seriously doubt they have time to bully U.

pple there very nice lah - fixed pricing no worries about kena carrot.

Thanks brother MaCe for the clarification :D

BTW, where is the cheapest place to buy Philips energy saving bulbs? I am looking for CFL and eyeing at their Tornado design. Thank you :help:

Thanks brother MaCe for the clarification :notti:

BTW, where is the cheapest place to buy Philips energy saving bulbs? I am looking for CFL and eyeing at their Tornado design. Thank you :notti:

for philips non-tornado = rochor centre ground floor, there is a $2 dollar shop beside a CD shop.

for tornado = look out for NTUC ... a lot of times they have special offers on tornado.

Hi MaCe,

Thinking of saving some $$$ for rewiring. Is it advisable to reuse the circuit breaker, just change the circuit breaker box. Save $200- $250 ?

Hi MaCe,

Thinking of saving some $$$ for rewiring. Is it advisable to reuse the circuit breaker, just change the circuit breaker box. Save $200- $250 ?

depends on how old the circuit breakers are and wat brand(clipsal will be the best).

if more or close to 10yrs better change.

box i think it's dirt cheap....$100+ nia.

depends on how old the circuit breakers are and wat brand(clipsal will be the best).

if more or close to 10yrs better change.

box i think it's dirt cheap....$100+ nia.

MaCe,

The circuit breaker looks new and is clipsal. Just that the box look old.

The whole ELCB cost $280 from quote. Box also cost 100+, wow.

Thought can save 200 out of the 1600 rewiring deal.

MaCe,

The circuit breaker looks new and is clipsal. Just that the box look old.

The whole ELCB cost $280 from quote. Box also cost 100+, wow.

Thought can save 200 out of the 1600 rewiring deal.

then can consider reuse the clipsals.

the box(plain plastic box how exp can it be? ) is dirt cheap actually - it's the labour charges to remove the wires from circuitbreakers, fix back to new box, rewire back.....

One part of the whole renovation that i find VERY difficult to save is the electrical wirings, try to save from carpentry.

Edited by MaCe