spinball 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2008 Hi applefreak, thanks for sharing... Went to their website to see see look look... haha... they got sell Insects Night Lights wor...wondering who will buy the Insects Night Lights?? check out their websiteme bought those simple simple ceiling lights, bright enough can liao do watch out for their ads in the weekend straits times for the saleit's almost every other month and you save up to 40% on the price Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
popeye gal 0 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 Hi Applefreak,thanks so much.... In their website seem the selection of lighting no much..? Compare, Is this much cheaper than Poo Joo & Hoe Kee? check out their websiteme bought those simple simple ceiling lights, bright enough can liao do watch out for their ads in the weekend straits times for the saleit's almost every other month and you save up to 40% on the price Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 Hi applefreak, thanks for sharing... Went to their website to see see look look... haha... they got sell Insects Night Lights wor...wondering who will buy the Insects Night Lights?? is it the one that's shaped like ants or spiders?find that it's very nice but doesn't suit my stylemaybe pple who has a 'nature' theme will like it? Hi Applefreak,thanks so much.... In their website seem the selection of lighting no much..? Compare, Is this much cheaper than Poo Joo & Hoe Kee? yup they don't have a lot a lot of lights to choose frombut i was more focused on price than design so nan wah suits me finenot sure about their accessories price coz i didn't get anything like that Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted February 17, 2008 today went to nam wah building at changi south lane. i would like to say that design wise, it is not that fantastic, but price really competitive.like apple said, they use energy saving bulk and e-ballast, we talked to a staff there, he said that their e-ballast and bulk cannot be bought outside. if spoiled, must go back nam wah to replace, expecially thee-ballast, must 1 to 1 exchange, cannot just anyhow go there and buy. now i have a new doubt to clear after talking to the staff.he said that if using energy saving bulk, better get 40W or 54W even better instead of 32W like normalbulk to be bright enough. how true is it?want to buy from them, one thing is that price is good, the other is that the energy saving aspect.but they don't provide installation even we want to pay. they said they only recommend sub-con, not really involved with them, but we have to talk to the sub-con ourselves. we don't like to talk to too many people, our style is like, we ask how much we need to pay if we buy these lights and install by them or their sub-con.if they say we got to talk to the sub-con ourselves, ai... sian... don't like.husband wants to install by himself after heard this. want to know: can it be done by a non-electrical background person? HB said once installed lights at his own home. but i always feel not comfortable to do it this way. any advice here?BTW, we don't have much electrical work, since no false ceiling or L-box, no rewiring... so our reno package no electrical work cost at all, only some minor minor thing, contractor do it free for us. of course we can ask him how much he charges us if we want him to install the lights for us. but before asking him, want to consult experts here first, heehee... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 think you can get your contractor to install the lights coz it's really back-breaking to install lightsnot so much the connection part, but the drilling part don't see why a layman cannot install his own lights, since the light points are already there !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 think you can get your contractor to install the lights coz it's really back-breaking to install lightsnot so much the connection part, but the drilling part don't see why a layman cannot install his own lights, since the light points are already there !!actually hor............the connection how to do it ah?cause i wan to install myself also......don't make sense to me to spend about $50 - $100 to install lighting Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 actually hor............the connection how to do it ah?cause i wan to install myself also......don't make sense to me to spend about $50 - $100 to install lightingjust open up one of your existing light fixture and compare the wires.need a good power drill though, remember wear rubber slippers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 now i have a new doubt to clear after talking to the staff.he said that if using energy saving bulk, better get 40W or 54W even better instead of 32W like normalbulk to be bright enough. how true is it?how about the Watt thing? haven't seen any comments yet.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 how about the Watt thing? haven't seen any comments yet....dont understand. bulk or bulb? simi 40w 54w? round?32w? circular fluroscent lamp? they are just normal fluroscent, no energysaving types YET.round and tube fluroscent got no energysavings, only difference in technology/size like T8 and T5.eg - a 28w T5(4ft) consumes less electricity and is brighter than a 36w T8(4ft). energy saving bulbs the highest i have seen is 21-27w. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted February 18, 2008 (edited) btw, whatever lamps/lightings you gonna buy - make sure you tell them you WANT ONLY philips/osram bulbs/tubes. Never take their simi what this chinabrand/malaysianbrand more tok kong grandma stories...during my house reno till now i have tried all sorts of brands - including megaman/akira(All CMI).Insist only on philips or osram.Bro MaCe is rite. the rest of the brands will die vy fast, if not too fragile and POP easily if not handle correctly.so that means, when i buy lightings, i should ask for T5, also E-ballast.so what if they don't have these two inside? shall i bargain for discount and then buy outside?or shall i give up this shop and go to another one that has these two?bear with me... another stupid question thanks...bargain for free ballast, tubes, etc. tell them other ppl got give, if not, don't buy. that's how i got 2 extra lamps and 2 extra ballast free for each light !! the boss also cannot tahan me and must be scolding behind my back that im yao gui robber one of my experience is that nowadays the lighting got funny design within and not the exterior. eg. the ballast may not be those cheap type that is commonly used and may not be easily available outside. as my hm is too big now, i hv to buy those that are energy saving and brighter type, if not area will seem dim. Edited February 18, 2008 by leen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blackapple 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 May i ask where can find cheap or reasonable price kitchen sink & tap + toilet sink, mixer and accessories? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 May i ask where can find cheap or reasonable price kitchen sink & tap + toilet sink, mixer and accessories?poh joo at jalan besar road. search google for their full address. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2008 there is 2 branchs @ jalan besari got mine @ the branch opp lavender food court and Emilyn serve me and she is really nice and not pushy....... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blackapple 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 ohh.. thanks! btw is there any difference between with country the kitchen sink is made? eg china, canada blah blah..? cos i see made in China de like cheaper leh? if no diff buy made in china safe money haha... Also is there anything i need to look out for when buying stainless steel racks etc? cos i tot all kinds of stainless steel toilet accessories after many years also will tarnish (green mold) de izit true? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted February 21, 2008 i think the thickness of the metal plays a part too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites