applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 5, 2008 Hi peeps,just read from a magazine that you can try to clear clogged drains by using 1 teaspoon of sodium bicarbonate and 1 cuof vinegar.......how it works i think is by the CO2 that is generated and purges the choke.this reminds me of a secondary school science project i didbaking soda plus vinegar = volcano eruption :notti: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shivan 0 Report post Posted February 5, 2008 Hi peeps,just read from a magazine that you can try to clear clogged drains by using 1 teaspoon of sodium bicarbonate and 1 cuof vinegar.......how it works i think is by the CO2 that is generated and purges the choke.Can this be used for the wash basin choked by all the hair that is stuck inside? If not, how can I clear the chokage without unscrewing and removing the choked part (dunno what it is called). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted February 5, 2008 no harm trying leh.........ingredients also cheap cheap Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 5, 2008 Can this be used for the wash basin choked by all the hair that is stuck inside? If not, how can I clear the chokage without unscrewing and removing the choked part (dunno what it is called). go homefix or any hardware shop and tell them you wanna buy some chemical to clear the choke.around $5 per bottle, dunno wat it is called. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 5, 2008 Can this be used for the wash basin choked by all the hair that is stuck inside? If not, how can I clear the chokage without unscrewing and removing the choked part (dunno what it is called). just don't add the ingredients together firstpour the powder first, then pour the vinegar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 Was reading Mace t-blog when i came across this. The uncle who install my mum's rinnai stainless steel hob told her to clean by pouring a bit of CLEAN VEGETABLE OIL on the paper kitchen toliet roll (err, u know, the long tissue used in kitchen???) and clean the hob.. And surprisingly, it works and its not oily at all.. The stainless steel return to its shiny state after a heavy cooking session.. Ooops, i think abit wrong time to add in my post! Thanks binzz, for ur Veg Oil idea... Silly me just realised I neber read properly again....I saw ur post the other day n after CNY, my stainless steel backing got very dirty (all along very hard to maintain due to watermarks, etc). So hor, I go use veg oil last night to clean it, all 10ft of it...it works leh Just abit more blur than usual look oni, as in the reflections not like previously can see clearer object reflections. but still good! Veg oil cheaper than chemicals oso I guess...hehe Question: Does anybody noe a good method to get rid of previous watermarks left on it?Question2: this question is on undermount sink...Wonder if anybody noe what to do if ur silicon gets very dirty n mouldy type...we been using the sink n neber cleaning up properly everynight, myself...so end up, the edge of undermount very dirty, I scrub hard but scared the silicon will come off....is the oni way to add more silicon myself?Thanks in advance for any advice dispensed... Neber contributed to Mace bro's blog before....wld like to add my 1st contribution Q: How to get rid of oil on very very oily plates, pans, pots w/o wasting more detergent, water, sponge?Ans: Just use hot water. Add abit hot water in ur pot for a while n it'll b squeaky clean in no time. In fact, I dont like to leave my dirty pots after dinner to clean-up. I like to clean-up straight after I cook becuz the pot is still hot n oil stains come off easily....no need to waste so much water n detergent... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lavendery 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 (edited) Anyone knows where to buy the MoldDuck which was posted earlier on the 1st page? Been searching high and low at NTUC leh, cannot find. My toilet basin has those ugly patches of black colour mold which formed at the white ceramic plaster (which connect the basin towards the toilet wall). I always have a hard time scrubbing it off....and it just kept coming back whenever the area is wet. Secondly, what kind of detergent is best to clean and scrub off the soap and water stain at the shower screen? My shower screen looked so disasterous now. Edited February 12, 2008 by lavendery Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bornfree 0 Report post Posted February 12, 2008 T8 to T5 conversion completed!total household lighting (fluorescent lamp)before = 216 wattsnow = 84 watts Magnetic ballast to Electronic ballast conversion completed total savings using electronic ballast is around 10-15% Any modifications required for the connection from the electronic ballast to the fluorescent tube since the starter is no longer required? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bebe_she 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 Anyone knows where to buy the MoldDuck which was posted earlier on the 1st page? Been searching high and low at NTUC leh, cannot find. My toilet basin has those ugly patches of black colour mold which formed at the white ceramic plaster (which connect the basin towards the toilet wall). I always have a hard time scrubbing it off....and it just kept coming back whenever the area is wet. Secondly, what kind of detergent is best to clean and scrub off the soap and water stain at the shower screen? My shower screen looked so disasterous now. You can try looking in Cold Storage or Carrefour for MoldDuck For shower screen, not sure but we are using Jif for cleaning toilet including mirrors and glass and it works for us.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 Anyone knows where to buy the MoldDuck which was posted earlier on the 1st page? Been searching high and low at NTUC leh, cannot find. My toilet basin has those ugly patches of black colour mold which formed at the white ceramic plaster (which connect the basin towards the toilet wall). I always have a hard time scrubbing it off....and it just kept coming back whenever the area is wet. Secondly, what kind of detergent is best to clean and scrub off the soap and water stain at the shower screen? My shower screen looked so disasterous now. me saw mold duck eveywhere leh.....bought mine at ntuc amk last year. tried carrefour, giant?showerscreen,use hotwater spray all over then use those 50 cents brown/black brush, spray magiccleaner.Any modifications required for the connection from the electronic ballast to the fluorescent tube since the starter is no longer required? nothing to mod cos when you disconnect the magnetic ballast, the wires just plug into the electronic ballast>lamp. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2008 hi,i just visited a lighting shop this evening, and asked the sales person about the E-ballast thing.he said that E-ballast is 不耐, anyone can comment how true it is?thanks, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 14, 2008 hi,i just visited a lighting shop this evening, and asked the sales person about the E-ballast thing.he said that E-ballast is 不耐, anyone can comment how true it is?thanks,most salesmen knew nuts about the real world, most just based on hearsay.china made chup parang brand ballasts - yes, but not all of them are unreliable.philips/osram eballast has been around for ages.fact 1 - fluroscent lamp with eballast are not meant for households with old folks who switches them on/off 10 times a day. like my mum....she does that. lifespan of tubes shortened but then no effects to the e-ballast.fact 2 - my philips e-ballast fix in july 2007 till now nothing happens. havent yet to change a single tube or ballast.so how 不耐 is 不耐 ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2008 most salesmen knew nuts about the real world, most just based on hearsay.china made chup parang brand ballasts - yes, but not all of them are unreliable.philips/osram eballast has been around for ages.fact 1 - fluroscent lamp with eballast are not meant for households with old folks who switches them on/off 10 times a day. like my mum....she does that. lifespan of tubes shortened but then no effects to the e-ballast.fact 2 - my philips e-ballast fix in july 2007 till now nothing happens. havent yet to change a single tube or ballast.so how 不耐 is 不耐 ? thanks MaCe for the explanation!BTW, may i ask a stupid question?i know little about lighting. when i buy lighting, let's say those using fluroscent lamp one, what are the things in the standard one light package? does it include those lamp and ballast? do i need to go buy my own ballast, be it e-ballast or not? since we are not going to do any fall ceiling or L-box, so our electrical work is minimum. i heard from one lighting shop that if we buy 8 and above lights, they will install FOC for us. in that case, what should I do? buy e-ballast and let them install? a bit lost... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted February 14, 2008 thanks MaCe for the explanation!BTW, may i ask a stupid question?i know little about lighting. when i buy lighting, let's say those using fluroscent lamp one, what are the things in the standard one light package? does it include those lamp and ballast? do i need to go buy my own ballast, be it e-ballast or not? since we are not going to do any fall ceiling or L-box, so our electrical work is minimum. i heard from one lighting shop that if we buy 8 and above lights, they will install FOC for us. in that case, what should I do? buy e-ballast and let them install? a bit lost... standard fluroscent lamp will always include1) the casing2) a magnetic ballast (unless market as a electronic ballast lamp)3) the fuse and internal wiring (plug and play)If you have lots of time, do look around for T5 fluroscent lamps - they are really energy savers.the normal big tube you see in void decks, kopi tiams those are called T8.you mean install the lamps at your house for free or install electronic ballast for free?if install the electronic ballast for free;1) ask them to install philips ballast - tell them straight on their face - $9+ nia per piece. you willing to pay them max $11 a pc. let them make 1 dollar or so.2) most would give **** and bull stories on they dont use LOUSY philips ballast but uses another super tok kong brand instead(most likely a $3 china cheapo electronic ballast). There is only one brand that surpasses philips - osram but **** exp.hope this helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2008 (edited) standard fluroscent lamp will always include1) the casing2) a magnetic ballast (unless market as a electronic ballast lamp)3) the fuse and internal wiring (plug and play)am i right to say that the so called "buy lighting" are to buy 1) 2) and 3) together as one light? then i buy E-ballast to replace the 2), and buy T5 fluroscent lamps separately if lighting shops don't lamps, or if they just provide T8 lamps"thanks If you have lots of time, do look around for T5 fluroscent lamps - they are really energy savers.the normal big tube you see in void decks, kopi tiams those are called T8.you mean install the lamps at your house for free or install electronic ballast for free?if install the electronic ballast for free;1) ask them to install philips ballast - tell them straight on their face - $9+ nia per piece. you willing to pay them max $11 a pc. let them make 1 dollar or so.2) most would give **** and bull stories on they dont use LOUSY philips ballast but uses another super tok kong brand instead(most likely a $3 china cheapo electronic ballast). There is only one brand that surpasses philips - osram but **** exp.hope this helps. Edited February 14, 2008 by rinarobert Share this post Link to post Share on other sites