MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 Hi autumnzy n MaCe Thanks for the tip...think i will give both the toothpaste and kleen king a try again...can't do anything now, cos the reno is starting today...maybe when the reno is overf by next week...bro MaCe keep up the good job!This is a really enlightening thread....jia youthanks for encouragement.use this powder form cleaner - when all else failed. But will leave scratches hor.ya lor. the KBY was placed in the box with the smaller top facing up wa, so i naturally thought it was meant to be lighted up this way ma .got buy ashtray or not? must also put colster or something underneath the ashtray(metal) when burning hor.or else your simi expensive laminate/parquet/exp tiles floor kena BURNT marks.one more thing - you might want to buy a bottle of sandalwood powder or any incense powder(老檀香,除障香) to fill up that empty place on the KBY. infact that was meant for placing other stuffs on it to burn. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 Chemical UpdatesPlastic / Acrylic CleanerPic shown is in old packaging. Look for it under car accessories section in major dept stores.Cleans, shine all kinds of plastic.Anybody know how to clean the granite vainty top in the bathroom??? anything i can "polish" the granite with??remember seeing something like a granite polish in homefix....hopefully can remember to take a pic on next visit. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tientien 0 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 got buy ashtray or not? must also put colster or something underneath the ashtray(metal) when burning hor.or else your simi expensive laminate/parquet/exp tiles floor kena BURNT marks.one more thing - you might want to buy a bottle of sandalwood powder or any incense powder(老檀香,除障香) to fill up that empty place on the KBY. infact that was meant for placing other stuffs on it to burn.thanks! yes i even bought the clay burner specially for burning KBY for only $1.20. normal metal ashtray can be quite hot cos it doesnt have a handle like this.may i know what is the sandal wood powder for? is is necessary to fill up the empty space on the KBY? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 thanks! yes i even bought the clay burner specially for burning KBY for only $1.20. normal metal ashtray can be quite hot cos it doesnt have a handle like this.may i know what is the sandal wood powder for? is is necessary to fill up the empty space on the KBY?i use the metal ashtray cos it not that tall...i can just slip it under any cabinets(with legs).the powder - up to individual lor.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 Misc Shoppingintro by hello88 - www.astoria.com.sgtheir water features really cheap as well as decorative stuffs.$39 water featuremy itchy hands just cannot stand a product in it's original state - MUST MOD...a mist maker bought from Fulushou - $34.00In order to have excess area for the mist maker to function ( free space above the mistmaker, no obstruction) ... bought a flower pot from IKEA($14).Done - Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 phwoar!! u r really de super duper eh sai bro MaCe!how long does it take u to modify? u factor in your time cost, can consider fabricate more to sell?! i be your first customer! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 $800 vs $5 showdownVSSituation - very dirty/stubborn stains on grouts on 20+ yrs tiles, ex-owner didnt clean at all for at least 10+ years.Products/methods tried but didnt work - Magicclean(green), bleach, acetone, toothbrush, greenpad.At first the $800 steam cleaner thing was used - very minor dirts were removed next mckenic was used, spray onto the grout and waited for 10mins. $800 was used again to clean - some more dirt came off but 90% of the dirt are still there. VERDICTThe Winner of this showdownYes, it 's actually a metal brush that won.those stains were stuck deep inside the grouts, by using the metalbrush, it removes the stains together with some the upper layers of the original grouting - seems this is the only way for such stubborn stains.then a $3.50 putty filler was used to patch up the groutings, let dried and wipe off excess with a wet cloth. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 (edited) great work! now your grouting all white white sparkling like toothpaste..heheactually feel that steam cleaners are more for maintenance so that the dirt up dun build up over time as fastso it's either, use steam cleaner regularly and prevent, or rather, slow down the pace of dirt built up.or just nua a few months/yrs, then one shot use the Mace's metal brush method to clean.or maybe both methods..hehe Edited September 9, 2007 by compassvale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 actually if we use the mrs mckenic on a regular basiswill it prevent the buildup too?now getting worried coz my tiles are pretty white so dirty grout lines will be very OBVIOUS Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 the before and after pics.b4Afterb4AfterFinally - cleaned Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 another question mace, is the mckenic fumes harmful?coz my furry babies will be running aroundif i spray and leave on, will it be better to lock the room up until the fumes have fully dissipated? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 great work! now your grouting all white white sparkling like toothpaste..heheactually feel that steam cleaners are more for maintenance so that the dirt up dun build up over time as fastso it's either, use steam cleaner regularly and prevent, or rather, slow down the pace of dirt built up.or just nua a few months/yrs, then one shot use the Mace's metal brush method to clean.or maybe both methods..heheya! either you clean regularly with just bleach/mckinnic/magicclean or you will end up like me.but not my fault hor, it's the ex-owner who treats the house like a garbage dump.Whne you have stains like mine(10yrs) - not even the most expensive cleaner in the market can help you.FYI, this $800 could remove wall paints - but it couldnt remove the stains on the grouting.For new tiles, PLEASE DO NOT USE THE METAL BRUSH!another question mace, is the mckenic fumes harmful?coz my furry babies will be running aroundif i spray and leave on, will it be better to lock the room up until the fumes have fully dissipated?the fumes can be very pungent at times....dont think your cats wants to go near them.the best solution is to CLEAN YOUR HOUSE regularly!another way to remove those dirty grouts is to HACK + TILE! :rofl: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 phwoar!! u r really de super duper eh sai bro MaCe!how long does it take u to modify? u factor in your time cost, can consider fabricate more to sell?! i be your first customer! nothing to mod actually, just replace the pot with a bigger one and add those stainless steel stand below the "stone". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 the fumes can be very pungent at times....dont think your cats wants to go near them.the best solution is to CLEAN YOUR HOUSE regularly!!!another way to remove those dirty grouts is to HACK + TILE!!! of course will clean regularlybut now the grout lines all black black lehthinking of spraying the mckenic on the grout lines to 'soften' the stainbut worried it'd be bad for my furry babies !!think i'll do one room at a time and keep them out of the room first Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ranval 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 ya! either you clean regularly with just bleach/mckinnic/magicclean or you will end up like me.but not my fault hor, it's the ex-owner who treats the house like a garbage dump.Whne you have stains like mine(10yrs) - not even the most expensive cleaner in the market can help you.FYI, this $800 could remove wall paints - but it couldnt remove the stains on the grouting.For new tiles, PLEASE DO NOT USE THE METAL BRUSH!!!the fumes can be very pungent at times....dont think your cats wants to go near them.the best solution is to CLEAN YOUR HOUSE regularly!!!another way to remove those dirty grouts is to HACK + TILE!!! Wah thus why me wanted to hack + tile .. you told me to SAVE on it .. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites