tingshen

Uneven Cement Caused Uneven Laminate Flooring....

alright......HDB did the cement screening and now then we realized that important area, which is the walkway to the bedrooms, kena this.....when you step on the part, the whole laminate "sink in". I am afraid that eventually the laminate would break into pieces.....

But who is at fault now? any idea? Should the laminate flooring installer inform the house owner about this problem before completing the job? Do you think HDB need to come and screen again? I am thinking of asking my contractor to settle it as it's quite a small portion.

Or shall I leave it and live with it? PowerDekor wanna charge me extra to re-installing this part, but I guess they shall be responsible too right?

OMG, it's going to handover soon, but now more and more tiny little problems arise....

Mine was slightly sunken in also, but the laminates installer realised it in time, he told me he will be putting a layer of rubber below that area to fill up the gap.

i had this issue last time but a bit more worse. for some reason, some parts does not have enuf cement and sand can be easily digged out from the flooring !

i called my TO, complain and requested ANOTHER company to do the screeding. fortunately, my upstairs neighbour (hi S&S !) also had screeding done ard that time so the very nice screeding uncle came and take a look.

in the end, they had to hacked up all of the bedroom's lousy screeding and some parts of the living room. my suggestion is to call up your TO and complain, complain, complain. but nicely of cos :dunno:

Powerdekor also quite something lor, didn't they realise this when they lay the laminates? Now they still got cheek to ask extras from you?? That's like bad worksmanship liao..

Mine was Supreme, before they lay the laminates, there will be a layer of foam underneath the laminates. There's also a optional layer of 3mm rubber (which I have to pay extra if I wanted it). But they said not much difference with or without the rubber since it's overlay on existing tiles.

While laying, they realised the entrance to the bedroom area feels a bit sunken in, so they stuffed in one small piece underneath that area to level it up. I was present at that time, I saw them walking around to test, they said more troublesome for them if I were to find out later and they have to redo, so might as well do it perfect now.

No doubt they are quite good, but I admit that I had a hard time choosing the laminates, can't find a piece that I like frankly..

yeahh agree that Supreme did a good job......

I also faced this problem at the corner of my bedroom... Supreme straight away send their worker to rectify the problem without cost

i think for powerdekor kind of company really cannot deal direct.

I complained to my ID in charge for the laminate flooring, luckily he said dun need to pay and he will gaodim for me. They just need to remove the sink in area, put cement, then install back. hehe....the worst case will be me paying the extra cement screeding work :notti:

Actually it's really a small area, i think less than a tile size area. Most probably they will not charge me lah. Wait for HDB? then I think my renovation time would really exceed the 7th months liao menz.....

Edited by tingshen

Since your ID wanna gaodim for you, then good.

I got one tip for future home owner reading this, if you want to engage your own " floor laminator", find out how much it will cost, then ask your ID to do the same quote for the same floor area. If it's not too far away (less than $50), then go through your ID to get it done. If too expensive, show your ID the quote you got from the "floor laminator", if he's willing to lower the price, then let ID settle. :)

Cheaper by a bit not worth the hassle, ID is like the buffer ...

wah ! me took power dekor also leh ! nw scared scared a bit.

hehe ! i guess hacking everything up might be a bit extreme for you but glad that that ur id will fix everything up. all the best !

i think for powerdekor kind of company really cannot deal direct.

I complained to my ID in charge for the laminate flooring, luckily he said dun need to pay and he will gaodim for me. They just need to remove the sink in area, put cement, then install back. hehe....the worst case will be me paying the extra cement screeding work :notti:

Actually it's really a small area, i think less than a tile size area. Most probably they will not charge me lah. Wait for HDB? then I think my renovation time would really exceed the 7th months liao menz.....

oonik grl, are you in the same block as mine?

today I just found out another skirting defects......macam like kena soaked in water that kind of defect, but the thing is, nobody ever washed that room b4!:notti:

it happened in 1 of the skirting strips.....

arghhhhh....powerdekor!:rofl:! CHINA!:rofl:!:notti: arghhhhhh

most probably I am forced to take half day or full day leave just to supervise them so that they finish the job sui sui. **** sad for this industry, a lot of the contractors/workers got no heart, all unfeeling one.....anyhow do, why didn't they learn their lesson from all the rework ????

Edited by tingshen

ermm.. me at telok blangah crescent. wat abt urself ?

yesterday i see the laminates nt fully doned up yet, so cannot realli see on the workmanship yet. the flooring looks okay at first glance but the skirting was either not put properly or nt fully doned up yet. i hope it's the latter.

i'll go dn again today to take a look see if i'm nt too tired..

Actually I'm very pissed off with the quality HDB is giving. charged us so expensive for the redhill flat yet giving us all the low quality stuff...

almost all my walls are uneven, as a results the laminate skirting also uneven...very scared it will come out after a while....think will ask powerdekor to strengthen the skirting contact with the wall....

Actually I'm very pissed off with the quality HDB is giving. charged us so expensive for the redhill flat yet giving us all the low quality stuff...

almost all my walls are uneven, as a results the laminate skirting also uneven...very scared it will come out after a while....think will ask powerdekor to strengthen the skirting contact with the wall....

no cement screed walls can be straight and even... if wall crooked, skirting also crooked... so over time, the skirting might still come out.. cos they will only apply more adhesive to the skirting.

oonik grl, are you in the same block as mine?

today I just found out another skirting defects......macam like kena soaked in water that kind of defect, but the thing is, nobody ever washed that room b4!!!

maybe got water leakage from outside that caused the skirting to have that defect? Laminate floors get damaged faster when reacted with water.

water leakage from outside? the other side of that piece of wall is actually the air u know? where would the water come from?

anyway, powerdekor did a great job in redo-ing quite a lot of stuff. the previous installer actually didn't install properly.....

water leakage from outside? the other side of that piece of wall is actually the air u know? where would the water come from?

anyway, powerdekor did a great job in redo-ing quite a lot of stuff. the previous installer actually didn't install properly.....

glad tat all has been fixed..