zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 (edited) I am not an elitist or self-bashing, but I am sure some of us at work found ourselves to be surrounded by people who are either far worse than ourselves, or far better than ourselves. This can be in terms of anything, like education, work experience, attitude, etc.So just wondering aloud:Best of the worst - we can stand out to be the high-flyer, but getting bored by the kind of conversations or pissed-off by the conservative or narrow-mindset, eg a experienced degree-holder amongst blue-collared workers, uneducated old folks and/or new employees, or Worst of the best - we can learn alot from all these experienced or highly-intelligent people, but getting demoralised as it seemed like we will never be able to be as good as them, eg an 'O' level holder amongst all the tip-top schools' PhDs, masters and/or high-flyers.Which would you like to be?? Edited August 16, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 i'd rather be worst of the best coz there's so much to learnjust like in renotalk, i first joined as the worst of the best but i learned so much that i wouldn't have anywhere elsebeing best of the worst is so boringreally bored until will drop dead one okayimagine going to a primary school for lessons, doing their homework and sitting for their examsdefinitely best of the worst, but Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cornetto 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 i prefer to be best of the worst, cos tt's where i'd get more bonuses lolxanyway being good oredi doesnt mean the person wun continue to improve himself/herself mah.moreover, sometimes, having a simple life is bliss too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Best of the best ..... No..just kidding. not superman.Worst of the best. Thats why, I am in this forum to learn from you guys. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Best of the best ..... No..just kidding. not superman.Worst of the best. Thats why, I am in this forum to learn from you guys.I opt for the third spices, neither the best nor the worst. So anytime when needed under the management attention or incentives in promotion, I will be the best. If dirty works comes in, I will be the worst, I don't want to get dirty. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 I opt for the third spices, neither the best nor the worst. So anytime when needed under the management attention or incentives in promotion, I will be the best. If dirty works comes in, I will be the worst, I don't want to get dirty. So what ... you belong to kay kiang & kay see Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 So what ... you belong to kay kiang & kay see most time is snake. but in time turns into dragon. both kia see and not kay kiang but jin kiang Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 I want to be the best of the worst so that no one fight with me...being best of the best too stressful...being best of the worst i can shine....like a star....haha....it's a dog eat dog world...not you die then i die....i let other ppl die...i live....!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 I want to be the best of the worst so that no one fight with me...being best of the best too stressful...being best of the worst i can shine....like a star....haha....it's a dog eat dog world...not you die then i die....i let other ppl die...i live....!!So we are the same kind, in between worst and best of best. So only eat small fish in pong and see big fish come 闪人 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 So we are the same kind, in between worst and best of best. So only eat small fish in pong and see big fish come 闪人Haha in between worst and best means average lor....!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Haha in between worst and best means average lor....!!Still best in JB, Batan and Singapore !! in my profession but not the best of best, too much light attract Big fish to attack. So 闪人 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 (edited) Wow, thanks for all the replies! I was worried that everyone will ignore this post...hehe... I am going to play devil's advocate, cuz I gave this topic a long, long thought before. This is because now contemplating to change jobs, but I won't tell you if its from best to worst or vice versa...hehe...i'd rather be worst of the best coz there's so much to learnjust like in renotalk, i first joined as the worst of the best but i learned so much that i wouldn't have anywhere elsebeing best of the worst is so boringreally bored until will drop dead one okayimagine going to a primary school for lessons, doing their homework and sitting for their examsdefinitely best of the worst, but !!But to be the worst of the best, you also have to consider that not everyone is willing to teach you. You may have to look-see and learn on your own. Conversations, small talk, all not same topic. Another very possible disadvantage is that they may look down on you, do not want to be associated with you. Of course, to be associated with all these high-flyers is a prestigious thing lor, but only on the surface...So its almost like being the best of the worst also; you can end up alone also.I agree with you on the best of the worst though... i prefer to be best of the worst, cos tt's where i'd get more bonuses lolxanyway being good oredi doesnt mean the person wun continue to improve himself/herself mah.moreover, sometimes, having a simple life is bliss too.If you are surrounded by everyone that are worse than you, how do you improve yourself? What do you benchmark against? That's why they say winner are always lonely...in fact I felt that being the best of the worst for a long time will actually make one slack and become complacent. And the last line is the dangerous one: Soon, being the best of the worst may make you feel that you want blend in with the rest and lower yourself, then voila, you are one of them now. I opt for the third spices, neither the best nor the worst. So anytime when needed under the management attention or incentives in promotion, I will be the best. If dirty works comes in, I will be the worst, I don't want to get dirty. Wah lau, very tam sim leh...everything also want... Edited August 16, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 to be the best of the worst means opening your back big big for all the arrows and kniveshad the 'unfortunate' experience of being the best of the worst once, and the amount of back-stabbing i kenna is unforgetablenever could i imagine pple can stoop so low i dun mind pple looking down on me coz i'm not great anyway and i'm rather contented to learn just by looking and observingbasically i just like to stand at one corner and learn !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 to be the best of the worst means opening your back big big for all the arrows and kniveshad the 'unfortunate' experience of being the best of the worst once, and the amount of back-stabbing i kenna is unforgetablenever could i imagine pple can stoop so low i dun mind pple looking down on me coz i'm not great anyway and i'm rather contented to learn just by looking and observingbasically i just like to stand at one corner and learn Wow, totally agreed with you! Being the best of the worst will make you in the envy of others and definitely will have some people who are green-eyed and want to bring you down.Its not just people looking down on you, but that they shun you and you end up alone. On contrary, if you are too far below, say a cleaner or kopi-auntie, ie no threat to these ambitious high-flyers, you would be fine.The problem for being the worst of the best is that you are here with them yet they felt that you do not deserved to be here, they felt their education/skills are unappreciated, they may also harm you like the way a best of the worst would be harmed...Aiyo...dilemma lehh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 won't lah, when i first joined i ask stupid question also nobody feel i dun belong here guess the way i look at 'best' would be really good so they know not to look down on pplethose who look down on others tend to be mediocre ones, want to be the best but can'tthe great pple i've met are all very friendly and really thoughtful Share this post Link to post Share on other sites