Little Blue Bear 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2007 A professor at CCNY for a physiological psych class told his class aboutbananas. He said the expression 'going bananas' is from the effects ofbananas on the brain. Read on: Never, put your banana in the refrigerator! This is interesting. After reading this, you'll never look at a banana in the same way again. Bananas contain three natural sugars - sucrose, fructose a nd glucosecombined with fiber. A banana gives an instant, sustained and substantialboost of energy. Research has proven that just two bananas provide enough energy for astrenuous 90-minute workout. No wonder the banana is the number one fruitwith the world's leading athletes. But energy isn't the only way a banana can help us keep fit. It can alsohelp overcome or prevent a substantial number of illnesses and conditions,making it a must to add to our daily diet. Depression: According to a recent survey unovertaken b y MIND amongstpeople suffering from depression, many felt much better after eating abanana. This is because bananas contain tryptophan, a type of protein thatthe body converts into serotonin, known to make you relax, improve your moodand generally make you feel happier. PMS: Forget the pills - eat a banana. The vitamin B6 it containsregulates blood glucose levels, which can affect your mood. Anemia: High in iron, bananas can s t imulate the production ofhemoglobin in the blood and so helps in cases of anemia. Blood Pressure: This unique tropical fruit is extremely high inpotassium yet low in salt, making it perfect to beat blood pressure. So muchso, the US Food and Drug Administration has just allowed the banana industryto make official claims for the fruit's ability to reduce the risk of bloodpressure and stroke. Brain Power: 200 students at a Twickenham (Middlesex) school ( England )were helped through their exams this year by eating bananas at breakfast,break, and lunch in a bid to boost their brain power. Research has shownthat the potassium-packed fruit can assist learning by making pupils morealert. Constipation: High in fiber, including bananas in the diet can helprestore normal bowel action, helping to overcome the problem withoutresorting to laxatives. Hangovers: One of the quickest ways of curing a hangover is to make abanana milkshake, sweetened with honey. The banana c alms th e stomach and,with the help of the honey, builds up depleted blood sugar levels, while themilk soothes and re-hydrates your system. Heartburn: Bananas have a natural antacid effect in the body, so if yousuffer from heartburn, try eating a banana for soothing relief. Morning Sickness: < SPAN style='FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: #0000a0;FONT-FAMILY: Verdana'> Snacking on bananas between meals helps to keep bloodsugar levels up and avoid morning sickness. Mosquito bites: Before reaching for the insect bite cream, try rubbingthe affected area with the inside of a banana skin. Many people find itamazingly successful at reducing swel ling and irritation. Nerves: Bananas are high in B vitamins that help calm the ne rvous system. Overweight and at work? Studies at the Institute of Psychology inAustria found pressure at work leads to gorging on comfort food likechocolate and chips. Looking at 5,000 hospital patients, researchers foundthe most obese were more likely to be in high-pressure jobs. The reportconcluded that, to avoid panic-induced food cravings, we need to control ourblood sugar levels by snacking on high carbohydrate foods every two hours tokeep levels steady. Ulcers: The banana is used as the dietary food against intestinaldisorders because of its soft texture and smoothness. It is the only rawfruit that can be ea ten without distress in over-chronicler cases. It alsoneutralizes over-acidity and reduces irritation by coating the lining of thestomach. Temperature control: Many other cultures see bananas as a 'cooling'fruit that can lower both the physical and emotional temperature ofexpectant mothers. In Thailand , for example, pregnant women eat bananas toensure their baby is born with a cool temperature. Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD): Bananas can help SAD sufferersbecause they contain the natural mood enhancer tryptophan. Smoking &Tobacco Use: Bananas can also help people trying to give upsmoking. The B6, B12 they contain, as well as the potassium and magnesiumfound in them, help the body recover from the effects of nicotinewithdrawal. Stress: Potassium is a vital mineral, which helps normalize theheartbeat, sends oxygen to the brain and regulates your body's waterbalance. When we are stressed, our metabolic rate rises, thereby reducingour potassium levels. These can be rebalanced with the help of ahigh-potassium banana snack. Strokes: According to research in The New England Journal of Medicine,eating bananas as part of a regular diet can cut the risk of death bystrokes by as much as 40%! Warts:< /B> Those keen on natu ral alternatives swear that if you wantto kill off a wart, take a piece of banana skin and place it on the wart,with the yellow side out. Carefully hold the skin in place with a plaster orsurgical tape! So, a banana really is a natural remedy for many ills. When you compareit to an apple, it has four times the protein, twice the carbohydrate, threetimes the phosphorus, five times the vitamin A and iron, and twice the othervitamins and minerals. It is also rich in potassium and is one of the bestvalue foods around So maybe its time to change that well-known phrase sothat we say, 'A banana a day keeps the doctor away!' PASS IT ON TO YOUR FRIENDS PS: Bananas must be the reason monkeys are so h appy all the time! Iwill add one here; want a quick shine on our shoes?? Take the INSIDE of thebanana skin, and rub directly on the shoe...polish with dry cloth. Amazingfruit ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2007 Wah,,,, so useful ....No wonder, I always see TIGER WOODS take them for a break.Why cannot put in fridge ?Somebody told me how to make banana ice creamSlice & freeze the bananas Add milk, stir to thicken,Bingo, your regular ice cream.Amazing fruits. Connect wires to lemon with attached bulb.It actually lights up... Amazing how fruit can acts as power source ( battery ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 15, 2007 only thing i know about bananas1. renal patient cannot take - too high in potassium2. diabetes patient cannot take too much - cause high sugar level and may lead to renal failure3. want your fruit to ripen faster? put it next to a ripe banana coz ripe bananas release a chemical that hasten the ripening of all fruits Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GnM 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2007 3. want your fruit to ripen faster? put it next to a ripe banana coz ripe bananas release a chemical that hasten the ripening of all fruits this one is really new. I must try this thanks for the tip! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
autumnzy 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Wah,,,, so useful ....No wonder, I always see TIGER WOODS take them for a break.Why cannot put in fridge ?Somebody told me how to make banana ice creamSlice & freeze the bananas Add milk, stir to thicken,Bingo, your regular ice cream.Wa! Ice-cream just like that? Use which type of banana will be better?The super long one from supermkt, or those small small one from wet mkt stall? And ya hor, my mum also told me bananas cannot put in the fridge when she came over & found them in my fridge.. why ah? They ripe so fast!! If don't put in fridge, very fast cannot eat liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Wa! Ice-cream just like that? Use which type of banana will be better?The super long one from supermkt, or those small small one from wet mkt stall? Don't know, never try, just saw it in METACAFE video. Oh, its the yellow type.Like "DELMONTE" I just saw only ha, I am not sure it works. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 Wa! Ice-cream just like that? Use which type of banana will be better?The super long one from supermkt, or those small small one from wet mkt stall? And ya hor, my mum also told me bananas cannot put in the fridge when she came over & found them in my fridge.. why ah? They ripe so fast!! If don't put in fridge, very fast cannot eat liao I only like Del Monte brand banana....other brand i dun eat...Some ppl say short one eat le will heaty....long one is liang...duno how true.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
autumnzy 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2007 I only like Del Monte brand banana....other brand i dun eat...Some ppl say short one eat le will heaty....long one is liang...duno how true..Yes yes! That's what my mum says too But I like the short one, more sweet... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chamia 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2007 When I was pregnant, I was told to stay away from the long types. Can only eat the short and goreng pisang types. In the end, during that period, never eat much. Anyway, I am not really a 'banana' person but will try to take more since it is a brain booster.As for Del Monte, when I was in Seoul a few years ago, me and friend bought one bunch at going to S$6.00 (seven bananas). Really expensive as they are considered as imported tropical fruits there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites