h4happy

Can They (contractor/id) Do This?

Heard from my neighbours, the contractors walk around asking pple for their services.

Tell our neighbours that we let them do the house renovation which in fact never even confirm, just sign the quotation form that's all.

How you feel about this issue?

Anyone encounter this before?

I immediately called up the id for clarification and he told me not to listen to pple.

I am a bit confuse and feel pressure and stress about there tactics especially I have sign up their quotation form.

The id told me it is ok as we still have not confirm.

But then, how come they go around telling my flat neighbours we let them do renovation?

Few days ago, they came and they walked pass my house and 1 guy said (I heard it) to his colleague in cantonese: Guo Tim Sai. Means confirm. I walk out and ask them who? Then I found out it is my next door neighbour. I asked them and they say not confirm, just quotation and they also sign the form.

I am stress by their tactics and feel very pressure especially 3 big guys knocking pples door asking for their serivces.

Though that is their problem but then they should not say we already let them do.

I feel like sending e mail and tell them I dont want.

But afraid that they might harass my mother and my kids if we cancel it.

Edited by h4happy

My friend, do not be intimidated by such people lah - if they are real hooligans, they would have been full-time gangsters instead of contractors.

These people go by basic reasoning as well, as long as you are fair to them (eg don't ask them to do things for you when you not sure if you want to sign up), they won't do anything to you. They are also out to earn a living, won't create unnecessary trouble one lah.

Relax...just select your ID quickly lor...

ai yo.....sighhh !!

hahaha, dont know whether to laugh or cry by this.

It was recommended by my neighbours.

If I know, I wont go to their shop if I see the boss.

Wow, he smoke alot during the quotation.

My friend, do not be intimidated by such people lah - if they are real hooligans, they would have been full-time gangsters instead of contractors.

These people go by basic reasoning as well, as long as you are fair to them (eg don't ask them to do things for you when you not sure if you want to sign up), they won't do anything to you. They are also out to earn a living, won't create unnecessary trouble one lah.

Relax...just select your ID quickly lor...

I will be taking my keys around mid oct or early nov.

So, still have 2 months to check and learn more and more terms contractors are using.

After speaking to a few, I feel more and more comfortable when asking them questions.

But my friend told me dont ask too many firm as they might related to each other.

If one contractor not happy and you never sign from him, he will go to your new house and make trouble such as open the water, beak this and that.

Is it true?

Very stress and scare after hearing such cases.

well, dont let this type of person to drag u down or even stress u. renovation cost a bomb. we cant simply just let one ah go ah mao to do the work right?

just firmly find ur quotes and hunt for more quotes and compare. then finalise one loh.

btw for ur signing of signature on them did they have their terms and condition?

well, dont let this type of person to drag u down or even stress u. renovation cost a bomb. we cant simply just let one ah go ah mao to do the work right?

just firmly find ur quotes and hunt for more quotes and compare. then finalise one loh.

btw for ur signing of signature on them did they have their terms and condition?

Yes I did read up the terms and conditions.

One sentences said if cancel, need to pay 10% amount of the cost.

I told them to cancel that off and countersign it.

But then I already feel uneasy when they asked me to sign it.

Giving me all sorts of reasons which I really dont understand.

Now smart liao, no signature unless confirm.

That is why due to this, my mother also very upset, so as my sister and my wife.

Nearly quarrel about it making the whole family not that happy and ease.

That is why I want to tell them or mail them telling them I dont want your service/renovations anymore.

But fearing they might turn nasty.

before signing anything - please - since you already came to know about this renotalk forum. please read about the reputation of contractors/IDs under the renovation firms section.

some members didnt bother to read and next thing they know - they sign with conmen contractors/ids.

before signing anything - please - since you already came to know about this renotalk forum. please read about the reputation of contractors/IDs under the renovation firms section.

some members didnt bother to read and next thing they know - they sign with conmen contractors/ids.

Hi MAC, sorry where is thth reputation of contractors/id under the renovation firm section?

I couldnt find it.

Can give me the link?

Sorry, eye side abit blurrrrr....

Yes I did read up the terms and conditions.

One sentences said if cancel, need to pay 10% amount of the cost.

I told them to cancel that off and countersign it.

But then I already feel uneasy when they asked me to sign it.

Giving me all sorts of reasons which I really dont understand.

Now smart liao, no signature unless confirm.

That is why due to this, my mother also very upset, so as my sister and my wife.

Nearly quarrel about it making the whole family not that happy and ease.

That is why I want to tell them or mail them telling them I dont want your service/renovations anymore.

But fearing they might turn nasty.

well is ok. dont take it so hard. since they already cancel off then stilll alright. at least u will have ease of mind.

just give them a call telling them that you wont be taking up. or sms them or email to them. while emailing to them "bcc" to ur wife or urself at least got a record when i send. so that they cant give excuse that they didnt receive.

so as what bro MaCe mention, when signing look at the terms and condition. if may be long and take time but worth to read it. especailly the payment issues.

well is ok. dont take it so hard. since they already cancel off then stilll alright. at least u will have ease of mind.

just give them a call telling them that you wont be taking up. or sms them or email to them. while emailing to them "bcc" to ur wife or urself at least got a record when i send. so that they cant give excuse that they didnt receive.

so as what bro MaCe mention, when signing look at the terms and condition. if may be long and take time but worth to read it. especailly the payment issues.

Hi DEVI, thanks!

I nearly forget that I also need to cc to me and my wife.

In case they say never rec'

Thanks for your advice!:jawdrop:!!

Hi MAC, sorry where is thth reputation of contractors/id under the renovation firm section?

I couldnt find it.

Can give me the link?

Sorry, eye side abit blurrrrr....

nope MaCe didnt mean that. as in the forum there are tons of ID/contractor list there. Under this section Renovation Firms and Services.

you can scroll around and see. or you can hunt for a few quotes then see which one is the most worthwhile. some people go for costing some go for design.

Hi DEVI, thanks!

I nearly forget that I also need to cc to me and my wife.

In case they say never rec'

Thanks for your advice!:jawdrop:!!

hey no a problem.

need help feel free to post here or pm us. we will be glad to help. :yamseng:

Thanks guys!

I just dont want to get con by them.

I am not rich.

Once pay up renovation cost, saving will be nearly wipe out!

That is why I want my new flat simple, no design/features, no false ceiling, etc......

Of course kitchen is a must lah.

Thanks guys!

I just dont want to get con by them.

I am not rich.

Once pay up renovation cost, saving will be nearly wipe out!

That is why I want my new flat simple, no design/features, no false ceiling, etc......

Of course kitchen is a must lah.

good luck on your QUEST for contractors/IDs :jawdrop:! :yamseng:

if you already know what you want to do(designs) - get a contractor

if you really have no idea - get a ID. of cos you will be paying MORE for pple to make decision for you.

good luck on your QUEST for contractors/IDs :jawdrop:! :yamseng:

if you already know what you want to do(designs) - get a contractor

if you really have no idea - get a ID. of cos you will be paying MORE for pple to make decision for you.

Yes that is why I have a finalise list of what I want other than the usual normal things contractors will do.

Thanks!!

Actually u can do bit by bit is ok de.

Like do the base of the house first. Flooring, kitchen and both toilets. Then slowly start on other thingy.

At least u wont one short burst ur pocket till nothing left. :jawdrop: