fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 finally got my keys last friday, it was suppose to be a very exciting thing. Untill the fengshui master went to our place and told us that we should avoid using white/back /grey/blue colors for our new flat...that's when the problem arise. We should use more red/pink/green/purplue/brown/orange ...haiya...that's the difficult part as i am very bad at matching colors went to a couple of the lighting shops in balestier yesterday, was quite please with one shop untill my contractor told me that balestier got alot of chong stuffs. is that true?if you have any lighting shop which is reliable...pls recommend to me.aiyo instead of enjoying the whole process...i am totally stress out... sigh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 chong stuff as in designer copies?that's true but how else are we going to afford these nice nice lights?a designer piece goes for thousands of dollars and balestier shops offers similar design at a fraction of the price but if you are going for normal lights i.e. round ceiling lights with coverthen jln besar is a better bet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 chong stuff as in designer copies?that's true but how else are we going to afford these nice nice lights?a designer piece goes for thousands of dollars and balestier shops offers similar design at a fraction of the price but if you are going for normal lights i.e. round ceiling lights with coverthen jln besar is a better bet actually what you say is correct also...thousands of dollars for lights is way too exp...cannot afford lah.if i want to get chandelier and those drop lighting for dinning...is balestier a good place to get? is the quality gd?...more concern on the quality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 finally got my keys last friday, it was suppose to be a very exciting thing. Untill the fengshui master went to our place and told us that we should avoid using white/back /grey/blue colors for our new flat...that's when the problem arise. We should use more red/pink/green/purplue/brown/orange ...haiya...that's the difficult part as i am very bad at matching colors went to a couple of the lighting shops in balestier yesterday, was quite please with one shop untill my contractor told me that balestier got alot of chong stuffs. is that true?if you have any lighting shop which is reliable...pls recommend to me.aiyo instead of enjoying the whole process...i am totally stress out... sighFengshui alway dont match with ID design so u better ask ur FSM to give u a layout then u pass it to ur contractor and ask them to follow according otherwise u will hv even more prob when all the layout plan had been draw out by ur contractor then ur FSM come in said this cannt that cannt. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 Fengshui alway dont match with ID design so u better ask ur FSM to give u a layout then u pass it to ur contractor and ask them to follow according otherwise u will hv even more prob when all the layout plan had been draw out by ur contractor then ur FSM come in said this cannt that cannt. that's the problem i am having now but luckily my contractor is a nice chap and very patient will the changes. my worries is the color...not easy to mix and match especially i am very bad at colors Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 actually what you say is correct also...thousands of dollars for lights is way too exp...cannot afford lah.if i want to get chandelier and those drop lighting for dinning...is balestier a good place to get? is the quality gd?...more concern on the quality.for this kind of lights i suggest you go shopping all aroundcheck out jln besar, balestier or even those 'branded' shops until you find one you really like and within your budgetvery hard to say where to find a good and cheap one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 (edited) for this kind of lights i suggest you go shopping all aroundcheck out jln besar, balestier or even those 'branded' shops until you find one you really like and within your budgetvery hard to say where to find a good and cheap one Jln Besar got Citilight or Light 88 heard they are quite gd? But jus make sure u and ur partner go hor don ever bring ur ID along cos if they see ur ID price can be different wan. !! Edited September 17, 2007 by Cantona7 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 okok will do. thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
christinetan 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 (edited) hi fire ice,think the open kitchen concept will be great for your house... thought of that once i saw the layout (but me bad at reading floorplan so hope i'm seeing it right.. !!)instead of having the entrance opp main door, cannot it be on the other side? Or you can glass up the whole stretch and have sliding doors that open mainly at the other side?Anyway, my place is in green/pink/orange/brown etc.. all the colours you mentioned you should have... while it seems quite hard to match, maybe can go for the similar undertones/tints so that they don't clash in a negative way? as in if you don't want a bright, cheery place in bright shades of orange/red/green with solid brown furniture, can opt for soothing effects with pastel rose pink, light apple green, light peachy orange, dusty lilac with light pine/beech furniture (think french chic/country) or even a lofty minimalistic look with smoky tints of saffron, burnt orange, indigo, aubergine (a nice maroony red) and deep greyish aqua green (the idea is they share similar undertones/tints of grey/white so i think more complementary..)Hmm, also, can keep one area/room to one colour if you're not confident of matching? no stress k.. !!If you like parquet/laminated wood flooring enough, that should take a good portion of "brown" off.. plus the furniture, usually in woody colours if in natural wood like solid rubber, beech, pine, teak etc... Can opt for wallpaper as feature walls/ in some areas to help coordinate colours also (say if wallpaper in green and brown shades, surrounding areas with green walls and brown furniture will def pass off nicely)hope this helps a bit!! most imptly, enjoy the process okie! !! Edited September 18, 2007 by christinetan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 thanks christine, after reading your what you have written i feel so much better and relief. i always wanted an open concept kitchen but hubby is totally against it but i think the glass concept one he might be able to take it when u mention abt the minimalistic look, i was so excited because all along i was trying to achieve that kind of theme for my new place but always not too sure what furniture/colors/lighting to look out for. I will have to do more research on this. if you have any suggestion, please give me a shout.I feel so relaxed now Kudos Christina Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
christinetan 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 (edited) hihi!glad you feel better now... renovation though tiring is a process to be enjoyed.. hmm... i don't know much but will share what little i gathered in my little overly taxed and not -so-working brain.. heee..I'm guessing you like the minimalistic look because you like everything sleek, clean, no clutter, fuss-free and prefer the urban to traditional country/classic looks ya?.. Perhaps can consider using more of materials like glass, stainless steel or even glass bricks ... Mosiac in uniform shades for a "swimming" pool feel should be nice too... go for open plans whenever possible and divide with colours/furniture (to create zones of activity if i may call it) Minimal furniture .. storage mainly wall to wall built-ins (and almost invisble in terms of lines and design) ... keeping windows as bare as possible using only blinds/roman roller blinds etc and void of heavy drapes i think would keep the min. look. maybe can opt for big leather armchairs or just a oversized 2 seater rather than sofa .. throw a big rug..And if you feel, same way as i do about false ceilings (they really aren't necc for the whole house), can opt for glassy hanging lamps and wall fitted lamps with clean lines... since you cannot use much white (white is unavoidable sometimes esp for ceilings), can opt for ivory/cream and then have those smoky colours as accents here and there... coupled with lighter wood colours for furniture/ steel/ glass stuff ... etc etc... should do fine.. hope this helps again!do post some pics for us to see ... Edited September 18, 2007 by christinetan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 Hi fire-ice,Not sure if this idea (my dream open concept kitchen ...unfortunately i did not implement in my current reno ) will suitable for you & yr hubby or not?It's an open concept in which the view from the kitchen can see most of the house. Lighting will also be good with having an open concept in the kitchen. You may also want to explore the idea of having some horizontal glass window that can see thru session of the kitchen from the main entrance door.Think picture tells a thousand words. Sure sure will post more pics once i get a hang on it. If you have any brillant ideas how to do up my kitchen and MBR please give me a buzz. Appreciate it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 Yo Lifestyle, Veri gd planning and pics too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 Thanks Christine, this helps alot. will try to post more picture once the final concept is out.wow Lifestyle, this is my dream kitchen leh ...but due to fengshui constrains i guess i am not able to do it...as FS master ask us not to hack the kichen wall...not gd that the main door is facing directly at the kichen...sigh.......and also white and grey color is out too...aiyah..... its actually very hard to follow the master instruction and at the same time follow the heart....not easy....hmmmmm......will have to do more research on this...to attain a balance if you more pics, welcome to post....evening if i can do it...see see also happy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 what is the difference between L-Box and False Ceiling? For MBR, do we do a L-Box or False Ceiling? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites