icer 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 Hi all,I am single and not yet 35, coming soon. At the rate the property prices are going, how can an average earning single afford a flat. Nowadays even 3 room flats are asking for at least $30K above valuation? And of course private properties are really expensive and not worth it. Unless u go for those really outskirts areas, if not it's really hard to afford housing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 Hi all,I am single and not yet 35, coming soon. At the rate the property prices are going, how can an average earning single afford a flat. Nowadays even 3 room flats are asking for at least $30K above valuation? And of course private properties are really expensive and not worth it. Unless u go for those really outskirts areas, if not it's really hard to afford housing.Stay with your family, don't move out lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 property prices go up and downsave a lot a lot now so that you can swop in and buy a unit when the prices are downsingle can afford a place lah, just how much you save only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 Heard end of the year, govt gonna increase subsidy for the low income earners& also more options on the cpf usage.Sad to say, nothing mention for singles. they only implement rule when the market is bad.My colleges just sold her point blk flat at TPY at $18k COV.I says, u siao ah .... Says hb kancheong..new hse already come, wait cannot sell how ?Don't be dishearten, might just catch another case like that.property prices go up and downsave a lot a lot now so that you can swop in and buy a unit when the prices are downsingle can afford a place lah, just how much you save only Ya lor, I always think single very rich leh, my single colleges always go exotic holiday.Sometimes 1 year, a few times some more.Me, boh pian, 5 times more expensive... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 it really depends on how you spend your money lohi'm lucky to get a new flat from hdb, but i'm paying for it aloneso if you are not too picky, $200k or less can get a 3-rm flat liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 Singles got singles-woes, couples got couples-woes, family got family-woes lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SimeiSeeker 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 faster find one partner, 2 ppl paying for the installment not so shiong, somore can get bigger flat.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford that's why we are shifting to SK, coz central area too expensive liaoan EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2007 guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford that's why we are shifting to SK, coz central area too expensive liaoan EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown Good idea, make some money , got new hse , more reno pictures. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
karen77sg 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2007 faster find one partner, 2 ppl paying for the installment not so shiong, somore can get bigger flat..Wah....faster find one partner just to help pay for flat ah! Dun tink is a good idea leh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 14, 2007 yah loh, alone also can get bigger flatjust the location not so good niabtw, new flats and resale flats the price about the same lohjust that new flats no need to pay COVhave some patience and wait for the market to cool downsure can afford one lah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maeryn 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 Always do your sums and get something within your budget. Esp for singles, do factor in if you can still afford to service the mortgage in the event you lose your job. That's what I did.Instead of paying $100k-$150K more for a flat in the central areas, you could settle for one in the suburbs and renovate it nicely. If the unit is near to the MRT station, it may just be a 30 mins ride to town. Also, a small loan = lesser interest. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 30, 2007 guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford that's why we are shifting to SK, coz central area too expensive liaoan EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown staying in the central - in the long run - you save more on transport cost + time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 30, 2007 actually really depends on your lifestyle and area of work for me, after shifing to SK my transportation cost with increase by $100 a montha year is $1.2k, 10yrs is $12k and 100yrs is $120kadd this $120k to my SK flat price i still cannot buy a similar flat in central wortime wise i'll spend an additional hour every day which i can use to read a book, do some handicraft or sleep somemore on the train Share this post Link to post Share on other sites