ahberden

Confusion On Hdb Housing Grants

This question has been bugging me for the longest time.

How do you qualify for the HDB Housing grant?

1. Me and my wife are both 1st time buyers for a house

2. Combine salary of < $8000

3. Buying a balloted flat from Feb 2007 HDB balloting exercise

4. Same estate as parent's flat

Why didn't I qualify for any HDB housing grant?

I recently met up with 1 of my JC classmates. He told me all of my JC classmates who bought a new flat from HDB, earning combine salary of < $8000 and got through balloting system. All got 30k HDB housing grant. He says im the only one he heard that does not have any grant from HDB. Im very confused... :deal::(

From what i know, I will only get a 30k grant if i buy from resale. And 40k if its resale and close to parents.

So anyone can enlighten me? TIA

Cheers,

Ahberden

Only resale flat have 30 grant for 1st timer, additional 10k is near parents.

No grant if directly purchase from HDB. The price is already discounted.

Thats what i thought too.

But my friend says im the only one who don't have the 30k grant.

The rest of my JC mates doing the same thing as me all got 30k grant.

Dunno to believe him or not... sigh... :(

I think your friend got all the facts wrong... And to think that he make you feel that you are the only one who don't have it.... The grant is only for resale flats, the sun would be rising from the west if new flts also apply because its already subsidised. You can login to www.hdb.gov.sg to know more about the grants.

I believe your friends are buying EC. They will be given 30k grant but no HDB loan.

Y not check with those friends. Anyway, since you got a new HDB flat, it is something to celebrate lor, why worry so much :(

I believe your friends are buying EC. They will be given 30k grant but no HDB loan.

Y not check with those friends. Anyway, since you got a new HDB flat, it is something to celebrate lor, why worry so much :notti:

Yah... Im happy with my new house. I just making sure that im not shortchanged by HDB. :(

Thanks for the reassurance.

I lost contact with those friends... if i ever meet any of them again... i will clarify with them.

Thats what i thought too.

But my friend says im the only one who don't have the 30k grant.

The rest of my JC mates doing the same thing as me all got 30k grant.

Dunno to believe him or not... sigh... :bangwall:

then what about your friend? He/she bought new HDB wif 30k grant too? U might want interrogate him further cos he got all the facts wrong. Only got 30k grant if buying EC and definitely no grant for new HDB flat otherwise there wont be any values for resale flats as all wld wanna get a subsidized HDB flat plus housing grant.

Oh he is not eligible for the 30k he says because he and his wife combine salary is over 8k. so thats why he bought Casa Merah. and waiting to sub sale it now. !!

Ask your friend to go read up HDB website.. :dunno:

Yah, i personally went to read up at the website. for those wanting to buy new flats through HDB, there is a Additional CPF housing grant. But it is only for those lower income category which i do not fall in.

Now im definately sure my friend is giving the wrong info. He even tells me that he has read the HDB site and asks me to go read it. :)

Not likely, their combined is already more than 8k lor.

But for ec, income is 10k (not sure) to take the 30k grant, so I'm inclined to believe this is the case lor.