xwih

Contractor's License Suspended

if i am the contractor i woudn't sue you just to get the 30%. first i have to spent money on lawyer. then there is the risk that you'll counter sue me for misleeding you to sign at the first place. i'll just keep the $1000 and move on. cos i already earn $1000 without doing anything. but if the contract sum is big and 30% is alot i might consider.

thanks all for the reply..

i'm not sure if i can post the ID here.. all i can say that it's somewhere near ikea in alexandra road..

after reading some of the thread in this forum i found out that this company is quite famous for being a bully...

i paid the deposit for $1000

i have thought of forgoing the 1000, but they insisted me to pay 30% if i cancel the contract.

also thingking of going to CASE but afraid that they will bite back

I think there are many foumer here giving excellent points that you may take their advise...hooray! Well done guys. For your info, and to safe guard yourself, other than going to case to report which you have a very strong case and might be able to retrieve your 1K, you may also wish to report to HDB. Just tell them the case and at least put it on record with HDB. Tell them that this contractor did propose to you using other's licence to submit. HDB normally will take note of that and might even take action against the contractor who submit on their behalf. Lodge police report if this contractor turn fierce to you.

Just tell them the case and at least put it on record with HDB. Tell them that this contractor did propose to you using other's licence to submit. HDB normally will take note of that and might even take action against the contractor who submit on their behalf.

i disagree. For my case, i did went to my Town Council to seek advice and they gave the number for HDB Registered Contractors body but I kept getting voicemail and no one called me back. It was pretty frustrating.

BTW, isit written in the contract to pay back 30% if contract is cancelled ?

i disagree. For my case, i did went to my Town Council to seek advice and they gave the number for HDB Registered Contractors body but I kept getting voicemail and no one called me back. It was pretty frustrating.

BTW, isit written in the contract to pay back 30% if contract is cancelled ?

Ya lor, I also agree that HDB will probably bo chap one lah. BTW if you want to check on registered contractors, you can check online at HDB website.

As for the contract, yes and no. Yes, you need to compensate 30% of contract sum if cancelled, but no if the contract was not valid in the first place. The contractor had misrepresented that he was a licenced contractor, that's why you signed mah. So since he is not, you have the right to declare the contract null and void.

this is the email reply i got from HDB.

--------------

2 As explained that the renovation registration of ******* ****** and Contract Centre has been suspended by HDB, the company is not allowed to apply for HDB renovation permit and carry out any renovation works in HDB flats. For the contract signed between you and the contractor, we would advise both parties to resolve the issue amicably. If you and the contractor are unable to resolve the issue amicably, both parties could seek assistance through the Small Claims Tribunals or seek legal redress through court proceedings.

3 You are advised to engage HDB Registered Renovation Contractors listed in HDB InfoWEB (at www.hdb.gov.sg) with status "Active" for the renovation works. You may wish to note that HDB Registered Renovation Contractors are not allowed to sub-contract the works from non registered renovation contractors or assignment of their renovation registration.

-------------

so basically we have to deal with the contractor ourself..

but at least i have a black in white and can show this ti CASE.. :yamseng:

How much is the total amt of your project?

I've always find this clause very slanted against consumer, is it like u cannot change ur mind if u dun want to renovate, die die must do so.

For the contract signed between you and the contractor, we would advise both parties to resolve the issue amicably. If you and the contractor are unable to resolve the issue amicably, both parties could seek assistance through the Small Claims Tribunals or seek legal redress through court proceedings.

that is like their template answer. settle amicable.. go CASE.

i wish u all the best xwih ! :P

that is like their template answer. settle amicable.. go CASE.

i wish u all the best xwih ! :P

HDB is not the LAW. There is a contract signed between 2 parties and HDB not the party, what can u expect them to do, be busybody mah? Somemore, help/hotline-call is not someone with legal background lor.

that's quite true...

just afraid that this guy will use that contract and sue me and demand 30%.. so in the end will have to pay more if i lose. :P

i know i'm being pessimistic. but after reading so many horror story in this forum... it's hard not to think this way

if they want to sue.. let them sue..

they don't have the license.. sue what..

I've always find this clause very slanted against consumer, is it like u cannot change ur mind if u dun want to renovate, die die must do so.

the reno cost is 16k

doing kitchen and 2 toilet

not a problem. Bring this issue to case and let them resolve it for you.

If u havent start ur renovation then it will be good that dont let them do. If they do halfway and also try to threaten u, u can sue them and maybe can get some $$$ back from them. :P

U mention this contractor is a big bully, maybe u shld pm the name to those who need it so that to prevent them from another mishap. Best is to include the contractor name cos he is opening a new company.

Actually they are jus trying their luck to scare u to commit, however u can have ur stand as the existing company had lost it HDB permit so in fract u can sue the company for not able to perform under the contract cos the contract is void now. :P

Sometime u shld just stand firm and nt let them push u ard. They are jus wolfs trying to prey on the weaker. :P

the reno cost is 16k

doing kitchen and 2 toilet

Please make sure they don have the access to ur hse nw, cos they may do funny things which u don knw. :P

But you signed a contract, surely there is always a clause for breaking it, right? Same everywhere mah...