barnett

Urgent Help Needed- Quotation Review For 4 Rm Premium

Hi Mates,

This is the quotation i received from one of the company. Can help to advise me if this quotation is ok and reasonable, thank you very much! :good:

Description Amount

CEILING WORKS

Supply labour & construct false ceiling at dining/passage to bedroom $665.00

Supply labour & construct false ceiling at master bedroom $154.00

Supply labour & construct light holder **** ceiling with design $381.00

Sub total $1,200.00

Electrical works

Supply labour & wiring new lights point as design -16nos x $38 $608.00

Supply labour & wiring new 13Ax2 power point for TV console $65.00

Supply labour & wiring to re-locate scv point for living hall $80.00

Supply labour to install new light fitting for the existing point 8x$12 $96.00

Sub total $849.00

Install light -$12/No , New lighting point -$38/No, 13Ax1 $55/No, 13Ax2 $65/No

Tel point $55/No, SCV point $120/No , Air-con 20A $180/No

Painting works

Supply labour & paint for whole house using ICI/NIPPON (5 colour only) $1,250.00

ALUMINUM GRILLS/WINDOW/BI-FOLD DOORS WORKS

Supply labour & install whole house aluminum grills (selected design-NA finish/

Bronze finish) (Measurement base on site est. 256.5 sqft X $4.80) $1,232.00

Supply labour & install 2 x aluminum bi-fold door c/w pvc panel for toilets $310.00

Supply labour & install casement window for service balcony c/w clear glass $331.00

(NA finish)

Sub total $1,873.00

OTHERS WORKS

Supply labour & construct fridge, cabinet and w.machine base $350.00

Supply labour & install wall paper at the TV console wall (base on selected design) $395.00

Supply labour & install wall paper at the MBR wall over the bed area $275.00

Sub total $1,020.00

FURNITURE WORKS

LIVING HALL / DINING AREA (LAMINATES FINS -INTERNAL WHITE)

Supply & install 2 nos of carcass for the shoe cabinet at the pantry without door $600.00

Supply & install selected curtain as door to cover up the pantry and shoe cabinet $600.00

Supply & install 1 nos low TV console - 13ft x $120 -Laminates fins. $1,560.00

Supply & install 1 set of dining table c/w 6 stools w/o back rest and uphostery $950.00

Supply & install full height tinted dimensional mirror $1,150.00

Sub total $4,860.00

KITCHEN CABINET (LAMINATES FINS -INTERNAL WHITE)

Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) with ABS trimming $2,500.00

Supply & install one nos of solid worktop (culture marble)12.5ft x $85/ft L $1,063.00

Sub total $3,563.00

DOOR WORKS

Supply & install 3 no. of classic door c/w standard lockset & door stopper $480.00

(selected design only)

Sub total $480.00

MASTER BEDROOM (LAMINATES FINISHING-INTERNAL WHITE)

Supply & install full height built in wardrobe (sliding door c/w frosted glass)

8ft @ $230/ft L $1,840.00

Supply & install 1 nos bed side table c/w drawer $240.00

Supply & install 1 nos bed side compartment low table c/w drawer $380.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q” size bed head with cushion (selected fabric) $500.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q”size bed base box c/w drawer $700.00

Supply & install 1 nos mobile TV console (2ft x 2ft) $220.00

Sub total $3,880.00

G.Total Amt $18,975.00

NO GST-------- :ph34r:

Description Amount

CEILING WORKS

Sub total $1,200.00

Electrical works

Sub total $849.00

Electrical works a bit on high side.

Painting works

Supply labour & paint for whole house using ICI/NIPPON (5 colour only) $1,250.00

Check with them what are the grade of paint u are allow to choice from.

Supply labour & install 2 x aluminum bi-fold door c/w pvc panel for toilets $310.00

Supply labour & install casement window for service balcony c/w clear glass $331.00

(NA finish)

Sub total $1,873.00

OTHERS WORKS

Supply labour & construct fridge, cabinet and w.machine base $350.00

No tiles given for base to match the kitchen floor tiles?

Supply labour & install wall paper at the TV console wall (base on selected design) $395.00

Sub total $1,020.00

FURNITURE WORKS

Supply & install 2 nos of carcass for the shoe cabinet at the pantry without door $600.00

im not sure where is the area located for ur shoe cabinet. But it will look odd while looking the whole view.

Supply & install selected curtain as door to cover up the pantry and shoe cabinet $600.00

This is too high end. Shoe cabinet and pantry curtains dont need to used many materials. Furthermore u need to wash the curtains. After washing the curtains will strink or not is still another issue.

If just only a piece of wood i think you can drop the idea of it.

Supply & install 1 set of dining table c/w 6 stools w/o back rest and uphostery $950.00

Glass top and stainless steel lights for dining table?

What the width of the mirror? as no measurement stated.

Sub total $4,860.00

Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) with ABS trimming $2,500.00

About 4m long. If half of it will be 2m top, 2m bottom. Minus away hob and hood, sink, microwave do you still have enough space? Do they give a few piece of sandbast glass?

Supply & install one nos of solid worktop (culture marble)12.5ft x $85/ft L $1,063.00

After seeing this i feel something is weird here. As from the "Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) with ABS trimming" total is 12.5ft. Then solid surface top is also 12.5ft. Does it mean all are bottom cabinet? If possible do check with them again on the measurements for kitchen cabinet.

Sub total $3,563.00

DOOR WORKS

Supply & install 3 no. of classic door c/w standard lockset & door stopper $480.00

(selected design only)

Sub total $480.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q” size bed head with cushion (selected fabric) $500.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q”size bed base box c/w drawer $700.00

Sub total $3,880.00

For all the above expect waredrobe, i personally feel that most things that can be purchase off the shelf. Therefore this u will be able to save more. No offence. Just mine personal opinion. As mine ID also told me dont need to do as this as it is a waste of money. :good:

G.Total Amt $18,975.00

NO GST-------- :ph34r:

Hope it helps.

I think the item: Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) is for 12.5ft top and 12.5ft bottom. Cos if $200/ftL is exp, but if u divide by 2 it will be $100/ftL which is ok.

But check on this item with ur id.

hi, not very sure about market rate

but this is what my contractor is charging me :D

Hi Mates,

This is the quotation i received from one of the company. Can help to advise me if this quotation is ok and reasonable, thank you very much! :(

Description Amount

Electrical works

Install light -$10/No , New lighting point -$30/No, SCV point $00/No ,

Painting works

Supply labour & paint for whole house using ICI/NIPPON (5 colour only) $1,350.00 - mine is EA (134sqm) and using Medifresh

FURNITURE WORKS

Supply & install 2 nos of carcass for the shoe cabinet at the pantry without door $600.00 - without door and only carcass i.e. no shelves??? :unsure:

Supply & install selected curtain as door to cover up the pantry and shoe cabinet $600.00 - my contractor installing all curtain FOC, i bought off the shelf curtains $18.80 for 145 x 235 faux silk material

Supply & install 1 nos low TV console - 13ft x $120 -Laminates fins. $1,560.00 - 4m of TV console? that's a very long living room.

Supply & install 1 set of dining table c/w 6 stools w/o back rest and uphostery $950.00 - this is 'freaking' expensive, might as well buy yourself. i paid $1.2k for marble table top and 6 chairs w back rest and marble seat.

Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) with ABS trimming $2,500.00 - market rate but better to write down number of drawers, shelves etc

Supply & install one nos of solid worktop (culture marble)12.5ft x $85/ft L $1,063.00 - is this what you want? maybe you want to consider solid surface

Sub total $3,563.00

DOOR WORKS

Supply & install 3 no. of classic door c/w standard lockset & door stopper $480.00 - reasonable price but better check if the 'selected' design has what you want.

(selected design only)

Sub total $480.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q” size bed head with cushion (selected fabric) $500.00 - expensive, can get king coil half leather at $500+ at robinson

Supply & install 1 nos “Q”size bed base box c/w drawer $700.00 - expensive, can get those storage bed with head board with this price at seahorse

Sub total $3,880.00

G.Total Amt $18,975.00

NO GST-------- :D

find that the bed head, bed side compartment etc can be easily bought off the shelf. my contractor's advice is unless i have unusual request, if not better to just buy outside. as i only require the bed head to be at least 30cm and bed stead of a certain height, buy outside only $599.

for carpentry, will be easier to comment if we know what material.

e.g. bedside table with drawer, go ikea buy only less than $100, even go wihardja buy solid teak also less than $200 :D

this is purely my personal opinion based on the quotes i received.

hope it helps :P

hmm... I am looking at your quote.

It is not exactly cheap leh. You got very intricate designs or are you asking for all veneer for your carpentry?

Even the painting works alone is expensive.

I did my EA with more color choices at a cheaper price than what you are quoted.

I am sure there is a lot of bargaining can be done to reduce the price further.

At work now, cannot break down your quote in detail.

Check out my blog. There are some tips on how to see if your quote is expensive or not.

Do a search of the forum as well. Many of us has helped other owners to break down their quotes to something more measurable. It would be relevant to you as well. :unsure:

I will see if I got time tonite to go thru your quote or not :D

What I believe is that u can put these items in and then later u can take them out. I use these to safeguard me later when there are changes made to the final quotation. However, u will realise that what they quote they are only able to unquote 90% of that price. Amazing rite, but still u will have a better bargining power later.

I will think custom-made if u wanted to have that particular design/texture of laminated which cannot be found outside. Thus, unique. And it will be 1 of the kind. Thus the higher pricing too cos not mass production. Therefore, not necessary bad to custom made if u have the $$ :unsure:

Hope it helps.

Hi devilaz,

Thanks for the review. you have lightened me alot of the stuff thats miss up.

Do you mind i ask more from you guys?

Electrical works

Sub total $849.00

Electrical works a bit on high side. ( I agree - im bargaining to throw in free labour for light fitting. )

Check with them what are the grade of paint u are allow to choice from

( Is there lots of grade of paint? wat is the best grade?? )

No tiles given for base to match the kitchen floor tiles?

( they mentioned will try get the nearest color but no confirm )

im not sure where is the area located for ur shoe cabinet. But it will look odd while looking the whole view.

( Cause my bomb shelter door is at corner near the main door therefore he suggest to build cabinet with no doors at each side of the bomb shelter door. then a curtain in front to cover it and rack. so he suggest no need door. But personally i felt the curtain and doorless rack are exp. may get it myself in ikea. ) wat do u think?

( he suggest to have extended version where can be transform to sitting bench when needed.)

Glass top and stainless steel lights for dining table?

( good suggestion.. must include glass top... wat do u mean 'stainless steel light' )

What the width of the mirror? as no measurement stated.

( they have a very nice design as dimensional full height mirror but exp. i may drop it as to cut :D budget) :P

Do they give a few piece of sandbast glass?

( i will clarify whether the quote include top AND bottom cabinet. i will ask them to throw in 2 sandbast glass. hope i can convince them) :unsure:

(about the full height cabinet, i try to get full height as to fully uitilise the MBR. MBR very small. you got any lobang to get it outside store?? :(

Thanks raincole for the reminder oso.

Overall, wat is price rating of the quote for 92 sq 4 rm house?

moreover they havent include the 2 x vanity cabinet and mirrors for 2 bathrms. i remember they verbally quote $870 for them. :D

hmm... I am looking at your quote.

It is not exactly cheap leh. You got very intricate designs or are you asking for all veneer for your carpentry?

Even the painting works alone is expensive.

I did my EA with more color choices at a cheaper price than what you are quoted.

I am sure there is a lot of bargaining can be done to reduce the price further.

At work now, cannot break down your quote in detail.

Check out my blog. There are some tips on how to see if your quote is expensive or not.

Do a search of the forum as well. Many of us has helped other owners to break down their quotes to something more measurable. It would be relevant to you as well. ;)

I will see if I got time tonite to go thru your quote or not ;)

I din really ask for intricate designs and i only requested for ABS trimming for kitchen n MBR wardrode.

i top up 300 ++ for ABS Trimming. for materials, they using laminated finish. i will only view the material this sat. i highlighted the kitch cabinet abit steep but they explain they are using thick wood compare to the market.

As for your blog, i only got to read it a few days ago after they quote me. i regret that i din ask the quote the other 2 bedroom as you taught. personally im thankful there is such a blog from you for us first timer.

Thanks Keep it up and we appreciate you efforts.thrumb up x 3 :fire::fire::(

Keep your suggestion and reviews coming.... :furious:

May i ask is Culture marble or solid top better for Kitchen cabinet worktop??

And wat the difference in pricing and qualities?? Pros and Cons??

PLease enlighten.... :furious:

( I agree - im bargaining to throw in free labour for light fitting. )

they wont give free labour. but u can try to ask them to give discount. Maybe 35 per point?

( Is there lots of grade of paint? wat is the best grade?? )

They will give ICI or nippon.

Nippon paint

ICI paint

You can view from the link above. If you want to get Catalogue you can email to them or go any authorizes shop to get it too.

( Cause my bomb shelter door is at corner near the main door therefore he suggest to build cabinet with no doors at each side of the bomb shelter door. then a curtain in front to cover it and rack. so he suggest no need door. But personally i felt the curtain and doorless rack are exp. may get it myself in ikea. ) wat do u think?

For curtain wisem if u are doing curtain for ur house well u can go to a few curtain shop and ask for quotes. Then u can compair with it. Furthermore you will get even cheaper rather then buying separatily. For door i think is not an option, since it is quite near to the main door it will be a bit restricted.

( he suggest to have extended version where can be transform to sitting bench when needed.)

hmmm... then mechanism is required. In long term it will rust and regular maintance is required. It will be very troublemsome. You need to shift ur electircal stuff away just to let more people to sit? Hey come on, ur ID very idea leh... Many people come and need to shift all those things then dont need to watch tv already? :lol:

( good suggestion.. must include glass top... wat do u mean 'stainless steel light' )

sorry i mean stainless steel legs. :P

Do they give a few piece of sandbast glass?

( i will clarify whether the quote include top AND bottom cabinet. i will ask them to throw in 2 sandbast glass. hope i can convince them) :notti:

(about the full height cabinet, i try to get full height as to fully uitilise the MBR. MBR very small. you got any lobang to get it outside store?? :(

for full height cabinet will be ok to ask ID to do it for you. As it will be more worth.

Thanks raincole for the reminder oso.

Overall, wat is price rating of the quote for 92 sq 4 rm house?

moreover they havent include the 2 x vanity cabinet and mirrors for 2 bathrms. i remember they verbally quote $870 for them. :D

:dunno:

you can ask quotes from them as above see how much is ur total sum.

I din really ask for intricate designs and i only requested for ABS trimming for kitchen n MBR wardrode.

i top up 300 ++ for ABS Trimming. for materials, they using laminated finish. i will only view the material this sat. i highlighted the kitch cabinet abit steep but they explain they are using thick wood compare to the market.

As for your blog, i only got to read it a few days ago after they quote me. i regret that i din ask the quote the other 2 bedroom as you taught. personally im thankful there is such a blog from you for us first timer.

Thanks Keep it up and we appreciate you efforts.thrumb up x 3 :dunno::):good:

Keep your suggestion and reviews coming.... :unsure:

yes GnM blog is a very nice and good place for us to read on it. Also inside the blog there are tons of valuable information too. :good:

( I agree - im bargaining to throw in free labour for light fitting. )

they wont give free labour. but u can try to ask them to give discount. Maybe 35 per point?

Thanks mate for your help. :notti:

sorry for misled. i meant bargaining to throw in free labour for the 8 existing point to make up the exp quote for 16 new point lighting charges. :D

are you sure you wan this id? how many hav you been? never hurt to get a few more to compare lo.. not justified if this is the only one,

instead of we advise why not get a few different types to justified if that the best or these's other better ones? they are your own house, you now the condition better than us, what need to be done what don need, i'm sure a few visits to more can guide you better.. don keep to one remember!

Hi Mates,

This is the quotation i received from one of the company. Can help to advise me if this quotation is ok and reasonable, thank you very much! ;)

Description Amount

CEILING WORKS

Sub total $1,200.00

No comment as no area or measurement to compare to.

Electrical works

Sub total $849.00

Light point $30/pt, power point $$55/pt, relocate SCV $50/pt, install light $8/pt

New lighting point $30/pt, 13A X 1 $45/pt, X2 $55/pt Tel $40/pt SCV (new) $90/pt Air-con/heater $120/pt

Painting works

Supply labour & paint for whole house using ICI/NIPPON (5 colour only) $1,250.00 (Quite ok if using ICI or Nippon)

(NA finish)

Sub total $1,873.00

OTHERS WORKS

Supply labour & construct fridge, cabinet and w.machine base $350.00 ($300)

Sub total $1,020.00

FURNITURE WORKS

Supply & install 1 nos low TV console - 13ft x $120 -Laminates fins. $1,560.00 ($90 pfr)

Supply & install full height tinted dimensional mirror (Measurement?) $1,150.00

Sub total $4,860.00

Supply & install top/bottom kitchen cabinet -12.5ft ($200/ftL) with ABS trimming $2,500.00 (Only $180 pfr)

Supply & install one nos of solid worktop (culture marble)12.5ft x $85/ft L $1,063.00 (Using Granite only cost $75 pfr why should pay more for solid top?)

Sub total $3,563.00

DOOR WORKS

(selected design only)

Sub total $480.00

8ft @ $230/ft L ($210 only with sliding door) $1,840.00

Supply & install 1 nos bed side table c/w drawer ($150 only) $240.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q” size bed head with cushion (selected fabric) ($400 only) $500.00

Supply & install 1 nos “Q”size bed base box c/w drawer ($600 only) $700.00

Sub total $3,880.00

G.Total Amt $18,975.00

NO GST-------- :bangwall:

Edited by bullet

hi, not very sure about market rate

but this is what my contractor is charging me :)

find that the bed head, bed side compartment etc can be easily bought off the shelf. my contractor's advice is unless i have unusual request, if not better to just buy outside. as i only require the bed head to be at least 30cm and bed stead of a certain height, buy outside only $599.

for carpentry, will be easier to comment if we know what material.

e.g. bedside table with drawer, go ikea buy only less than $100, even go wihardja buy solid teak also less than $200 :horse:

this is purely my personal opinion based on the quotes i received.

hope it helps :yamseng:

R u sure you can get $1,350 to paint up an EM with ICI or Nippon paint? Let us to some home work. You need at least 3 White emulsion for ceiling and wall undercoat-$120, 2 can of paint to each room say vinyl sinlk - $50 X 2 can X 3 room, 3 can for hall and living - $150,, 1 can for passage and other area $50, and 2 can of sealer $80, 1 can of weather shield for balcony - $60 Total paint material only (not inclusive of roller paint, brush, protection, masking tap, plastering material etc) $760.00 excluding GST. Which is to say max they only cost $590.00 for labour without profit. Last that I understand, you need 2 man to paint a EM for abt 8 days esp typical work at staircase which has 16ft tall wall and where they can't place the ladder there. By calcution, $590/8days/2man, which is to say their labour can accept $36,85 per day. Wow real cheap labour and the company is good that they don't make profit from painting... unbelieveable. Bear in mind that even they use Bangladeshi general worker, their levy is $16.00 per day then I think maybe possible. Else, There must be some area which they "save" up for their profit....like mixing cheap paint lor

Edited by bullet