hongss

Central Heater?

i bought a resale flat and would like to remove the central heater and install instant heater becos i heard from others that it uses more electricity and need to wait abt 15 mins after it is switch on before there is hot water. Is it true?

Any advice..thanks!

Most people would do the opposite if they could.

It takes less than 5 mins and you can store hot water long enough for a day's use.

i bought a resale flat and would like to remove the central heater and install instant heater becos i heard from others that it uses more electricity and need to wait abt 15 mins after it is switch on before there is hot water. Is it true?

Any advice..thanks!

you mean storage water heater. :dribble:

from the heading i thought how come singaporean need central heater - cos no winter here. :dribble:

if your family bathe in hotwater a lot = get a storage heater

if your family only bathe hotwater once a while = get a instant heater

storage heater actually saves you money provided there is volume(lots of usage).

instant heater actually triples your electrical bill if you use a lot.

you mean storage water heater. :sport-smiley-004:

from the heading i thought how come singaporean need central heater - cos no winter here. :dancingqueen:

if your family bathe in hotwater a lot = get a storage heater

if your family only bathe hotwater once a while = get a instant heater

storage heater actually saves you money provided there is volume(lots of usage).

instant heater actually triples your electrical bill if you use a lot.

only the 2 of us living in the house and we will only take hot showers. for a storage heater, if i were to turn in on to use in the morning, I will still need to turn it on again and wait abt 10-15mins to re-heat again before i can take hot showers at night rite>?

Sorry if im asking some silly questions..been using instant heater all along

ya as waileong said "warm".

you need to reheat again, in your case since you said both of you ONLY take HOT showers everyday.

hmm quite difficult to answer.

what my electrician told me is - electricity consumption.

15mins of instant water is equivilent to around 45mins of storage heater. plus my previous post on usage.

since by the time in the evening, it is warm, less electricity will be use to HEAT up the storageheater.

this one really donno the math liao cos you are considered heavy user(everyday). sorry.

I usually switch on for 20mins and then off it after bathe.

my bills for electricity alone(exclude water) around $35 per mth.

PUB charges 20 cents per 1kw per hour. thats 1000 watts per hour.

my ariston 30L i think is 1500w-3000w(max 3000w when whole tank is cold water), a typical instant heater from 2000w-7200w, using max wattage cos instantaneous.

hopefully someone with a better electrical knowledge can help you.

hi, weileong and mace is correct in stating their views.

generally the storage heater tank will preserve the heat within the tank for abt 2 days. and from experience users, normally, you on the power, go take your towel, clothes for changing, hang them in toilet, close your toilet door, the water is warm enough already. you do not really need to wait for 10-20minutes as from heresay.

normally recommended, a 25L storage heater for a 5rm flat is more than sufficient. eg. a person drinks 3l of water per day, this will last for 1 week. and storage heater purpose is to store water and heat it up for usage, it will be replenish frequently so it should be more than enough for use for whole household. and also pls do reminded to save our earth by using a suitable tank size as it will mean saving energy needed to heat up a bigger tank of water. generally, a 25L tank will be sufficient for a 5rm flat. if yours is a private landed house, then its best to check with your plumber or renovation contractor and not your ID. these ppl are more experience and able to do a correct sizing/calculations. if there are still further doubt, do contact the mfgr office directly for clarifications.

ariston:

Merioni TermoSanitari Pte Ltd

39 Robinson Road #09-04

Robinson Point Singapore 068911

Tel: 6226 0292

Fax: 6226 0316

http://www.mtsgroup.com

Joven Electric (S) Pte Ltd

No. 10 Ubi Crescent # 02 – 18

Ubi Techpark Lobby B

Singapore 408564

Tel: (65) 62833181, 67493772, 67496421

Fax: (65) 67493575

http://www.jovenelectric.com

http://www.joven-electric.com/default.asp

water from storage heater can be use for washing areas instead of using for bathing only. the only initial cost is to install hot and cold water piping all around the whole which your plumber guy will be able to estimate a cost for it.

whether it should be horizontal or vertical, it depend on the space that is available at your hm.

installation of heater itself is generally charge at S$80. copper piping depend on the mkt rate and the length that is require to run to the designated point.

citygas free instant heater runs on gas and must be install at kitchen or expose area. enclosed area is not allowed due to safety reasons.

and of coz, running on gas is cheaper than electricity.

for prices of storage heaters, ariston and joven are comparable and competitive in pricing. ariston is from italy and joven is from malaysia.

but for ariston, place of manufacture may not be place of assemble.

the general pricing of storage heater are:

ariston 30L - range from S$225 - S$240

joven 35L - range from S$235 - S$250

joven 25L - range from S$220 - S$240

above prices gather from:

- universal union @ geylang Lor 44

- goh ah bee @ kovan city (near kovan mrt)

- poh joo @ jln besar

- hoe kee @ no. 8 genting lane (HQ) / jln berseh branch

warranty:

- ariston: 4 years warranty for tank against leakage; 1 year warranty for electronic parts

- joven: 10 years warranty for tank against leakage

i wish to state that the above information is just for purely information gather from users and advice given by sellers and users and by no way represent any legal implications to me or whatsoever. it is purely for information purpose only and does not represent my view or manipulations of others' views.

hope the above helps.

for more information for instant heater and storage heater, you may want to read up on the following threads:

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/...html?1189038400

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/...html?1189037853

this is wat i gather for sourcing for instant heater.

from what i have asked around, instant heater prices ranges from S$180 to S$280 per set, the price difference for same brand and model from different retailers ranges from S$20 to S$40. they are earning by the margin so they can't be having a S$100 difference.

you can try the following places which i have gather from forumers' recommendations and do remember to call them to ask if they have want you want before going to their shops (as some of these shops only carry electrical and electronic goods only):

1) Dav Electronics

21 Lor Kilat #01-02 Sun Ct Singapore 598123 (next to bukit timah SC)

Tel : 6467 7767

Fax : 6467 7207

2) Kong Tai Electrical Trading

504 Jurong West St 51 #01-221

Tel: 65658924

3) Universal Union

HTTP://www.universalunion.com.sg

710 Geylang Road (next to Lor 44)

Singapore 389625

TEL:

(65) 6749 0007

(65) 6743 3852

FAX:

(65) 6746 8849

EMAIL: sales@universalunion.com.sg

4) Everjoint (ang mo kio)

http://www.everjoint.com.sg

Block 159, Ang Mo Kio Ave 4, #01-534, Singapore 560159.

Tel : 64589569 / 64582531 / 64582578 Fax: 64562335

Email: everjoint@pacific.net.sg

BUSINESS HOURS:

Monday to Saturday - 9 am to 8 pm

Public Holiday - 9 am to 6pm

Close on Sunday

5) GENOVA INDUSTRIES PTE LTD

http://www.genova.com.sg

58 Bendemeer Road

Singapore 339937

Tel : (65) 6299 0222 (5 Lines)

Fax : (65) 6296 4831

Email:genova@singnet.com.sg

6) Poh Joo Hardware

http://www.pohjoo.com/contacts.html

a)Address : 125, Rangoon Road, Singapore 218403

Tel: 6296 7178

Fax: 6295 0771

Operating hours :

Mon - Sat : 8:00 a.m - 6:00 p.m

b) Address :159, Jalan Besar, Singapore 208875.

(Opp. Jalan Berseh Hawker Center)

Tel: 6398 0588

Fax: 6398 1689

Operating hours :

Mon - Sat : 8:30 a.m - 6:00 p.m

c) Address :389/391, Jalan Besar, Singapore 209004.(Opp. Lavender Food Square)

Tel: 6292 3388

Fax: 6299 0690

Operating hours :

Mon - Sat : 8:30 a.m - 6:00 p.m

Sun : 11:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m

7) Goh Ah Bee (kovan city, near kovan mrt)

Blk 210 # 01-247,Hougang Street 21

6288 8611

note: pls call for shop opening hrs. i know they are not open on sunday. this shop has been around for many many years so definitely they are sincere retailers (heard from old uncles).

8) Hoe Kee Hardware

http://www.hoekee.com

no. 8 genting lane - more stock and variety there but its closed on sunday, sat its open till 6pm

a) HEAD OFFICE

No. 8 Genting Road S(349472)

Tel: 6296 6827 Fax: 6296 1911

Closed on Sundays and Public Holidays

(9 AM - 6 PM)

b) New World Centre (Next to Macdonalds)

No. 1 Jalan Berseh #01-07 to #01-11

Tel: 6392 9909

Closed on Tuesdays (10 AM - 7 PM)

c) IMM Building

No. 2 Jurong East St 21 L3-26

Tel: 6563 5088

OPEN DAILY (11 AM - 9 PM)

d) Tanjong Katong Complex

No. 845 Geylang Road #01-38

Tel: 6745 7055

OPEN DAILY (12 PM - 9 PM)

e) Plaza Singapura

No. 68 Orchard Road #04-03A

Tel: 6238 8729

OPEN DAILY (11 AM - 9 PM)

9) BUAN SENG HUAT ELECTRICAL & GAS DEALER

Blk 205, Bedok North St 1, #01-391

6443 8010

10) ETRONIN ELECTROMART

Blk 510, Bedok North Ave 2, #01-51

6444 7325

11) Lucky Store at Transit Road : 64560788

12) Chin Leong & Co at 664 Geylang Rd: 67443053

hope the above infor helps

To anyone who have experience and can answer my question:

You see, my ID included in his quote to supply and install a 30L or larger (Joven) storage heater. The price quoted for the supply and installation of the heater is about 30% higher than those listed in this thread. Am I overquoted? Or should separate it out from the quote and do it myself? How much does it usually cost for installation?

Appreciate reply on this.

You see, my ID included in his quote to supply and install a 30L or larger (Joven) storage heater. The price quoted for the supply and installation of the heater is about 30% higher than those listed in this thread. Am I overquoted? Or should separate it out from the quote and do it myself? How much does it usually cost for installation?

Would be useful if you can state how much you were quoted for the heater and the installation.

Are your pipings there? - replacing a existing heater with pipes all in place? - the most is $60

if not, dont forget the pipings + wiring......if you engage your ID to do the toilet...very messsy if you get outside contractors to do the piping for you. unless your heater is NOT link to 2 toilets and no hacking involved.

try to neg on the price.

hi mace, i in constrn field so i always ask things in vy detail, like a 4years old kid, always ask how ah, why leh, izt.. :)

its juz that i think i can share some infor that i hv gather.

and as for eng98, as i hv stated earlier, you can use the pricing as your base of comparison.

installation work for heater include labour cost to install of heater and pipe but exclude pipe material and brackets (if your heater requires but normally the heater comes with bracket which you hv to check with your seller before purchase).

piping cost means pipe material cost. you hv to ask your contractor / ID what is included. eg. pipe could mean stainless steel pipe, copper pipe, pvc pipe etc. copper and stainless pipe will cost more. pvc pipe is for normal cold water only. usually they will use stainless steel pipe. so for hot and cold water usage, usually its 1 outgoing pipe for hot water, 1 incoming pipe for cold water.

and the pipe cost depend on the length that they are running in your hse. eg. if you juz want to install hot and cold pipe connecting to your 2 toilets shower points (eg. MBR and common toilets) to your heater, then it will be shorter length, thus cheaper cost in pipe but may mean a cheaper cost in installation labour cost.

but it you are installing pipe to connect to all your washing point, eg. kitchen, toilet shower, toilet tap, washing machine, etc. you will have to pay more for pipe material cost. and the installation labour cost will still be the same.

but if you are installing for a, say, 2-storey maisonnette HDB, private landed property type of house, eg. 2-storey terrace, bungalow, etc., den your piping material and installation labour cost will be higher.

you can also buy the heater yourself, get your ID to install for you or get his contractor to install for you. You subtract out this cost from your ID quote and see if its worthwhile to do it coz you will hv to remember that there maybe hazzle involve, eg. supervising and advising the contractor where you want to install your heater, which tap point (for your easy understanding, i put tap point, usually ppl in this line will juz say point) you want to hv hot water, etc. And also you will need your contractor to list the length of pipe, its cost, installation labour cost, and any bracket cost if there are any bracket require for your heater.

usually installation labour cost is from S$60 - S$80 excluding all other materials.

check with your ID to see if he is ok with it. usually, as you are the customer, you hv the right to decide what you want to do, so your ID should respect your wishes.

if your hse already hv the pipe, den you will save the piping material cost, so if you think the storage heater tank is too old, den juz buy the tank for replacement will do. but do take note that storage heater tank can last for more than 10 years. check the age of the storage heater by checking the brand and try to call up the current representative company in Spore to see if they are able to help you to track the heater tank's age. if its still 5-8years old, its in gd condition and you dun mind, den suggest you dont change it.

hope the above infor helps you.

to really understand and do a rough calculation on how big a tank you require for your hm, i can recommend this website for all to read.

National Climate Committee:

http://www.nccc.gov.sg/Households/tips.shtm

http://www.nccc.gov.sg/els/heater.shtm

http://www.nccc.gov.sg/els/els.shtm#

wah say, leen you electrical engineer?

your electrical knowledge tok kong leh :dunno:

oh ya, mace, forgot to clarify this, i am in constrn field but in no way im promoting my company service here coz my company do turnkey govt, industrial, commercial big projects. not housing projects. so no conflict interest here. but i hv major difficulties in sourcing ids, renovators, electrical products etc. coz i must check that these company dun hv conflict with my company, coz we must declare everything for audit, vy strict rules we hv here.

so maybe that are some of the reasons why i hv to source like crazy for even simple stuffs.

and also another reason is that i keep reading up threads where there are contractors, promoters of their own stuffs that they are selling, so i double and double confirm, i am not trying to sell anythings or promoting any company here. juz plain putting up what i know to share with forumers here.