prodigic 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Heard so much abt BLUM.. is there any website to showcase their products? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lavendery 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) I also using the blum motion for my kitchen drawers...but somehow i feel that its quite difficult to pull out. U have to use abit of force to pull out the kitchen drawers. When it comes to pushing in, its ok, got the anti-slam effect. My contractor also charging me $60 for per pair of blum motion.The rest of my kitchen cabinets are using the soft hinges, which also have the anti-slam effects, but its not blum brand, cos too exp liao. Edited December 19, 2007 by lavendery Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 wow... may b lance or home guide boss over charging us le wor..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Heard so much abt BLUM.. is there any website to showcase their products?it's heretheir showroom is inside a building just besides Ubi Driving Centre... the building also houses the Fisher and Paykel showroom... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alpha2001 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) ah.. dunno.. cos tat was quoted for all hinges.. cabinets + wardrobes + consoles.. etc..Hmm..I only do blum for all the drawers and doors for the kitchen cabinet. As for wardrobes in the three rooms, only the doors have...drawers in the wardrobe and tv console dun have.....cos it is not cheap to do the drawer...my id quote me $80 for each drawer for the slow motion...Actually, is it neccesary to do the drawers for the wardrobe and TV console huh? I dun find it necessary leh...If really necessary, is there any cheaper option? Can I just add something to the drawer track to have that effect? Anyone can advise me? Thank you. Edited December 19, 2007 by alpha2001 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 those sold at ikea are designed by BLUM, but not produced by them (i think)so the precision engineering part is missing it feels filmsy when i was playing with it at ikea tampinesthe packaging is printed with "Made in Austria", BLUM's home country.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 the packaging is printed with "Made in Austria", BLUM's home country.... hmm then i'm not sure liaobut it really feels very different when i use the ones at home and the ones at ikea !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simpleboi 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Guess Blum will not be included if it was not written in the quote?Forgot bout the slamming of the drawers for the kitchen cabinet etc.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prodigic 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 I'm a bit skeptical abt Blum tho.. Are they child-proof?I mean if kids or toddlers open and close drawers, will it has the ability not to shut if the little fingers are touching the tip? Just a thought tho.Other than tat they're cool stuff! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Anyway, dont let the blum blum blum affect your renovation.I have small kids and my present kitchen drawer got no blum system.So far, my kids dont have the problem when open the drawer. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 I'm a bit skeptical abt Blum tho.. Are they child-proof?I mean if kids or toddlers open and close drawers, will it has the ability not to shut if the little fingers are touching the tip? Just a thought tho.Other than tat they're cool stuff!actually blum is more for smooth sliding and soft closing aka anti-slamno matter how hard you push, it's slow down the last few cm and close slowlythus ensuring a soundless closurehas got nothing about child-proofif you go to the blum website and check out the dynamic space siteor the hettich site's movie clipyou'd realise the these are actually for adults and people who entertain at home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sam07 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Anyway, dont let the blum blum blum affect your renovation.I have small kids and my present kitchen drawer got no blum system.So far, my kids dont have the problem when open the drawer.hey, i second that, happy.my id said not necessary to have blum for every door/drawers, thats ultra waste of $$if u want blum, just have it on particular doors at particular portion of the cabinet which u think u will use often, rest, like the top cabinets etc, dun nid lah, this is wat i think.blum works when u open n close the cabinet, what if u hardly do so? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Thanks for the agreement.Anyway, if the id give all free, just that it lah.hey, i second that, happy.my id said not necessary to have blum for every door/drawers, thats ultra waste of $$if u want blum, just have it on particular doors at particular portion of the cabinet which u think u will use often, rest, like the top cabinets etc, dun nid lah, this is wat i think.blum works when u open n close the cabinet, what if u hardly do so? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simpleboi 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 I asked my contractor regarding the blum thingy...He not sure.. have to check etc.. Now is not sure if shld add or not if need to add money etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 21, 2007 guess for me the amt of money spent on each room should be relative to the time spent insidefor my mum and me, we love to cook so the kitchen must be functional and convenient for us, blum helps with that but if you seldom cook, or it's a trophy kitchenthen it's rather pointless to get something so expensive Share this post Link to post Share on other sites