xlan 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 yesterday 1st day of carpentry installations.... at nite when i went up take a look.. i was super hyper stress.. cos the STUPID IDIOT inside me made a BIG FOOLISH mistake right from the beginning.. i THOUGHT my kitchen cabinet all hinges n everything will b upgraded to Blum System.. i was WRONG! the upgrade was only applied to the drawer track.. sigh...................................................................................n my mom's wardrobe....... the side is NOT STRAIGHT at all! ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!already told Lance.. n he said he'd add a soft closing thing on the kitchen cabinet for those casement doors.. there shall not b any slamming.. dunno how true.. shall see... i'm very stressed n disappointed.. but wat to do? jus the STUPID ME.. who can i blame? i'm the only 1 to be blamed.. for my mom's wardrobe.. Lance said he'll go up n check it for me again today.. not sure how he can help me on tat CURVY edges.. i mean it.. it is really NOT STRAIGHT... my mbr wardrobe.. casement door open n hit the stupid HDB beam on the wall.. sigh.. told Lance n he said he'd add a transparent pad there.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Hi XLANPlse cool down.For the blum system, I think it is ok if never install.If got install, then better still lah.Come to think of it, normally when we close the cabinet, we use to close in full and not just release half way and let it close by itself. Yeah, ask your contractor to give you blum system, I think just replace the hedges only right? I think it is not a big problem lah. Hey relax!!Dont stress out.Cool and calm mind think better!Relax ok and take care of your health!yesterday 1st day of carpentry installations.... at nite when i went up take a look.. i was super hyper stress.. cos the STUPID IDIOT inside me made a BIG FOOLISH mistake right from the beginning.. i THOUGHT my kitchen cabinet all hinges n everything will b upgraded to Blum System.. i was WRONG! the upgrade was only applied to the drawer track.. sigh...................................................................................n my mom's wardrobe....... the side is NOT STRAIGHT at all! ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!already told Lance.. n he said he'd add a soft closing thing on the kitchen cabinet for those casement doors.. there shall not b any slamming.. dunno how true.. shall see... i'm very stressed n disappointed.. but wat to do? jus the STUPID ME.. who can i blame? i'm the only 1 to be blamed.. for my mom's wardrobe.. Lance said he'll go up n check it for me again today.. not sure how he can help me on tat CURVY edges.. i mean it.. it is really NOT STRAIGHT... my mbr wardrobe.. casement door open n hit the stupid HDB beam on the wall.. sigh.. told Lance n he said he'd add a transparent pad there.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 yes agree with HAPPY, all lance has to do is replace the hingesif not, just buy those sound-absorption pad from ikea also canthe drawer runners are more important don't worry too much, i'm sure lance will fix everything swee swee for you Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elaine1205 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 thanks alot.... cos i remembered i did ask my contractor before signing abt this. ehhe.. xlan, dun fret too much.. for me, i think i goign to keep on chasing mine liao. cos now going to be late Dec and havent start work!I thought that when collect the key, your id/contractor will go down and take measurement and will tell you the exact feet? Same over here, my contractor will charge ne accordingly but she need to go down physically to measure it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Better dont chase too much...afraid they might anyhow do.thanks alot.... cos i remembered i did ask my contractor before signing abt this. ehhe.. xlan, dun fret too much.. for me, i think i goign to keep on chasing mine liao. cos now going to be late Dec and havent start work! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cindy-Monkeybone 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 thanks alot.... cos i remembered i did ask my contractor before signing abt this. ehhe.. xlan, dun fret too much.. for me, i think i goign to keep on chasing mine liao. cos now going to be late Dec and havent start work!Hi Elanie,Better chase them to start ASAP. Otherwise, I forsee that your renovation will not be ready b4 Chinese New Year holiday. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Now is already Mid Dec, Jan, 07 Feb...means only 6 to 7 weeks...a bit tight to complete before CNY. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 yesterday 1st day of carpentry installations.... at nite when i went up take a look.. i was super hyper stress.. cos the STUPID IDIOT inside me made a BIG FOOLISH mistake right from the beginning.. i THOUGHT my kitchen cabinet all hinges n everything will b upgraded to Blum System.. i was WRONG! the upgrade was only applied to the drawer track.. sigh...................................................................................n my mom's wardrobe....... the side is NOT STRAIGHT at all! ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!already told Lance.. n he said he'd add a soft closing thing on the kitchen cabinet for those casement doors.. there shall not b any slamming.. dunno how true.. shall see... i'm very stressed n disappointed.. but wat to do? jus the STUPID ME.. who can i blame? i'm the only 1 to be blamed.. for my mom's wardrobe.. Lance said he'll go up n check it for me again today.. not sure how he can help me on tat CURVY edges.. i mean it.. it is really NOT STRAIGHT... my mbr wardrobe.. casement door open n hit the stupid HDB beam on the wall.. sigh.. told Lance n he said he'd add a transparent pad there.. Xlan,...mind to share your kitchen cabinet and wardrobe's picture? so that we can comment or spot something ..Don't get stressed out... take good care of your health and save more energy, so can scold your renovator much longer... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 hi all.. thanks! hv communicated with lance.. he said all tt i've mentioned to him were easy to rectify n actually were not any problem cos they were jus started it n wat i saw were not complete yet.. he asked me to not visit the house actually.. sigh.. but he understood a bit hard for me not to visit n see the progress.. so asked me to rest assure n trust in him.. ok la ok la.. i admit i was a bit paranoid.. jus can't help la.. me poor gal can't afford to do it again in the next 5 yrs at least.. so hv to make sure everything swee swee n lasting.. n pics taken tat day.. i didn't take closeup thou..shoe cabinet at foyer n bomb shelter door at the passageway..kitchen cabinet..living room feature wall for tv..mbr wardrobe & feature wall & suspended console..mom's wardrobe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kriegs 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi Xlan, dun worry, everything will turn up fine did i see the railings for the kitchen sliding door, already done up? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alpha2001 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 hi all.. thanks! hv communicated with lance.. he said all tt i've mentioned to him were easy to rectify n actually were not any problem cos they were jus started it n wat i saw were not complete yet.. he asked me to not visit the house actually.. sigh.. but he understood a bit hard for me not to visit n see the progress.. so asked me to rest assure n trust in him.. ok la ok la.. i admit i was a bit paranoid.. jus can't help la.. me poor gal can't afford to do it again in the next 5 yrs at least.. so hv to make sure everything swee swee n lasting..Hi, xlan.Glad to hear that all are ok. So he is changing the kitchen cabinet door to blum system for u? So good... So, you can relax lah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prodigic 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi xlan,Your tiles for living room and bedrooms all different? U used laminates?Nicelah, u went for the black and white concept? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) tis is for nemofc's request.. arrows pointing to the "handles".. that is all the silver "lining"Hi Xlan, dun worry, everything will turn up fine did i see the railings for the kitchen sliding door, already done up?erm.. sliding door track not up yet.. wat u saw in pic shld b the false beam only..Hi, xlan.Glad to hear that all are ok. So he is changing the kitchen cabinet door to blum system for u? So good... So, you can relax lah...no la.. where got so gd to give me blum hinges on all casement doors.. no so lucky yet.. but he said will add a soft closing pad or wat.. someting la.. to help avoid the slamming.. but it is not blum... watever la.. cos the idea of hving blum is to avoid slamming.. as long he can do it for me (FREE) then ok! Hi xlan,Your tiles for living room and bedrooms all different? U used laminates?Nicelah, u went for the black and white concept? yup! tiles in living/foyer/passageway are homo tiles.. while bedrooms using laminates.. cos tiles r grey.. n laminates don hv grey.. so looks different.. but to me.. white with grey is better than brown with grey.. so got the white laminates for bedrooms.. oh yup.. i'm all for shades of B/W.. so u'd see white, shades of grey or solid black Edited December 19, 2007 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 tis is for nemofc's request.. arrows pointing to the "handles".. that is all the silver "lining"erm.. sliding door track not up yet.. wat u saw in pic shld b the false beam only..no la.. where got so gd to give me blum hinges on all casement doors.. no so lucky yet.. but he said will add a soft closing pad or wat.. someting la.. to help avoid the slamming.. but it is not blum... watever la.. cos the idea of hving blum is to avoid slamming.. as long he can do it for me (FREE) then ok! yup! tiles in living/foyer/passageway are homo tiles.. while bedrooms using laminates.. cos tiles r grey.. n laminates don hv grey.. so looks different.. but to me.. white with grey is better than brown with grey.. so got the white laminates for bedrooms.. thanks so much for the pic.that's the "handles" i'm looking at too.i like your cabinet's colour. can have blum hinges on casement doors? i thought once your track is using blum, it shld be okay, won't slam totally. Pal, it's the track. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Btw, that anti-slam for casement door is pretty cheap, I heard around $2-$3 per piece, and mostly it is attached at the top (Last time some renovator told me spend around $20 bucks you can get a whole bunch from Ikea).But again, those are chargeable items for me...tis is for nemofc's request.. arrows pointing to the "handles".. that is all the silver "lining"Xlan,any way to take pictures of the silver "lining" thing? what is it made of? do you think it is durable?Mostly, I will not do handles too, probably will only do so for the basin area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites