squashy 1 Report post Posted November 24, 2007 (edited) Yesterday while we were installing our aircon condenser, our aircon contractor detected that the isolator (on/off switch outside at MBR) is spoilt, we quickly reported to the service centre @ 27B, but they told us that they don't have time to look at it so no choice my aircon contractor have to do a bypass in the isolator in order to test out my aircon. Today the service centre call us saying that they cannot fix the isolator for us because it wasn't in the original condition. They keep pushing the blame saying that we have modified the isolator without letting them look at it first. How can my contractor wait for them to check out before continuing their testing?We mentioned this to our ID (Lance from homeguide) and thankfully he willingly offer his help to get his electrician to look into this issue and hopefully this can be solved. So far the progress with ID is going smoothy except this isolator issue. Pls be extra careful when dealing with defects. Edited November 24, 2007 by squashy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 Yesterday while we were installing our aircon condenser, our aircon contractor detected that the isolator (on/off switch outside at MBR) is spoilt, we quickly reported to the service centre @ 27B, but they told us that they don't have time to look at it so no choice my aircon contractor have to do a bypass in the isolator in order to test out my aircon. Today the service centre call us saying that they cannot fix the isolator for us because it wasn't in the original condition. They keep pushing the blame saying that we have modified the isolator without letting them look at it first. How can my contractor wait for them to check out before continuing their testing?We mentioned this to our ID (Lance from homeguide) and thankfully he willingly offer his help to get his electrician to look into this issue and hopefully this can be solved. So far the progress with ID is going smoothy except this isolator issue. Pls be extra careful when dealing with defects.Hi SquashyOk, take note, but then if I get my key, how to check the isolator??Hey any blog of yours to show us the reno pic?Wow, seem like there are alots of thing to check! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chunky Monkey 2 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 With regard to the tiling in your foyer and tiling in your kitchen, you can pretty much insist that the flooring be levelled. I'm puzzled how the tilers got this effect in the first place? It might be a work error i.e. wrong estimation of kitchen flooring height. It depends on how far you want to pursue the matter. You can most certainly ask your main contractor to rectify it. Is that cement screeding in the foyer? You can get them to re-do. But it's definitely a lot of hassle. Not sure how your main contractor would take the news.As for the grout lines, you can also ask for them to be colour matched to your floor tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 (edited) hi squashy! thanks for the note.. i'll take note too!how's ur kitchen cabinet? Lance told me he fixed ur problem le.. i hope everything is fine now.. me.. very stress with my renov outcome.. hehe.. more pics coming up soon..hongss, i took pics of it.. i tink cos partly i feel v proud to hv the 1st home of our own.. n feel proud of the gd tiling works Lance's tiler did.. if anything not very gd.. will take it as a note to others for sharing loh.. for me cos hv vehicle.. gg down the unit during lunch is v convenient n fast.. but i tink even if i do not hv own vehicle, will still take my best speed to go down every evening after work.. bring along with a torch n camera.. flashes frm the camera can help me see the works.. at home can slowly look at it.. at the same time share it here loh.. Edited November 25, 2007 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 ya.. s i said.. proud of the tiling works.. cos fri nite did a small scale measurement of the gap in between tiles.. all r very consistantly 1mm gap only.. wow..by sunday afternoon.. the grout lines all filled up already.. may b done on sat .. anyway.. then realised the "gap" no long consistantly at 1mm le.. some thicker n some remain as thin as 1mm.. then i called Lance, to ask.. he said it is normal.. cos the "over-flowed" part will b washed off during the acid wash.. but not possible to "solve" tis 100%.. jus "most of it".. hopefully after acid wash it will not look so bad..the kitchen cabinet base hv some tiles on it liao.. haha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 With regard to the tiling in your foyer and tiling in your kitchen, you can pretty much insist that the flooring be levelled. I'm puzzled how the tilers got this effect in the first place? It might be a work error i.e. wrong estimation of kitchen flooring height. It depends on how far you want to pursue the matter. You can most certainly ask your main contractor to rectify it. Is that cement screeding in the foyer? You can get them to re-do. But it's definitely a lot of hassle. Not sure how your main contractor would take the news.As for the grout lines, you can also ask for them to be colour matched to your floor tiles.hi monkeybone! thanks for the tips! but hor.. both bf n my mama (ok incl myself).. believe tat the level should be because the tilings level hv to match the cement screeding in rooms.. but missed a little judgement frm the kitchen tiles level ... but we also dun want to relay the tiles la.. the tiles really not bad leh.. i mean the gaps n quite smooth.. so no point redo la.. jus called Lance to tell the tiler uncle to tink of ways to rectify it loh.. either make a small slope or make it rounder n lesser opportunity to trip over.. my concern is safety la.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted November 25, 2007 hehe, we have exactly same reno pace so far. so excited to see ur carpentry up tooif i didnt go to my unit to see, i see ur blog can already cos i can estimate which stage i am at now btw i also go to see my hse almost everyday, lets continue to post more photos up =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 26, 2007 (edited) Is the gate all the same?Only different is you colour it black. Right?er.. all the gate is the same when nothing done on it by contractor.. so if u observe carefully the lowest row of circles r not circles for mine anymore.. jus compare with the next door unit and u'll notice it.. but at 1 glance w/o me telling it has been trimmed off.. is not tat noticable.. the black color is the part i cannot get over.. have already told Lance to patch up the color for me.. i prefer my gate in rustic look.. Btw, behind the gate, is it wood kerb or solid kerb?What is that for?behind the gate.. no kerb ah.. will b the wooden door liao loh.. but now they took my door off.. tink cos for the convenience of the tiler uncle to carry out his works.. The grount line will be white..hm...what I am afraid is it might easily get dirt and will be easily see. Why not have a little colour which match your tiles? Just my thought lah.Lance told me white grout line is "比较吃" (more secure).. for colored grout not as 耐 as the white 1.. i called my dad (who also hv knowledge in this area) to verify.. my dad also told me to get white.. .. so .. jus take their advise la.. Edited November 26, 2007 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jazznpop 0 Report post Posted November 26, 2007 Hi xlan,understand that you have the isolator problem. May i noe how to check the isolator?? Coz after we get the key we suppose to check the defects mah. Normally we will juz check those we can see one. but isolator how to check? *scratch head*Do we have to use special device to check? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
squashy 1 Report post Posted November 26, 2007 Hi xlan,understand that you have the isolator problem. May i noe how to check the isolator?? Coz after we get the key we suppose to check the defects mah. Normally we will juz check those we can see one. but isolator how to check? *scratch head*Do we have to use special device to check?Hi Jazznpop,I am the one having isolator problem not xlan. I am just borrowing her thread as we are both having the same ID . Sorry about that xlan. Frankly speaking I only found out when my aircon contractor came for installation, but I happen to see the aircon contractor opening up the isolator and test using a testpen. So I wouldn't advice any not electrical trained personnel to check it. I would recommend you ask your contractor/ID to check it for you instead.hi squashy! thanks for the note.. i'll take note too!how's ur kitchen cabinet? Lance told me he fixed ur problem le.. i hope everything is fine now.. me.. very stress with my renov outcome.. hehe.. more pics coming up soon..Ya, lance help us to think of a way to flush the cabinet, he is very creative and innovative. So now I am waiting for the drawing to be out. Hopefully it turn out fine as per what we visualize. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prodigic 0 Report post Posted November 26, 2007 Hmmm... I still dunno what colour to choose for the living..U all got colour concept? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 27, 2007 haha.. squashy.. no sorry! i feel even more sorry to u.. for u knew wat i did.. haha.. paiseh.. n for tat silly mistake.. i'm so grateful to lance tat he's willing to help me clean up!n ya ya.. usually is to use a testpen (is like a screw driver but with a light at the top of the handle, am i right squashy?) .. tat is a very useful tool my dad always use.. but agreed with squashy.. better don't test the isolator on ur own.. get the pros to do it for u.. anyway.. u hv already paid for their service, right.. ya ya.. agreed lance is very helpful n full of ideas.. prodigic, wat do u mean by color concept? since u hv already engaged a ID.. y not let ID to propose? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted November 27, 2007 haha.. squashy.. no sorry! i feel even more sorry to u.. for u knew wat i did.. haha.. paiseh.. n for tat silly mistake.. i'm so grateful to lance tat he's willing to help me clean up!n ya ya.. usually is to use a testpen (is like a screw driver but with a light at the top of the handle, am i right squashy?) .. tat is a very useful tool my dad always use.. but agreed with squashy.. better don't test the isolator on ur own.. get the pros to do it for u.. anyway.. u hv already paid for their service, right.. ya ya.. agreed lance is very helpful n full of ideas.. prodigic, wat do u mean by color concept? since u hv already engaged a ID.. y not let ID to propose?I think it is better to let qualify electrician/technician to test it rather than us...dont play with the electrical unless you are very confident with it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted November 27, 2007 (edited) yes agreed.. my dad used it cos he's pro in all these electrical/building stuffs.. so is a diff case.. 电视机前面的小朋友, 千万不要学哦, 叔叔是有练过的! yest lunch time.. went back to take a look at the things.. n now pic time.. hehehe... but hor.. cos of the heavy rain n super strong wind i cannot hold my hand steady.. the pics r a bit out of focus.. i guess wires for the lighting points.. aircon men at work in our mbr.. hole for the aircon pippings... gg through the mbr toilet.. and gg to my parent's room then to the entertainment room Edited November 27, 2007 by xlan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted November 27, 2007 Hi XLANFor the first picture, you are going to put a light on top of your door?And exposed wire? So any box up for that area? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites