chew@PPLe 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2007 I was just wondering, if my flat kanna enbloc, then where would I shift to? Assuming if I don't want to shift to the new allocated area, can I use my privilege as an affected resident to buy back the new flats HDB is building on the same spot of my current flat? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hdbfan 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2007 I was just wondering, if my flat kanna enbloc, then where would I shift to? Assuming if I don't want to shift to the new allocated area, can I use my privilege as an affected resident to buy back the new flats HDB is building on the same spot of my current flat?Hi,From my observation, whenever HDB enblocs certain blks it will build new ones nearby and when residents shift out, that area is demolished and put to flat land for a few yrs before it develops that area again. Eg. the plot of land near redhill MRT station - it was vacant and sold to private developers Status of that land now is currently undergoing superfast construction of a condo!You either take the allocated new location or choose another estate of your choice with whatever benefits you are entitled to. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 22, 2007 (edited) When your flat is enbloc (SERS), its done jointly by SLA and HDB - SLA will take over your flat and pay you compensation, while HDB will give you the priorities and discounts.Thus after SERS, that piece of land, where your current flat is, does not belong to HDB anymore.It may be sold to private establishments for other developments, like what hdbfan said. Edited July 22, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2007 I was just wondering, if my flat kanna enbloc, then where would I shift to? Assuming if I don't want to shift to the new allocated area, can I use my privilege as an affected resident to buy back the new flats HDB is building on the same spot of my current flat?the estate you're staying is going to enbloc soon? you heard rumours liao huh or hdb had informed you all? if you were going to wait for the new estate to be built on the land itself then i think got to wait very long liao. hdb builds flats take very long time whereas condo is very fast b'cos to condo developer time is $$$ lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2007 (edited) Find new place to stay - either take up HDB new flat or go for resale. Lot's of option. Even can upgrade condo Edited July 23, 2007 by raincole Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2007 Find new place to stay - either take up HDB new flat or go for resale. Lot's of option. Even can upgrade condo yup, with the $$$ given and can upgrade to condo. haha. but i heard that the $$$ they pay you isn't a lot leh. is it true?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2007 (edited) But if you managed to sell V.High in open market (dun sell back to HDB- very low price) ... still possible to upgrade condo Edited July 24, 2007 by raincole Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 24, 2007 But if you managed to sell V.High in open market (dun sell back to HDB- very low price) ... still possible to upgrade condo it's better to sell away the flat before hdb announces to enbloc so that you can earn more $$$. usually, enbloc doesn't pay so much $$$. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2007 Unless new location is very good, people still will want to pay. But agreed that very very small chance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2007 When your flat is enbloc (SERS), its done jointly by SLA and HDB - SLA will take over your flat and pay you compensation, while HDB will give you the priorities and discounts.Thus after SERS, that piece of land, where your current flat is, does not belong to HDB anymore.It may be sold to private establishments for other developments, like what hdbfan said.hi,there is a $30K discount on the new flat offered to you under SERS, but if i'm not wrong, a $30K discount is actually a standard discount offered to all first-time applicants buying from HDB direct (or $40K if the flat is near parents)...so, actually, SERS has no additional discount, other than the standard discount...it's better to sell away the flat before hdb announces to enbloc so that you can earn more $$$. usually, enbloc doesn't pay so much $$$. this is quite true, that private buyers will offer u higher than HDB...but the premium that private buyers give u is due to the CERTAINTY of getting a new flat in the new estate and the PRIORITY of choosing one... i think these are the very precious benefits of SERS...if u sell ur flat, u'll have to queue up with the rest of the applicants buying direct from HDB... of cos, if u buying a resale flat, then there is no issue of queuing up...I was just wondering, if my flat kanna enbloc, then where would I shift to? Assuming if I don't want to shift to the new allocated area, can I use my privilege as an affected resident to buy back the new flats HDB is building on the same spot of my current flat?u will shift to the new estate designated by HDB... usually, it will take 3-5 years for HDB to build up the new estate, depending on the estate size...no, u cannot buy back the new flats HDB is building on the same spot of ur current flat.ur only privilege is the CERTAINTY of getting a new flat in the new estate and the PRIORITY of selecting the flat... if u sell away ur flat, u'll also be selling away ur privilege... u cannot separate the privilege from the flat... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2007 Unless new location is very good, people still will want to pay. But agreed that very very small chance.if hdb has announced enbloc at the estate and people already knew liao then there is no chance you can sell the flat away. usually, people don't want to buy liao after enbloc has announced. this is quite true, that private buyers will offer u higher than HDB...but the premium that private buyers give u is due to the CERTAINTY of getting a new flat in the new estate and the PRIORITY of choosing one... i think these are the very precious benefits of SERS...if u sell ur flat, u'll have to queue up with the rest of the applicants buying direct from HDB... of cos, if u buying a resale flat, then there is no issue of queuing up...the problem is the residents also don't know when hdb will announce enbloc leh. such news is very sudden one lor. sometimes hear rumours also don't know true a not lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 25, 2007 hi,there is a $30K discount on the new flat offered to you under SERS, but if i'm not wrong, a $30K discount is actually a standard discount offered to all first-time applicants buying from HDB direct (or $40K if the flat is near parents)...so, actually, SERS has no additional discount, other than the standard discount...But if you are a 2nd/3rd/etc timer, then don't have $30k liao. So this $30k will come as a bonus lor...if u sell ur flat, u'll have to queue up with the rest of the applicants buying direct from HDB... of cos, if u buying a resale flat, then there is no issue of queuing up...u will shift to the new estate designated by HDB... usually, it will take 3-5 years for HDB to build up the new estate, depending on the estate size...Haha, you got me there! This is the exact reason why I bought a SERS flat 4 years ago and patiently waited until now...if hdb has announced enbloc at the estate and people already knew liao then there is no chance you can sell the flat away. usually, people don't want to buy liao after enbloc has announced. Quite on contrary, in fact. Four years ago when my mum heard from the market's "san-ku-liu-por" that a cluster of my estate had been announced for SERS, the whole estate was suddenly flocked with buyers and agents.This is in directly relation to the fact that the replacement flats would be built just besides the MRT (1-min sheltered walk), thus sure alot of people will ballot for it. So if you buy this SERS flat, you are confirmed going to get one unit, somemore the replacement flats are priced very cheaply for SERS owners and there is another $30k discount, all depends on eligibility.And because of all these confirmed benefits, the demand shot up and the sellers also mark up their prices. At that time 3-rm flat resale market price was only $110k to $130k, but they are asking for up to $200k!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted July 26, 2007 (edited) This is in directly relation to the fact that the replacement flats would be built just besides the MRT (1-min sheltered walk), thus sure alot of people will ballot for it. So if you buy this SERS flat, you are confirmed going to get one unit, somemore the replacement flats are priced very cheaply for SERS owners and there is another $30k discount, all depends on eligibility.And because of all these confirmed benefits, the demand shot up and the sellers also mark up their prices. At that time 3-rm flat resale market price was only $110k to $130k, but they are asking for up to $200k!!i totally agree with zirhk3355! SERS is like a powerful magnet to property agents and private buyers!once SERS is announced, there is something like a one-month window period for affected flat owners to sell their flats... during this month, the letter boxes will be flooded with pamphlets from agents and buyers... some even go door to door to ask if anyone wants to sell... Edited July 26, 2007 by redbottle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 26, 2007 i totally agree with zirhk3355! SERS is like a powerful magnet to property agents and private buyers!!!once SERS is announced, there is something like a one-month window period for affected flat owners to sell their flats... during this month, the letter boxes will be flooded with pamphlets from agents and buyers... some even go door to door to ask if anyone wants to sell... hahaha!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marksng12 1 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 (edited) hi,there is a $30K discount on the new flat offered to you under SERS, but if i'm not wrong, a $30K discount is actually a standard discount offered to all first-time applicants buying from HDB direct (or $40K if the flat is near parents)...I heard there is a renovation grant of 30k too. is this talking about the 30K discount or is it a separate grant Edited October 10, 2007 by marksng12 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites