minfaith 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2007 That is so true minfaith!.. but lucky for us we have our designer to do the running for us BUT! we did our running as well, especially for the furnitures and deco stuffs.. hee hee...As for stuffs like bathrooms accessories, kitchen sinks/hob/hood, lightings & etc... our designer will do the 1st round of selection then follow by us going down to view his selection. If we dont really like what he has choosen, then either we go ard scouting for that piece and get him to buy it or get him to find somewhat similiar.. thats y we're thankful to him.. well, my reno should be completed in about 2-3 weeks time.. real excited abt it.. jus that the thought of washing the entire hse really >> So whats your theme in mind minfaith?Smoochies,you are lucky to have your ID getting stuffs for you..for my case..we went on getting things on our own..from lightings to bathrooms accessories, taps, sinks, cooker, hood, etc..but quite a good experience though..but need to read up so so so much on each & every items on reno forums, went around s'pore to scout & check on stuffs..but when the reno starts...it was like sooooo fast..no time to think..they are progressing so fast...haha... ..in actual fact..progressing fast is good..but so worried that they make mistakes & cannot be reversed back..scary..haha..my reno should be done ard 2-3 weeks also..hah..i still owe gingar pics...ya u r right leh!the thot of cleaning up.. ...hahaha..it's like so dirty now..oh oh..where to start off from??actually i wanted a zen theme..but eventually changed to modern zen as original zen would be having all the wedges design furniture which i don't really like..so opt for modern zen lo...color theme still emphazise on zen colors. ..my ID kept recommending black & grey colours..latest trend?? how abt yours? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 we bought all the furniture, toilet stuff ourselves.. din really do much research.. just see, friends and parents used before, no complains, we like, ok buy. loli like black & grey too!easy to match.. the big base objects use these colors, then can use bright colored accessories to brighten up the place... bad news.. seems like my reno's not going to be completed in time for my rom this thurs. carpentry cannot finish in time. sighz.and even badder news.. I HAVEN GOTTEN MY ROM DRESS!! where did you girls get yours? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smoochies_woochies 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 Smoochies,you are lucky to have your ID getting stuffs for you..for my case..we went on getting things on our own..from lightings to bathrooms accessories, taps, sinks, cooker, hood, etc..but quite a good experience though..but need to read up so so so much on each & every items on reno forums, went around s'pore to scout & check on stuffs..but when the reno starts...it was like sooooo fast..no time to think..they are progressing so fast...haha... ..in actual fact..progressing fast is good..but so worried that they make mistakes & cannot be reversed back..scary..haha..my reno should be done ard 2-3 weeks also..hah..i still owe gingar pics...ya u r right leh!the thot of cleaning up.. ...hahaha..it's like so dirty now..oh oh..where to start off from??actually i wanted a zen theme..but eventually changed to modern zen as original zen would be having all the wedges design furniture which i don't really like..so opt for modern zen lo...color theme still emphazise on zen colors. ..my ID kept recommending black & grey colours..latest trend?? how abt yours?wow! so I reckon you'll be moving in very soon then!.. well, for us, mostly likely ard Oct/Nov ba... u ner?ya la ...imagine all the cleaning and washing up that we're gonna do *imagination bubbles*... hahaha... hubby said he's gonna gather all his buddies to help but told him to save it cos its going to be more of fun than work for them.. most likely I have to clear up after them.. For us, we have opted for a modern minimalist theme.. with off white/off black/grey as the main color.. and glass/chrome for our furnitures/accessories... so its gonna be a cold and cool ambience.. well, I guess the only odd color out would be my wallpaper that stretches across our feature wall - its in light baby pink.. that sort of brings out the color of our black/gray wallpapered tv feature wall Btw, whats your progress minfaith?we bought all the furniture, toilet stuff ourselves.. din really do much research.. just see, friends and parents used before, no complains, we like, ok buy. loli like black & grey too!easy to match.. the big base objects use these colors, then can use bright colored accessories to brighten up the place... bad news.. seems like my reno's not going to be completed in time for my rom this thurs. carpentry cannot finish in time. sighz.and even badder news.. I HAVEN GOTTEN MY ROM DRESS!! where did you girls get yours?yaya.. we love black & grey too thats y we have opted for such color theme.. hee hee... You're gonna ROM soon darlin?! Thats so nice to hear! ... Ive just ROM in August 07.. .. but its this Thurs or next Thurs cos today already Fri le wor... You're gonna solem in your new house ma else why must carpentry be done in time for your ROM ner?My ROM dress is MTM de.. from Zann & Denn... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2007 PHILIPS CARNIVAL SALE TODAY AND TOMORROW YOU KNOW!!kekeke.. bought a cordless DECT phone, LCD tv and 160gb HDD recorder today.. broke liao. the HDD recorder only $349!! and the cordless phones were snapped up like hotcakes! it was crazy!ROM 13th Sept.. finally managed to get a dress yesterday from Allure. Another load of my mind. *phew*no la.. FH wanna move in on ROM day, he said ROM already then still stay in own house separately like so weird. but since carpentry cannot finish in time, then we also cannot do anything. haha.. sleep on floor lor!gotta go paint house tml.. hopefully can finish the ceiling. ohoh, Poh Joo has 2 branches izzit? Which one has more stuff? Just remembered we haven gotten our towel bars, toilet roll holders etc!*fret* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fire-ice 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2007 where is the sales located? !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2007 (edited) 620A, Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, Singapore 319762Philips Factory. It's beside CHIJ.Park at the hdb car park across the road.. usually alot of cars!street directory Edited September 8, 2007 by gingar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
minfaith 0 Report post Posted September 10, 2007 (edited) PHILIPS CARNIVAL SALE TODAY AND TOMORROW YOU KNOW!!kekeke.. bought a cordless DECT phone, LCD tv and 160gb HDD recorder today.. broke liao. the HDD recorder only $349!! and the cordless phones were snapped up like hotcakes! it was crazy!ROM 13th Sept.. finally managed to get a dress yesterday from Allure. Another load of my mind. *phew*no la.. FH wanna move in on ROM day, he said ROM already then still stay in own house separately like so weird. but since carpentry cannot finish in time, then we also cannot do anything. haha.. sleep on floor lor!gotta go paint house tml.. hopefully can finish the ceiling. ohoh, Poh Joo has 2 branches izzit? Which one has more stuff? Just remembered we haven gotten our towel bars, toilet roll holders etc!*fret*Sorry gingar for the late reply..away from renotalk a while coz abit busy...congrats!!ROM coming soon.. ...ya poh joo having two outlets..but i wentt to the one opps lavender market...yups should stay together after ROM..some mums think that should stay together only after customary..so gingar..did u get the philips 42" tv?heard abt the good deal... dun worry..things will be fine..think will still be ok without carpentry yet..carpentry should take abt only 3-4days?dun rush them..quality workmanship is the most impt..right gingar?smoochies..i think minimalist will be nice..the whole will look spacious & neat..i actually wanted minimalist zen...then after hacking the study room walls...changed out mind..coz minimalist will make the place look ultra big...hahaha...coz we already got quite big living room.. you & gingar more modernised..opting for black & grey..futuristic colours..i read through quite alot of decor magazines..saw this house very nice..also black & grey..n also minimalist theme..study room having glass see through concept. think i abit back dated..still prefer walnut brown..so my house colours in the end opted for brown, black & white..any feedbacks on natural cool?...jus got my daikin aircons from them...jus read thro' the forums...like some have poor comments on them..oh oh...hope things turn out fine... Edited September 10, 2007 by minfaith Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 11, 2007 yups should stay together after ROM..some mums think that should stay together only after customary..YA! so true.. so gingar..did u get the philips 42" tv?heard abt the good deal... yup.. i got the 42" tv.. kekeke.. i bet half of singapore has the same TV.. HAHAHA! super good deal.. $1799 only! any feedbacks on natural cool?...jus got my daikin aircons from them...jus read thro' the forums...like some have poor comments on them..oh oh...hope things turn out fine...AH! now you can say "mine's a daikin!" lol *fingers crossed* painted the ceiling on sunday.. today.. starting to ache already.. monday, i heard they fixed up the grilles, lights, fans.. floors also done, FH said they were fixing up the toilet stuff too.. so i think tml when i go down to see, prob all done, 'cept for the carpentry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
minfaith 0 Report post Posted September 11, 2007 (edited) YA! so true..haha...expected...most mums like that..coz they still think tt customary the most impt..i thot of not going thro the customary..jus ROM will do...mum nagged & nagged..hahaha.. ..yup.. i got the 42" tv.. kekeke.. i bet half of singapore has the same TV.. HAHAHA! super good deal.. $1799 only!i almost got the 42" philips tv..but cannot..storeroom already packed..and house not done yet..so drop the idea..else really duno where to keep the lcd tv.. painted the ceiling on sunday.. today.. starting to ache already.. monday, i heard they fixed up the grilles, lights, fans.. floors also done, FH said they were fixing up the toilet stuff too.. so i think tml when i go down to see, prob all done, 'cept for the carpentry. happy for u gingar..the ordeal goin to b over soon...soon will b home sweet home... .... btw..natural cool guys came to my place to carry out the trunking work today..very satisfied with their job..neat & skillful..they really think hard so that their trunkings wont cause much damage to the appearance of the house.. ...best of all..noone was there to supervise the job..we jus discussed with them the layout of the trunkings..then they chop chop start work.. ...went down again after work...neat job... left the installation of the fan coils..hopefully goes fine...*fingers crossed*..haha had a slight argument with ID today..basically everything is fine..up till now for whatever tt is done..still happy with it...even holes in the toilets, cant find back the tiles...he also helped to think of ways to camouflage..like adding matching colours to cement to cover the holes..but quite angry abt my wardrobe...coz think that the price i'm paying deserve better? perhaps laminated finishes..not jus pvc finishes..so highlighted to him..sign...in the end still cant change..he thinks should top up more $$..which we dun really agree to it...how much is your wardrobe cost?..think most of the ID/contractors like tt?ok la..as long as overall stiil fine...dun brood over it too much? Edited September 11, 2007 by minfaith Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
minfaith 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2007 gingar/smoochies,who take care o your haulages(removal of all sand/debris)?Can PM me the haulage contact?or your contractor's contact if they are in charge of everything? my ID does not cover haulage... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2007 oki dokie!my house is 80% done! left the cabinets, wardrobe, and painting. we moved most of our stuff in over the weekends.. furniture, tv, washing machine arrived last week.. so.. yea.. but everywhere is still so powdery and stuff.. my haulage is by my contractor wor.. see if i can ask him for the contact. one thing about our blocks.. the pple talking downstairs, VERY LOUD la! either that or the echos reverberate super duper loudly. and the kids are **** noisy around my area.. *grrr* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
minfaith 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 oki dokie!my house is 80% done! left the cabinets, wardrobe, and painting. we moved most of our stuff in over the weekends.. furniture, tv, washing machine arrived last week.. so.. yea.. but everywhere is still so powdery and stuff.. my haulage is by my contractor wor.. see if i can ask him for the contact. one thing about our blocks.. the pple talking downstairs, VERY LOUD la! either that or the echos reverberate super duper loudly. and the kids are **** noisy around my area.. *grrr*ROM soon gingar..congrats.. !! ..can PM me his contact if he has such lobang..thanks alot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smoochies_woochies 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 gingar/smoochies,who take care o your haulages(removal of all sand/debris)?Can PM me the haulage contact?or your contractor's contact if they are in charge of everything? my ID does not cover haulage... minfaith, our haulages are taken care my my ID's contractor.. its in our contract.... But kinda weird huh, your ID doesnt cover that aspect.... hmm...... oki dokie!my house is 80% done! left the cabinets, wardrobe, and painting. we moved most of our stuff in over the weekends.. furniture, tv, washing machine arrived last week.. so.. yea.. but everywhere is still so powdery and stuff.. my haulage is by my contractor wor.. see if i can ask him for the contact. one thing about our blocks.. the pple talking downstairs, VERY LOUD la! either that or the echos reverberate super duper loudly. and the kids are **** noisy around my area.. *grrr*ginger, yours 80% done le arh.... !! ... mine almost 100% done le.. curtains up today and that should be the last bit le.. !! .... so I guess whats left is to check the hse throughly during the handover .. see if there are any areas that requires further work.. and thats should be it le! now that leaves me and my hubby the task that we're dreading.... CLEANING OF THE HOUSE! !! though my ID did engage cleaners to clean up but still, we've gotta clean it once more ourselves.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smoochies_woochies 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2007 ginger/minfaith,Something to share.. I realised the time when our block is really windy is during the afternoons.. cos eveytime my hubby goes up during lunchtime to take a look, its always wind howling.. even my ID said his contractors do not dare to open the balcony door cos its simply too windy.. my ID himself do not open either, he wld just tahan the heat (cos windows all closed) when he's up there .... As for night, well... the wind isnt as strong but its cold ... so when you switch on the fan together with the soft wind, you will feel very icy.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2007 (edited) izzit? which side u facing?? the park or the carpark?my place, need to open the door and the balcony then can feel a slight breeze.. not like howling wind..how do you guys clean the place? like splash water and scrub? cause the floor is still powdery powdery.. after sweeping and moping.. i have painting and carpentry (few more cabinets and bed frame) to go up. final wash. then we're done! Edited September 21, 2007 by gingar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites