gingar 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 ok. our quotes are in.. 26k and 31kwaaaaaaaaaaaaaay over our initial budget of 20k.. lolcarpentry work is expensive! almost 10k! !! oh guys, have you seen this anywhere? malm bedhead and bed framewe saw it at ikea, but they dun have the headboard shelfing in King size. !! was wondering if anywhere else might sell it.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newbiee 0 Report post Posted August 2, 2007 ok. our quotes are in.. 26k and 31kwaaaaaaaaaaaaaay over our initial budget of 20k.. lolcarpentry work is expensive! almost 10k! oh guys, have you seen this anywhere? malm bedhead and bed framewe saw it at ikea, but they dun have the headboard shelfing in King size. was wondering if anywhere else might sell it..20k to do up a EA is quite tight, most resonable quote I got was from Innplace at ard 23k. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 2, 2007 maybe you want to share your quote here then we can give some suggestions as to what can be removed and what is necessary.me using a contractor and not doing much carpentry work so renovation alone will cost me around $16k Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 (edited) ya.. 20k is our initial budget.. but after seeing so many forummers spending 30-40k.. we already prepared .. 20k is confirm too little.. we also using contractor only. This the 31k quote. the other one.. we went directly to the carpenter, so we got separate quotes for wet works and carpentry. I think the thing that killed is the carpentry and the ceiling. Edited August 3, 2007 by gingar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 its usual to overshot wat u expected before...initially, i expected $25K, then after going around checking for quotations, and with the things i wanted to do, came up to $45K, then reduce some items to and came up to $40K... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 (edited) just offer my views on your quote1. living floor tiles $2/fs is a little too low right? almost impossible to find glossy homo 60 x 60 at $2/fs2. concrete support for sink and stove - maybe you want to consider just doing it for sink? me initially also wanted to do both, but the price too high so just went for 4.5ft of sink support at $680.3. windows grilles - room '2' and '3' refers to? bedrooms already covered? 4. you just want a plain door frame at the kitchen entrance? is it very similar to a bedroom door frame? coz I have the bedroom door frames done at $120 each.5. the carpentry works are :P my kitchen cabinets are 15ft, including a 900mm full height cabinet and cost me $1.5k INCLUSIVE of laminated doors, chest of drawers. the full-extension runners can be bargained to be given FOC.overall, find that this contractor's price is a little on the high side, esp the carpentry works.first time i've heard that doors and drawers are charged separately from the cabinets itself :Pthink you should take this exact list of items and get more quotes to compare Edited August 3, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 its usual to overshot wat u expected before...initially, i expected $25K, then after going around checking for quotations, and with the things i wanted to do, came up to $45K, then reduce some items to and came up to $40K... hahaha40k?! i faint. i hope our doesnt come up to 40k after the additionals.. still got ROM, BS and AD!!just offer my views on your quote1. living floor tiles $2/fs is a little too low right? almost impossible to find glossy homo 60 x 60 at $2/fsizzit? any idea what's the market rate for the glossy homo? we haven gone tile researching.. 4. you just want a plain door frame at the kitchen entrance? is it very similar to a bedroom door frame? coz I have the bedroom door frames done at $120 each.yea, its similar, only my kitchen door frame is not the standard size, so there probably isnt a ready-made frame to fit.. that's what i'm told anyway.. tsk .5. the carpentry works are :P my kitchen cabinets are 15ft, including a 900mm full height cabinet and cost me $1.5k INCLUSIVE of laminated doors, chest of drawers. the full-extension runners can be bargained to be given FOC.YA! when I saw the quote, I was like how come the doors and drawers separate quote! *faint* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 Harlow Gingar...Think ur plaster box on ceiling works refer to false ceiling rite?...wow, u doing false ceiling for ur whole hse? It's quite extensive.....mabbe U wan to reconsider..false ceiling is most of the time, a "want" rather than a "need" la.....U may oso wan to ask the contractors if they haf their own carpentry workshop/factory. Those with own carpentry workshop normally can give better quotes for carpentry works.... I compared abt 3 quotes for my own reno n sme contractors r cheaper in a few areas but mre expensive in other areas.....If possible, u might wan to look at his other hses oso to see his finishing. Eventually, we signed up with the contractor that gaf an average px quote but his finishing had mre quality than the other contractor who was cheaper...and so far, he has been v responsible....Just to share oni... Good luck with ur search n reno!! oh...ur quote dont seem to include haulage charges le....u might wan to confirm with ur contractor.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 izzit? any idea what's the market rate for the glossy homo? we haven gone tile researching.. yea, its similar, only my kitchen door frame is not the standard size, so there probably isnt a ready-made frame to fit.. that's what i'm told anyway.. tsk .YA! when I saw the quote, I was like how come the doors and drawers separate quote! *faint*so far i see the display price for normal china 600 x 600 glossy tiles are all above $3. mine was 800 x 800 glossy at $3.2 display pricenot standard size, all hdb also not standard size mahas long as it is not too much bigger where got so expensive one???my door frames also got the worker come down with planks and put up one by one the carpentry works are way TOO expensive. this contractor not honest unless you say you want extra chest of drawers i.e. instead of the usual four drawers free, you are looking at extra four or eight drawers coz drawers cost more to make.if kitchen cabinet without doors should cost around $60pfr nia my advice would be get a few more quotes with the same items and compare Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 (edited) 40k?! i faint. i hope our doesnt come up to 40k after the additionals.. still got ROM, BS and AD!!Coz mine is resale flat. and i am hacking everything away and redoing everything... including the windows and the toilets..my kitchen cabinet total was 48ft (top and bottom and L-Shape, and cabinets to hide the rubbish chute) and it cost me $4400 (including 1 set of drawers and dish rack, but later, i took away the dish rack). The cabinet top was solid top of 18ft and cost me $900.u can take a look at my quotation at my T-Blog for the breakdown. Edited August 3, 2007 by eR1c Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 Went to meet the TO on saturday, saw the sample tiles he had for us. grey, red, beige & blue.Chose the grey one.. but he said supply running low! have to contact contractor to contact supplier to straightaway order the tiles.. hope they have it !*fingers crossed*TO said estimate both toilets can be done in 2 weeks, but we are able to start hacking the study wall as long as our contractors dun go into the toilet.. met up with our own contractor too. Didnt go with the 31k quote, we chose to go with our friend's contractor friend, cause we felt we could communicate better with this guy and his quote was cheaper!finalised the quote details, took out some stuff, he will give us the actual contract soon. Selected the tiles for the living/mbr/bdrms/balcony/counter tops. Got 3 choices for the kitchen floor.. pictures laterz.. back to work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 Went to meet the TO on saturday, saw the sample tiles he had for us. grey, red, beige & blue.Chose the grey one.. but he said supply running low! have to contact contractor to contact supplier to straightaway order the tiles.. hope they have it !*fingers crossed*TO said estimate both toilets can be done in 2 weeks, but we are able to start hacking the study wall as long as our contractors dun go into the toilet.. met up with our own contractor too. Didnt go with the 31k quote, we chose to go with our friend's contractor friend, cause we felt we could communicate better with this guy and his quote was cheaper!finalised the quote details, took out some stuff, he will give us the actual contract soon. Selected the tiles for the living/mbr/bdrms/balcony/counter tops. Got 3 choices for the kitchen floor.. pictures laterz.. back to work. i find selecting tiles an exciting process..cos the tiles kinda determine the general look and feel of the hse...so where did u buy the tiles frm? !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 (edited) can't rem the name of the place.. its in defu lane i think.. one of those big warehouses.. contractor brought us there.. i just follow.. hahahanyway.. foyer tiles.. living/dining/mbr/bdrmsbalcony floorcounter tops for kitchen/bathrooms3 choices for kitchen tilesmy kitchen wall tiles are pinkishintending to build kitchen cabinets with black laminate, and white counter toplaminates.. something like this.. which kitchen floor tiles would you guys suggest? Edited August 6, 2007 by gingar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 6, 2007 the countertop i would advise you to reconsiderthis kind of tile gather dirt very easily and cleaning is not easyalso, having tiles for countertop means that there'll be grout lines, which is a nightmare to clean as well Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingar 0 Report post Posted August 10, 2007 (edited) thanks for the advice applefreak. but grout lines not really a problem, cos my old house has tiles counter tops, it was ok. it's good for heavy duty work like chopping corn! lolya, i admit the tiles chosen is kinda unconventional, but think it will be nice. if next time, we really find it hard to maintain.. then maybe can put a clear plastic sheet on it or something.. anyway.. HDB's hacking my toilet walls today!! *excited*the original grey tiles we chose, not enough for both my toilets.. had to go pick another set of tiles yesterday, but as it turns out, the 2nd set had nicer tiles! almost white with light grey horizontal lines. my hp camera din manage to show the grey lines though, so nvr post the pix. Edited August 10, 2007 by gingar Share this post Link to post Share on other sites