gingar

My Home My Home!

oo!! smoochies_woochies & newbiee!! NEIGHBOURS!! hello!!

ya.. i got the flat from the april WIS.. but din decide until almost the closing date. Was sup to collect last month, but decided to wait another month for the cpf to come in, so pay less cash! :D

went to see the house today.. OMG! 21 keys!! that's like a LOT of keys, i almost fainted when the HDB officer opened the key pouch! lol

is it weird that quite a number of the windows have missing screws?

Oh, are you guys changing the toilet bowls? the masking tape that was stuck to the toilet bowls all leave hideous marks behind!!

will upload pix of the new place in a while.. have to change computer.. brb

hmm it's certainly not normal to have missing screws

and the toilet bowl marks, if you are not changing the bowls can ask the TO to get it cleaned

remember to check carefully and submit a detailed list of defects to hdb :dunno:

oki..

kitchen

keys3.jpg

master toilet

keys6.jpg

common toilet

keys5.jpg

I hate the toilet bowls and sink color.. urgh.. and those pipes! oh those pipes.. see already headache.. need to hide.. hope its not to ex to box em up.

bedroom

keys7.jpg

living/study/dining room

keys4a.jpg

view of the house when standing right at the corner of the living room

starting from the left, the green thing is the balcony door, 1st bedroom door, 2nd bedroom door, at the end of the corridor is the master bedroom, then the common toilet, then the huge wall in the center of the pix, is the study room wall, the pinksh room is the kitchen, followed by the wooden main door, and the white wall on the right of the pix is the bomb shelter.

small pix.. cos everyone's new house looks the same! lol

went through roughly for defects, some cracks on the balcony floor (counted as defect), couple of missing screws, is the water tank of the toilet bowl supposed to be screwed to the wall? cos the common toilet one is, but the master toilet doesn have the screws at all. and the floating ball in the cistern? izzit supposed to be there?

the floating ball in the cistern, think it's something that regulates the water flow i.e. when the water will stop flowing into the cistern...

better to wash the floor esp the bathroom and kitchen

sometimes the tiles are not just dirty but badly stained...

hopefully hdb will not take a long time to rectify :dunno:

hmm. ok.. master toilet cistern missing the ball.. tsk... i guess have to go back on saturday to check the rest of the tiles.. *tired*

i dreamt that we were checking the house for defects last night! *fainted*

oh, the defects list right, must we go down to the town council to submit it? or can just fax it to them?

OMG Ginger!! Seeing your pixs is just like looking at my own place! :P Best thing is we have the exact floor layout cos some units has the kitchen on the left and some on the right... ours is on the right.. hehehe ...

ya, talking about the key pouch, I got a shock too .. I was like > :)

As for defects ma.. I didnt have much except for the balcony sliding door ledge came off and a few crack lines here and there on both bathrooms tiles but we did not submit the defects forms cos we find it too much of a hassle so instead we will get our designer to remedy that for us... keke

Btw Ginger, Im not sure if it happened to your unit but when my FH and myself went to take a look at our unit for the 1st time, I almost faintz when I look at my MBR bathroom cos the vanity sink and toilet bowl are of different color!! The bowl seems okie in dark beige BUT! the vanity sink is in .. I dunno how to describe the color... icky greyish green?! Goodness me! And my FH absolutely hates the bathroom tiles... :good:

So Ginger neighbour :good: , I believe you must be busy scouting for ID now ya.. Any ID in mind? Any specific theme in mind?

Edited by smoochies_woochies

haha!

last month we went up to the 7th floor, just nice got a house just collect keys, FH sez their toilet tiles and our toilet tiles are different color! I thought it should be standard same for the whole block!?

My toilet bowls and sinks are the same color (the greyish green.. ugh.) I think, so what did you do to your master toilet? Rip out everything?

We not looking for ID, we are ID-wannabes! lol Looking around for design ideas. Leaning towards the modern contemporary look..

so just scouting for contractors maybe..

Edited by gingar

Hi Gingar,

I did not change the toilet bowl as the condition is ok, give u some tips lah. HDB do not have any more tiles similar to your toilet tiles so when u check for defects this weekend do note down the number of pieces that chip off esp on the those tiles with design, thy will definately hack off and replace, if u wan to buy ur own tiles then u jus spent money on the tiles whereas the hacking and workman ship will be absord by town council.

U can view some of the pics here.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=5063&st=0

All in HDB replace both my toilet tiles, my kitchen glass door, main door, living room bi fold door and store room gasket in fact the kitchen glass door was highlighter by the HDB supervisor.

So do u find the MBR too small with odd corners :) we hack off one bedroom to enlarge the MBR so effectively we are sleeping in the otheroom with half the MBR converted into a walk in wardrobe and the other half is where we place our MBR TV.

Hi Ginger,

Congrats to your key collection!! We will be neighbours very soon ... and newbie too.. keke.. I reckon you have participate in the Bi-Monthly Sale in April 2007 ya? If so then how is it that you are only getting your keys now? I have collected mine end May 2007 :)

So now very busy with house reno and deco AND... my ROM... jialiat... *cannot breathe* ... :P

Hi Smoochies,

Welcome to the north do post pics of your reno.

hmm. ok.. master toilet cistern missing the ball.. tsk... i guess have to go back on saturday to check the rest of the tiles.. *tired*

i dreamt that we were checking the house for defects last night! *fainted*

oh, the defects list right, must we go down to the town council to submit it? or can just fax it to them?

You will still need to pass one key to the person verifying the defects and better for u to meet him and speak to him as well. If it's the same Mr Lee that attended to us then it will be good cos he is a responsible fellow with good follow up.

OMG Ginger!! Seeing your pixs is just like looking at my own place! :) Best thing is we have the exact floor layout cos some units has the kitchen on the left and some on the right... ours is on the right.. hehehe ...

ya, talking about the key pouch, I got a shock too .. I was like > :P

As for defects ma.. I didnt have much except for the balcony sliding door ledge came off and a few crack lines here and there on both bathrooms tiles but we did not submit the defects forms cos we find it too much of a hassle so instead we will get our designer to remedy that for us... keke

Btw Ginger, Im not sure if it happened to your unit but when my FH and myself went to take a look at our unit for the 1st time, I almost faintz when I look at my MBR bathroom cos the vanity sink and toilet bowl are of different color!! The bowl seems okie in dark beige BUT! the vanity sink is in .. I dunno how to describe the color... icky greyish green?! Goodness me! And my FH absolutely hates the bathroom tiles... :(

So Ginger neighbour :P , I believe you must be busy scouting for ID now ya.. Any ID in mind? Any specific theme in mind?

Wow u are a great customer, how can u not submit the defects that is like the mus do. Even the sink and toilet bowl color mismatch also can insist to change to something similar, we manage to secure a ID before we got the keys so the Defect list was done by our ID.

I did not change the toilet bowl as the condition is ok, give u some tips lah. HDB do not have any more tiles similar to your toilet tiles so when u check for defects this weekend do note down the number of pieces that chip off esp on the those tiles with design, thy will definately hack off and replace, if u wan to buy ur own tiles then u jus spent money on the tiles whereas the hacking and workman ship will be absord by town council.

All in HDB replace both my toilet tiles, my kitchen glass door, main door, living room bi fold door and store room gasket in fact the kitchen glass door was highlighter by the HDB supervisor.

hope I get a good HDB officer and hope my bathroom tiles have cracks or are chipped..

Hi Ginger..

Yup, we rip everything off! :notti: ....

We basically changed everything for both bathrooms except for the floor tiles ...

@smoochies_woochies - how much did you spend for your bathrooms? any pix to share?

It seems like there's not enough space for the King-sized bed and a wardrobe!

Don't want to hack down walls like smoochie.. any ideas?

Edited by gingar

It seems like there's not enough space for the King-sized bed and a wardrobe!

Don't want to hack down walls like smoochie.. any ideas?

I am the one that hack down the wall :))

If u intend to get a king size and a wardrobe then might not have enuff space for dressing table and if u intend to get a MBR TV then will have to mount it to the wall.

Take the measurement properly otherwise might not fit everything in.

I am the one that hack down the wall :unsure:)

If u intend to get a king size and a wardrobe then might not have enuff space for dressing table and if u intend to get a MBR TV then will have to mount it to the wall.

Take the measurement properly otherwise might not fit everything in.

OOPS! sorry, read until blur..

i have no use for a dressing table, not a makeup kinda girl, so maybe all the stuff can do in the toilet.

just went down yesterday to take final defect list and submit it. Did you know you can submit the defect list online? We went to the Town Council, and the receptionist told us we could actually submit it online, but since we were already there, she gave us a Q number anyway.

And we didn't manage to find any cracked or chipped tiles in the MBR toilet.. DAMNED! but there were lotsa uneven ones.. Will they retile the uneven tiles? There were a couple of small chipped off the toilet tiles, and a few scratches and small cracks in the common toilet, don't know it they will hack the toilet tiles. Hope they hack both toilets. *fingers crossed*

Had to buy a lock for the place, din know locks were so expensive! $10+ to $200+?? Like so expensive lock? Got special powers to repel burglars ar? lol

1 contractor came to take measurements for quotation today. Apparently my ceiling is quite low, so might have some problem with the original L-box height or something like that, they were speaking in hokkien, so I only understood a bit.

After submitting the list, we went back to our house with the contractor, then we discovered the common toilet was leaking water! (Cause the previous time we were at the house, we switched off the main water supply so din notice it was leaking.) But we'd already submitting the list, I just put a masking tape on the toilet to indicate that its leaking. Hope they are able to rectify it.

Anyway, we went to see some lights and some cupboard materials, planned to take

wardrobe.jpg for the kitchen top and bottom cabinets and white tiled counter top. and same material for both toilets cabinets.

wardrobe1.jpg for the MBR wardrobe. Now deciding whether to have the trimming/finishing for the cabinet door edges.

Went to see lights too, but the lights photos are with FH, will upload them once i get my hands on them.

Edited by gingar

that's a very daring choice of laminates :bow::seeya:

i'm still in many minds about what laminate to choose for my kitchen cabinets and BIW :notti:

be prepared for a lot more decisions e.g. bathroom accessories etc

didn't know there are so many different materials, design, functionality until i really open my eyes to look !!