bitchy_bride

~**the Woo's Love Nest**~

Our Nest

Buying an almost prefect house wasnt an easy task. We went thru the HDB webbie hoping to get a good one but what it was left was those low floors, ulu location, chinese ethic full (those "hot" area) or the houses too small. We give up after we got unsuccesssful for the balloting at the Redhill area.

We went to look for housing agent. The 1st agent was a lady. She seem new to the field but her service wasnt that bad, somehow she is not enthusiastic enough. Apparently she seem to give up on us after we went to view at least 10 units, to which we dont even like it. The 2nd one was a guy, around early 40's. He was introduced by my hub's colleague. He was a very pleasant man with good stance towards his service to client. Although we went for almost 10 units of viewing, he never give up on us. We do sometime feel abit guilty for been so chosy.

Anyway, this blog is not about my 2 agents, it about my nest.

After almost view for about 20 units in total, we finally came to this house. Located along Compassvale Road, our house is on the highest floor and it a point block (whatever it means, it sound good). It a 5 room flat, when we step in, the 1st thing I saw was that the living room is huge. With 3 rooms, a kitchen that comes with a bomb-shelter, 2 bathrooms and a huge living room, is more than enough for a family of 3 and 2 dogs. And so we made the deal.

It took us about 2 months after our ROM to get the nest. We were so thrilled when we went for our 2nd apponitment to get our keys. But of course our heart stop a sec when we see our CPF account dropped vastly.

And now we are the proud owner of Compassvale. :D

Me ah. Poor thing loh. No money, so buy low floor at 234. You leh? I am also renovating my house but just basic stuff. So I get a contractor to do it. My house so terok until I don't dare to post pics here.

Moving in next month. You? Which block are you at?

and welcome to compassvale :D

Applefreak, you stay in Compassvale too?

The search for Interior Designer

Although we got our house in March, but we didnt start looking for ID until late April. Due to our busy schedules, we hardly got time to look for one. Even when we have time, we usually forgot about it. Sometime, I do forget that I have my own house...haha, maybe I still cant accept the fact after a month later.

We went through some forum and people's recommendation, we decided to send a few of our floor plan for the ID to quote us. After a few comparsion, we finally settle for this company, A&D Interior. I like their service, not pushy and open to ideas. Best of all my ID, Louis was recommended by some forummer. He was never late for our appointment and he give alot of ideas for us to think about and he will try his best to fit our budget, which I love the end result.

Edited by bitchy_bride

It's ok. Now just prepare to spends tons of money to decorate your love nest!:D Welcome to SengKang!:)

Me stay @ Blk 255 .... on the highest flr.. Will only moved in after my wedding... which I think will be next yr... :)

Our Nest

Buying an almost prefect house wasnt an easy task. We went thru the HDB webbie hoping to get a good one but what it was left was those low floors, ulu location, chinese ethic full (those "hot" area) or the houses too small. We give up after we got unsuccesssful for the balloting at the Redhill area.

We went to look for housing agent. The 1st agent was a lady. She seem new to the field but her service wasnt that bad, somehow she is not enthusiastic enough. Apparently she seem to give up on us after we went to view at least 10 units, to which we dont even like it. The 2nd one was a guy, around early 40's. He was introduced by my hub's colleague. He was a very pleasant man with good stance towards his service to client. Although we went for almost 10 units of viewing, he never give up on us. We do sometime feel abit guilty for been so chosy.

Anyway, this blog is not about my 2 agents, it about my nest.

After almost view for about 20 units in total, we finally came to this house. Located along Compassvale Road, our house is on the highest floor and it a point block (whatever it means, it sound good). It a 5 room flat, when we step in, the 1st thing I saw was that the living room is huge. With 3 rooms, a kitchen that comes with a bomb-shelter, 2 bathrooms and a huge living room, is more than enough for a family of 3 and 2 dogs. And so we made the deal.

It took us about 2 months after our ROM to get the nest. We were so thrilled when we went for our 2nd apponitment to get our keys. But of course our heart stop a sec when we see our CPF account dropped vastly.

And now we are the proud owner of Compassvale. :(

welcome.. mi from compassvale too... yrs veri near compass point rite...

The Start

At last our renovation start. I am so excited! Is been a hard time choosing the materials and colors for the house. Here are some pictures taken after the renovation started one week ago.

Commonloo-1.jpg

Pic 1: Overlaying of tiles. We choose a cream color cause we want a cleaner look for the common toilet.

Masterroom-1.jpg

Pic 2: We hack away the partition. (I know the pic didnt show it clearly, will post an updated one again.

StudyRoom-1.jpg

Pic 3: We hack away the study table and the cabinets. We want to make use of the space there.

Kitchen-1-1.jpg

Pic 4: Overlaying of tiles. From a blue color to a dark greyish. The kitchen top wasnt done yet. (Will update more once it's done.

More photos from the pervious post. :)

Bedrom2-1.jpg

Pic 5: We hack away the TV Console for the 2nd bedroom and make a new one.

Livingroom2-1.jpg

Pic 6: We didnt do anything much to the living room, except for the door frame which I will post later. The living room is still in a mess with all the cements, tiles and all the ugly wiring hanging out.(Pls ignore me in the pic)

Livingroom-1.jpg

Pic 7: Another view of the living room. We hack away the existing display cabinet & the TV Console.

masterloo-1.jpg

Pic 8: Overlay of walls and flooring. I choose a darker color for our bathroom so that when we do "business" we will feel more relax.... hehe :(

Bathroom Fixtures

2 week ago, we went to Jalan Besar to source for our bathrooms and kitchen fixtures. Both taps for the bathrooms were bought @ PS, as we cant find those tap we really love (we want something different).

On Sat, we went down to our new house for the delivery and to see the renovation progress at the same time. Nothing much change except they did some wiring for the lighting, oh we havn't search for our lighting yet.

Here are some of those they send on sat cos they forgot to send one of the mirror cabinet to us which we totally forgotten about it. We still havent buy the toilet bowl yet... Haha... I will post more once these are install nicely.

DSC00032-1.jpg

Kitchen Tap

DSC00031-1.jpg

Common Bathroom Tap

DSC00029.jpg

Common Bathroom Sink

DSC00028.jpg

Master Bathroom Tap

DSC00027.jpg

Master Bathroom Sink

Our new purchase

Nothing much to update about the renovation except we saw them doing the piping when we went down yesterday. Coincidently, our ID, Louis came by when we were about to leave, we discussed about the updates and was told that our reno will be done by 1st week of July.

We head down to Balestier Road to search for the lights for the nest. We need 11 downlights and 6 small downlights... gosh! That didnt included the lights for all the rooms. The weather didnt help us much, as it was raining almost the whole day, making it difficult for us to travel. At the end of the whole search, what we got was a stiff neck and aching legs. As for the lights, we might ask the ID to bring us down to get it.

But of cos we managed to get our Queen-sized bed + mattress, single bed + mattress (for my MIL) and the sofa. All items from Home2be. Their services is good, too good in fact, and of course the price were reasonable. We spent a total of $5K+ for all the items we bought. I realised is not an easy task to choose something you really like and when we found the right one, there is the color or the materials to choose again. Sometime it does make me feel frustrated but I love the end result. Enjoyable.

sofa.jpg

This is the sofa we got. It's a sample, the real one will only be deliver with the rest after the renovation is all done up nice and clean. Notice the color chart in the picture, how not to get frustrated when comes to choosing the right color?

Ohh, we managed to get the toilet bowls yesterday... finally.

Latest Updates

It's the 3rd week of our renovation. The house is getting more and more messy. They remove the cornices, the partitions, the existing downlights and even the wardrobe doors. I really cant imagine how my house going to be like. Of course, there are some which they have installed, like the common toilet's sink + tap and the toilet doors (I dont really like the handle on the door, so out).

GR_M20.jpg

My mum bought us a fridge, Toshiba. I dont know much about the quality of all the brands of fridges. I read some of the recommendation from forum, but I didnt get what they have recommended. We bought our fridge from Audio House, according to the salesman, our fridge comes with a kind of light which can preserved the food more fresher. And also they have a 2 years warranty for Toshiba. Actually, I quite like the Samsung fridge, but he say that the fridge was made in Thailand and it only comes with a 1 year warranty. As you know older folks knows which is good or bad of fridge/electrical appliances to get and since they are paying for it, we just agreed to what they recommended. They even come with a lucky draw and if we won the 1st digit of the 1st price, we can get the fridge for 50%....haha...

Here are some of the pics taken yesterday.... not much though cause most of the things were still the same.

wardrobe.jpg

Pic 1: They remove the wardrobe doors for both rooms.

Parition.jpg

Pic 2: As promised, this is the master room where the existing partition is removed.

Toiletdoor.jpg

Pic 3: They have change the toilet door, see that handle, is so out of place (we are going to have it change).

KitchenVanityTop.jpg

Pic 4: The Kitchen top was removed and to be replace by a new color.

door_frame.jpg

Pic 5: The door frame was removed.

DSC00194.jpg

Pic 6: They have installed the common toilet sink + tap.

Edited by bitchy_bride