dragon-alex

Electricity Or Gas ?

must we have a cooker hob at home that run by gas? can we do without it? will it be more expensive to use the electrical cooking appliances than the conventional cooker hob (be it run on LPG or government gas)...thanks

Edited by dragon-alex

no you dun have to have a gas cooker hob at home, it's your choice

heck, you can even do with a cooker hob at home if you want

as electricity is more expensive than gas, i believe gas cooker hob will be cheaper esp if you are a heavy user like myself.

also, some electrical cooker e.g induction hob requires specific utensiles so that cost needs to be factored in as well :yamseng:

if you got more $$$ to burn, use the electrical stuff lor, it's healthier....

but the equipments are more expensive, so does the electrical bill......

if you got more $$$ to burn, use the electrical stuff lor, it's healthier....

but the equipments are more expensive, so does the electrical bill......

sorry ah but why electrical more healthy leh???

I burn charcoal for soup

wah... in this day and age, still got people doing that ah?

reminds me of the time when my grandma was still around and we will start a charcoal fire to get some nice stews or soup going. Especially when she has a whole bunch of mahjong kakis coming over for a game. She will usually cook up a storm so that all of them can play the whole day! And the fire can last a really long time!

Wow... I am amazed.

ok... sorry... off topic.

Back to topic.

Considering the cost of electricity vs gas, for the same task like boiling water, using electricity will definitely cost more than using gas. Especially with the rising cost of electricity climbing faster than gas, you really got to plan well for this.

If you are a light cook like most modern newly weds, then you can consider using electricity. Makes the kitchen look so new and sophisticated with the latest induction hobs that are on the market today.

If you are a heavy cook like myself, then using gas would be cheaper in the long run.

But do bear in mind... if you have kids in future, there will be lost of boiling and cooking to cater to your child's needs. So it may not be viable if you are married, have no kids and are planning for some in the near future.

got lah, me got two charcoal stove at home somemore

just in case one is not enough :)

we use it to boil rice dumpling, boil soup, boil dessert

somehow it just taste nicer and we can leave it overnight, no need to watch over the fire :(

wah... in this day and age, still got people doing that ah?

reminds me of the time when my grandma was still around and we will start a charcoal fire

Wow... I am amazed.

Actually, I start my own fire... like clicking 2 stones to create the fire.

No...just kiding. By the way, charcoal fire are a lot higher temperature than that normal stove.

It really bring out all the extras in your pot. Also, it is environmental friendly..

I am a green person

Go to any BBQ function....How many ppl actually kill the fire after filling their stomach.

The fire will just die away if you do not add more woods.

Heard of any safety rules that all ppl who BBQ must kill the fire ?

Emmm. maybe they should add this rule

Gas cook hob is definitely cheaper, and the flame is very impt for certain dishes, especially chinese food.

Electrical hobs are really for very light cooking only...

My mum still does that, but as to it is environmental friendier, I dun think so. Adding to air pollution.

greenhouse gas emissions come from electricity generation using fossil fuels? This means the traditional electricity we use at home and at work is impacting our environment.

Greenhouse gas emissions, caused by the burning of fossil fuels like coal and gas, are contributing to global warming which can lead to climate change.

The station that produces all this electricity & LPG gas produces even more harmful stuff than charcoal fumes

No need to watch over fire? What happen if the fire spread?

why will it spread??? just ensure that nothing flamable is around it can liao :(