Bubsbunny

Of Den And Hatches- Chat

I guess i should post here so i can chat abt my reno and to get advices and suggestion 8|

My other blog *point at siggy* has update till today. Today they done the first coat 8| I went to see how is my colour sense and I'm quite please with my room :deal: Although the liv room, MBR and mum's room are shades of white, I can't see the difference. They all look same. The washer also came and do the first wash, finally get to inspect the place thoroughly

My fave :sport-smiley-004:

CBR_done.jpg

Now the part that make me:furious: I take back the word I posted in my blog about good tiling. When the protection layers was removed, I checked the liv/din tiles and some really CMI. There are hollow (mainly at the corner of it) and uneven tiles. Although they did a good job in making sure the tiles are straight, some of them are so not levelled that i can rub the dead skin of my heal :yamseng: If its just a litttle bit i won't mind, now we have to go through the trouble of getting them relaying and checking again.

Regarding all the lobangs in the wire casing, ID told my bro will redo and send a better guy next time. Ends up just putting plaster and painting it. win already lor :wub:

The big lobang at the difficult corner also same treatment. But only 1 day, plaster cracks. will see wat they will do next.

plaster_lobang.jpg

This arrived at 7pm when i was about to leave

krono-fix.jpgLOCAL KRONO-FIX :wub: laminate

All advice and suggestion spam are welcome :deal:

Spam chop... kekeke

tell ur ID and make sure they rectify the problem..

so far, i haven't fully checked my tiling, coz works are being constantly done at my new house. hopefully no such problem.

I think I am one of the unfortuately experienced homeowner who has a major problem with tiling but I do hope to see lesser people like me. The lesson that I had learnt is when handling a contractor/ID, you have to know your stuffs so that you will know what is right and wrong...all contractors/IDs will promise the sky to get your signed contractor but things changed after that. And the most important thing that you must bare in mind is that you should not expect a showroom condition from them.

I am not sure if your wire casing is refering to trunking...I have huge gaps between trunking and walls/ceilings so I questioned my contractor why and he shamelessly trying to rip me off by asking me to top up $$$ so that his worker can use silicon to fill up the gap...but that is nonsense to me because he is very prepared that I have no one to turn to once the renovation starts. In the end, I touch up the gaps in my home with silicon all by myself.

I think I am one of the unfortuately experienced homeowner who has a major problem with tiling but I do hope to see lesser people like me. The lesson that I had learnt is when handling a contractor/ID, you have to know your stuffs so that you will know what is right and wrong...all contractors/IDs will promise the sky to get your signed contractor but things changed after that. And the most important thing that you must bare in mind is that you should not expect a showroom condition from them.

I am not sure if your wire casing is refering to trunking...I have huge gaps between trunking and walls/ceilings so I questioned my contractor why and he shamelessly trying to rip me off by asking me to top up $$$ so that his worker can use silicon to fill up the gap...but that is nonsense to me because he is very prepared that I have no one to turn to once the renovation starts. In the end, I touch up the gaps in my home with silicon all by myself.

Its the trunking. There are gaps in between pieces of the plastic. We wanted her to redo the cover part of the trunking but she ends up covering them we plaster and paint. If we didn't check we might think its perfect during hand over. Meh, maybe we shouldn't complain too much since it look nice now :jawdrop: just hope that the plaster don't crack after some time.

My bro told ID and she is sending down tiller tmr to rectify minor things, not too sure abt retilling.

Edited by Bubsbunny

Now we need to choose door handles. Which is more durable? round or long handle one? We are hesitant to use long one becos it kind of not as sturdy as the round one. :notti::good:

irasshaimasu eR1c, sumobear, Mace

Edit: chek tiller told bro the unevenness is due to quality of tiles and they will use chemical for the hollowness. They will only change 2 of it. :yamseng:

Edited by Bubsbunny

Now we need to choose door handles. Which is more durable? round or long handle one? We are hesitant to use long one becos it kind of not as sturdy as the round one. :notti::good:

Edit: chek tiller told bro the unevenness is due to quality of tiles and they will use chemical for the hollowness. They will only change 2 of it. :yamseng:

Design of door handles does not determine the durability, it is more of the aesthetic. Normally the given knobs by the contractors are standard ones...unit price about $5 - $8. I went to those door handle shop before and the price is NASA rocket high...bedroom door knob can cost about $100....

Qualitiy of tiles can always check back with the supplier beside the contractor...sometimes it is really poor workmanship but your contractor taichi the blame to supplier. It happens to me...so I check with my renovation material suppliers when I feel something is not right. When I have concrete evidences, I blast my contractor and he is speechless and have to rectify. IDs and Contractors will tackle you because of your ignorance...so homeowners should be more careful and outsmart them.

Now we need to choose door handles. Which is more durable? round or long handle one? We are hesitant to use long one becos it kind of not as sturdy as the round one. :(:)

I dunno jap, wat's that means? :)

I went to those hardware store and bought three long door handle, as i prefer those. each cost me $21.

It is individual preference lor.. Since it is inside the house, others can't see it lor. I like long door handle, coz u can use 1 finger to push it and open the door, round door handle, still has to use the hand to grip it and turn... hahaha

I dunno jap, wat's that means? :)

I went to those hardware store and bought three long door handle, as i prefer those. each cost me $21.

It is individual preference lor.. Since it is inside the house, others can't see it lor. I like long door handle, coz u can use 1 finger to push it and open the door, round door handle, still has to use the hand to grip it and turn... hahaha

Ohh.. make sense. Impt point for lazy pple (like me) :) . We will have a family discussion and I have asked to see the handles before deciding.

Now I have a problem. Does the floor need to be clean before installing laminates? I was there and saw the man just spread the dust evenly in the room :P . I thought they would at least vacuum it. If not I would have done it myself :P . I asked him like that so dusty can meh. He said no problem got the absorbance layer. Then i walked on the finished room (no skirting yet) and got click click sound. So can someone tell me does the floor need to be cleaned? :)

Talked to tiller and its the tile fault. They replaced 2 pieces which really cannot make it.

irasshaimasu = welcome , look out for spore version when u visit ranmen shop. :)

Edit: Checked installation instruction and confirmed need to clean away dust. Called ID to complained and that man dared to say did clean!! :) Yay, he did sweep, sweep the dust evenly on the floor. d@mn I so mad, lied until like that. I was there and questioned him somemore!! I should stop being the nice gal!

Edited by Bubsbunny

did u happened to take any photos of it? if yes, then complain to ur ID and had them re-do or compensate.

if not, then withhold ur payment lor...

i am not sure about how the laminate is installed, but to stick anything to any surfaces, clearing away the dust is a must lor, else the adhesive will not stick properly lor..

There is no adhesive involve. Its more for unevenness. Also so many sand-like particle at the bottom sure got "grik''grik' sound one. Like walking on something with sand underneath. She told me dust is ok. I told her i agreed, but then hor its big particles lor those very easy to see one. That's why i go touch the floor. or else why waste my energy to squat up and down oh.gif Too bad i dun haf foto. Just now went to check and they have almost finish skirting. But workmanship really CMI. I asked my bro for his opinion on the sound and he agreed sound like got sand. Anyway i asked ID "griik griilk" sound normal or not and ask her to see the skirting tmr too.

well, check with others who had laminate and see if it is normal to have the sound. if it is not normal, then tell ur ID that u are not going to except it lor. they have to change it. Be more firm on ur decision lor.

That's the problem with me. Here I sound angry and firm but when in actual situation, I turn into a nice gal. I believe in cordial end to conflicts. Tmr my bro will talk to ID. He also sama sama. Here very firm, real situation ....hiaz... Maybe I should go with him. :(

Have a little chat with the man doing the laminate. Told him about the particles/dust/dirt, he said he told his man to clean and insist his man did. I ask him what does him mean by 'clean'. I relayed the whole convo with his man who had said that the dust no need to clean, he already spread them out.

Well just as I predicted, me and bro become nice kitties. I even put in subtle hint that his workmanship is lousy. I asked my bro if he wants to change the skirting becos it is very obvious that its TOO LONG!:P The man just stand there quiet. And guess wat my bro did, he doubted me. Oh pls, its so obvious and he had said it last night. Maybe he just to burn-out or just worried that with their lousy workmanship will do more damage.

Maybe I should go down again and ask them to change it, at least change the skirting in my room

Edit: Now I'm pissed, I'm going down to ask for re-skirting :)

Edited by Bubsbunny

Contractors can never catch the subtle hint because they are oscar award winning act-blurs! You are not the 1st and last customer of them, so their tricks will always be the same...you have to be firm of what you want or else nothing will be done. My contractor suffered alot under my hand because he gave me alot of problems, everytime I have to wave my laser pointer like a light saber to show him his mistakes until he is so scared of me. Erm I do enjoy waving my laser pointer because I love to see his eyes roll to catch the red spot...evil me...haha