jj2

Any Comments, For My New Flat?

I'm new here and wanted some kind ppl to advise me whether is my new flat in good position and anything to rectify.

This is my floor plan:

http://jwyy.multiply.com/journal/item/1

However, need another advise from the experience bros & sisters here. Is it a must for the owner of the house ( my FH & me) open the door rather than any other elderly which will not be staying in the house to do the "open door ceremony?" Any other things we need to do (like: buying fruits for offering, salt & tea leaves for all the corners of the house) when we go & view the hse after we have receive the keys from HDB?

Please advise me and hv a present day ahead. Thank you.

Hi jj2 ... Welcome to renotalk!:) Congrats on your new place.. quite big.. :rolleyes:

For my open door ceremony, we brought tea leaves, salt, rice and sprinkled at all corners of the house starting for the left of the door (facing out)..

Thanks white_affair

so this procedure can be done by the owner of the house (me & my FH) or his grandparents? which is preferrable or the correct way?

Thanks white_affair

so this procedure can be done by the owner of the house (me & my FH) or his grandparents? which is preferrable or the correct way?

Im not sure about that.. In fact I wasn't there.. The whole process was done by my FH and his mum... My dong tu ritual also done by his mum cos we were unable to take leave..

Only the owners are supposed to open the door. those whose name is on the hdb agreement.

1) aus date for opening doors for the first time.

2) mix half salt half rice, if house is vacant for very long(more than 6mths) add in glutinous rice also.

throw the mixture on all corners of all the rooms,kitchens,toilets, from inside all the way to main door. then exit close the door and do not enter until 3 days later.

for dongtu

1) aus date

2) go to any incense shop and tell them you to do dongtu, they will teach you and tell you what to buy. 5 portions of incense/papers..5 portions of bla bla bla...etc.

Thks MaCe

Dongtu mean the date the renovation start is it?

My FH's grandma was very exceited to do all these things. Can I reject her request?

You oso "shop" at sungei road.... My FH like to go there once a while.... hahaha

Thks MaCe

Dongtu mean the date the renovation start is it?

My FH's grandma was very exceited to do all these things. Can I reject her request?

You oso "shop" at sungei road.... My FH like to go there once a while.... hahaha

if grandma wants to help doing all these, can also. I believe she knows when comes to OPENING the doors, her grandson should be the one holding the keys. when comes pai pai, her grandson should also be the one holding the joss sticks.

many jewels buried in sungei road( contractor's paradise ), I got most of my stuffs there, same thing you see elsewhere, I can get it at least $20-$50 cheaper there.

example - round ceiling lights(glass).

balestier - $90-$120

sungei road - $35

exactly the same manufacturer hor!:D

Oh I see, you can email the the shops name? my email address is jaswyy@yahoo.com.sg.

Tks

alamak...dunno the shop name...only knows where- near longkang, beside a shop selling wire mesh.

shop looks messy, most nice lamps are kept inside, you must ask the ah pek with specs(boss but looks like beggar) what you are looking for, then he will bring out the stuffs to show you.

the shops in sungei road mostly for contractors - so most of the good stuffs they dont display out. cos contractors usually knows what they want unlike consumers like us.

Oh.... I know whr is it liao..... in front will be those vendor that sell their 2nd hand goods on the street rite?

Hahahaha.... sori to ask you such a silly question.

Oh.... I know whr is it liao..... in front will be those vendor that sell their 2nd hand goods on the street rite?

Hahahaha.... sori to ask you such a silly question.

you got it! :D