eR1c 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 The 4 bookcases that i fixed up today. Have yet to fix up the doors for the 2 bookcase in the middle.As the length of the 4 bookcase overshot abit, i saw the study table abit so that bookcase "eat" abit into the study table. Took me quite some time to saw it as i dun have a big saw. Only a small saw.This is the halogen light i got from IKEA. Fixed them to the display shelves in the living room. have yet to tidy the cable on top.a lot of DIY you doing... not actually DIY. coz the furniture are not made by me.. i just fix them up only. can only said half DIY. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 the white/black contrast of the halogen light and ur black display shelve..very interesting... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tingshen 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 (edited) Everything coming along very nicely eR1c. The study table looks really neat & big You deserve a .. (make it a Carlsberg ). Enjoy with your new HT system why not stella artois?he deserved a much better quality beer menz! Edited July 31, 2007 by tingshen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2007 actually hor... i dun drink beer leh... kekekekeCoke can? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 wah you also another innovative person lehi wouldn't have thought of sawing the study table !! !!the halogen light hor, difficult to mount or not?really peifu peifu :furious: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shmj 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 Wah piangz! You did all these by yourself ah! Really must kow tow manz! !! !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 1, 2007 Today, finished installing all the lightings for the display cabinets in the living room. as well as putting up the glass doors for the cabinets. Have yet to do the alignment, coz quite late oredi. So tomorrow will have to do the alignment. Going to take quite some time to do, coz got total 6 door to align.with lights on.the transformer and the extension cord on top of the cabinets. Will be using some of my display stuffs to block it from view.The on/off for the lightings are not any of the above switches. instead the swtich is together with the rest of the lighting swtich for the living room. Ask my contractor to do a double socket at that place with a control switch elsewhere. Also, installed the glass door for the bookcase in study room. The rest of the doors are suppose to be like the first one with a black board behind. Wanted to put it in, but after putting the first cupboard in, found that the glass are dirty and need cleaning first. so decide no to put up the black cupboard first. Only the center 2 bookcase will have glass doors.wah you also another innovative person lehi wouldn't have thought of sawing the study table :Pthe halogen light hor, difficult to mount or not?really peifu peifu The halogen light is not that difficult to mount. only 2 screws per light. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rebtang 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 btw the coding for putting image should be[url=http://img341.imageshack.us/my.php?image=basinwesawty4.jpg][img=http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/8941/basinwesawty4.th.jpg][/url]dun use [img=image link], instead put [img]image link[/img].hope this help heee thks for the info. wah u sure did plenty of stuff man!! fixing all those ikea stuff alone...so many some more Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 heee thks for the info. wah u sure did plenty of stuff man!! fixing all those ikea stuff alone...so many some more Fixing IKEA furniture was still ok, coz they are built in a way that is actually quite easy to understand how to fix it up. The hard part is doing it alone and when the need to bring the bookcase upright and move it to place... since doing alone, have to do slowly lor. adjustment and alignment is also difficult. took me quite some time to finish it. especially i got so many bookcase with doors...cleaning from the drillings and sawing is also tiring... tomorrow still need to continue. got 3 more small bookcase with doors not yet fix up, and also 2 more side table. and still need to buy four CD rack and 1 bedside table.... tiring.......have start unpacking yet somemore.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 just going through your list of to-dos i already body ache liao lehreally wonder how on earth did you managed to do all these in such a short period of time :furious: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2007 just going through your list of to-dos i already body ache liao lehreally wonder how on earth did you managed to do all these in such a short period of time :furious:take MC lor... kekekei actually on MC till this Sunday from a minor surgery on my nose last thurs...so take the chance to do up my house also....of course, i have to be there from day to nite...cleaning of the glass doors for the bookcase gives me more backache.... now, i can fix up 1 bookcase within 20 minutes without referring to the manual.. hahaha coz oredi fixed up 8 of them liao... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 4, 2007 Some updates of my furnitures.Yesterday, finished adjustment of the bookcase for my study room.Also, fixed up the bookcase for the MBR. treating this bookcase as a door cabinet just outside the MBR toilet. Mainly for storing toiletries, extra bath and facial towels. Did some modification to it, as i wanted a full height wood door, but they only had full height wood with glass doors. So i used 4 small height wood doors.Today, partially fixed up the low height bookcase in the living room.Another look from the front.The lightings are being installed.The wiring at the back. Have yet to tidy it properlyMy current sofa wil be brought to my new house and will be placed just infront of the bookcases. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 5, 2007 only thing i can saycan see you did a lot of planning and research before buying all these stuffme will only go ikea, see-like-buy that's why everything all mis-matched and the wires behind the low bookcase, most prob i'll be thinking of a way to hide them instead 8|lazy me Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 5, 2007 Yup, i did alot of planning and walking at IKEA to find the things i wanted, including the length, width, height, color.. etc. Actually, wanted to custom made the display cabinets during reno, but overshot my budget, so took it out and get the furniture from IKEA instead. The back will be covered up with black card board and then sofa placed infront of it to further hide it. will be doing a switch for the lightings too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 5, 2007 sigh, wish i can plan half as well as younow i've got quite a bit of items where i really want but dun know where to put them Share this post Link to post Share on other sites