zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 There's a perk where you can choose to waive 1 bottle corkage per confirmed table. It's how you do your sums. The bottle at Swissotel is $37+++ and I think it's Australian Wine. With corkage at $20/bottle.. it depends how many bottles you want to get to make it worth ur whileYou mean the same wine or ? Supermarkets like NTUC, Cold Storage Im quite sure they carry wine and in fact NTUC has a wide selection also.$37++ = $43.29.Given the corkage at $20, you still have up to $23.29/bottle to buy your own wine and not spend more, and I am not even counting the waive corkage yet. Now for $23.29/bottle, that is a price where you can get really great wines and I am sure it beats the wine offered by the hotel. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 There's a perk where you can choose to waive 1 bottle corkage per confirmed table. It's how you do your sums. The bottle at Swissotel is $37+++ and I think it's Australian Wine. With corkage at $20/bottle.. it depends how many bottles you want to get to make it worth ur whileYou mean the same wine or ? Supermarkets like NTUC, Cold Storage Im quite sure they carry wine and in fact NTUC has a wide selection also.i forget whether there's a perk to waive 1 bottle corkage per confirmed table?? we can only find the wine at carrefour lor. other supermarket doesn't have. $37++ = $43.29.Given the corkage at $20, you still have up to $23.29/bottle to buy your own wine and not spend more, and I am not even counting the waive corkage yet. Now for $23.29/bottle, that is a price where you can get really great wines and I am sure it beats the wine offered by the hotel.if i'm not wrong, the hotel charges the wine at around $35 only per bottle. if we were to buy outside, then it'll be more than $35 liao b'cos of the corkage charge. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 i don't know how many type of wines swissotel has leh. our co-ordinator only recommended us this brand. but we only can find at carrefour and 1 of the wine cellars. other places cannot find liao. Check the grade and year - I am quite sure a hi-end place like swissotel won't offer 'supermarket' wines. Its a 'face' thing and very important for their reputation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Check the grade and year - I am quite sure a hi-end place like swissotel won't offer 'supermarket' wines. Its a 'face' thing and very important for their reputation.we didn't checked the grade and year leh. we just saw the brand. there're so many wines at carrefour until we blur liao. but frankly speaking, it's very difficult to find at outside. hb and i keep looking whenever we were at wines section but still can't find. we only saw at carrefour but didn't check the grade and year. our co-ordinator's talking was so confident at that time. she told us that you can go ahead and find the wine outside, she's very sure that we'll buy from the hotel. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 (edited) i forget whether there's a perk to waive 1 bottle corkage per confirmed table?? we can only find the wine at carrefour lor. other supermarket doesn't have. if i'm not wrong, the hotel charges the wine at around $35 only per bottle. if we were to buy outside, then it'll be more than $35 liao b'cos of the corkage charge. The perk is there for you to choose, based on the number of tables you have. The more tables you have. the more perks you can choose. My oversight, t's $37 nett/ bottle, no +++. Still it adds up to $17 a bottle of wine you can get outside and like zirhk mentioned, it's not counting the corkage waived for per confirmed table. It's also how particular you are with the wine Edited July 5, 2007 by jule Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 The perk is there for you to choose, based on the number of tables you have. The more tables you have. the more perks you can choose. My oversight, t's $37 nett/ bottle, no +++. Still it adds up to $17 a bottle of wine you can get outside and it's not counting the corkage waived for per confirmed table.oh, now you mentioned and i remember! ya, there's a perk to choose from. i think we chose the food tasting perk! swissotel doesn't included the food tasting, food tasting is under one of the perks. jule, so which hotel did you book? The perk is there for you to choose, based on the number of tables you have. The more tables you have. the more perks you can choose. My oversight, t's $37 nett/ bottle, no +++. Still it adds up to $17 a bottle of wine you can get outside and like zirhk mentioned, it's not counting the corkage waived for per confirmed table. It's also how particular you are with the wineya, the wine from the hotel is $37 nett. i remember something nett lah. but hor, we haven't tasted the hotel wine so don't know which is better?? during food tasting, there'll a complimentary a bottle of wine. but don't know it's the wine that's used during the wedding banquet a not leh. jule, you're also a swissotel soon-bride-to-be! i remember you! you posted at krisetong's blog! so, when is your AD? which co-ordinator? btw, i heard that sharon has resigned liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 soo many posts within a day you ah.. anyhow "my friend say"... i still thought u went there..i did go there for a wedding.. i dun like the food... western style of presentation and eating..i prefer.. "everyone dig in" type...We will settle the banquet first then decide on the Bs or what lah...eh.. amanda lee not cheap lor..wah seh.. your parents in law pay ah??for the last 7years since i start working.. never get subsidy from parents leh.. lol... Oriental ***** ... very high class leh... not cheap ...kakaka... my fren say means those who went mah... not wrong rite? hmm... if u wan independent studio, it's like that... actually i tink the whole amt will almost be the same if u sign up with those 1-stop BS and top up their photos...my PIL pay that one is meant for my dowrybut we did not accept. we returned the money back to them. so that when hubby's siblings need money for their education or wedding, the parents can just get the money from there i oso never get any subsidy from my parents. everything we paid on our own. coz since i didnt want my parents to fork out a single cent, it's only fair that his parents oso no need to do so. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 soo many posts within a day kakaka... my fren say means those who went mah... not wrong rite? hmm... if u wan independent studio, it's like that... actually i tink the whole amt will almost be the same if u sign up with those 1-stop BS and top up their photos...my PIL pay that one is meant for my dowrybut we did not accept. we returned the money back to them. so that when hubby's siblings need money for their education or wedding, the parents can just get the money from there i oso never get any subsidy from my parents. everything we paid on our own. coz since i didnt want my parents to fork out a single cent, it's only fair that his parents oso no need to do so. fifi, you and you hb are financially independent! btw, where you held your AD? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 (edited) Ya lor.. my ex-colleague manage to stop her own temptations on photos.. and selected what is given in the BS package. Hopefully, I can also do that... Thanks.. Have not gone for gown fitting yet... see what my BS can provide me... But oriental perks quite good ah.. no corkage charge for wines.. free flow beer.. manage to fight for a helper room.. don't forget wines also need $$.. got to play around with this.. get cheap wines.. Haiz.. headache lor.. actually my target is $6k of loss... i oso didnt top up much. we only exceed the given number by ard 3 or 4 photos. then my BS counter-proposed a deal which if we topped up 1K, we will get additional 12 photos (she later threw in another 1 photo free for us ) as well as the negatives, extra table top and another 3-in-1 photo (we chose the portrait one initially). which means we have 2 table tops, 1 portrait, 1 3-in-1 and negatives etc... just choose 1 photo each from 1 pose (they usually take a few) and then reselect if required... like that high chance will not overshoot my WG oso considered abit victorian... i love victorian styles! very elegant!oh... my hotel oso has free waivers for wine and free floor of beer. even have helper room and the bridal suite has jaccuzi the coordinator told us not to take their house wine coz it's too expensive.Phantom, what abt Meritus Mandarin? have u went there to take a look? the bigger ballroom looks nice... but the price is expensive (to us) that's why we didnt take...my fren took intercon and she suffered 10k of loss... fifi, you and you hb are financially independent! btw, where you held your AD? Mine is in M Hotel, Banquet Suite...keke... we decided the venue and then bring both our parents there to see.din choose a big one (luckily) coz we din wanna fork out too much money.luckily coz MIL had planned to invite the "whole village" but due to seats constraints, she can only invite those closer frens Edited July 6, 2007 by Fifi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 i oso didnt top up much. we only exceed the given number by ard 3 or 4 photos. then my BS counter-proposed a deal which if we topped up 1K, we will get additional 12 photos (she later threw in another 1 photo free for us ) as well as the negatives, extra table top and another 3-in-1 photo (we chose the portrait one initially). which means we have 2 table tops, 1 portrait, 1 3-in-1 and negatives etc... just choose 1 photo each from 1 pose (they usually take a few) and then reselect if required... like that high chance will not overshoot my WG oso considered abit victorian... i love victorian styles! very elegant!oh... my hotel oso has free waivers for wine and free floor of beer. even have helper room and the bridal suite has jaccuzi the coordinator told us not to take their house wine coz it's too expensive.Phantom, what abt Meritus Mandarin? have u went there to take a look? the bigger ballroom looks nice... but the price is expensive (to us) that's why we didnt take...my fren took intercon and she suffered 10k of loss...Mine is in M Hotel, Banquet Suite...keke... we decided the venue and then bring both our parents there to see.din choose a big one (luckily) coz we din wanna fork out too much money.luckily coz MIL had planned to invite the "whole village" but due to seats constraints, she can only invite those closer frens Meritus Mandarin has pillars blocking. my hb went to his friend's wedding before and said that there're pillars in the ballroom. M hotel is also not bad. you managed to earn a profit? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 Meritus Mandarin has pillars blocking. my hb went to his friend's wedding before and said that there're pillars in the ballroom. M hotel is also not bad. you managed to earn a profit? i thot the bigger ballroom doesnt has? went to view once... but the lobby is super china... dun really like it. the coordinator told us directly that we shd go hunt for 2 or 3 more before making decisions i went to orchard parade too... but the ceiling too low i din likeorchard hote is not too bad and not expensive. just that hubby's fren just had the wedding there and i din wanna repeat it earned a bit profit. hubby says we shd have taken the function room then will earn more but i like the banquet suite... luckily MIL oso like and she backed me up per table is ard $160 more for the banquet suite Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 The perk is there for you to choose, based on the number of tables you have. The more tables you have. the more perks you can choose. My oversight, t's $37 nett/ bottle, no +++. Still it adds up to $17 a bottle of wine you can get outside and like zirhk mentioned, it's not counting the corkage waived for per confirmed table. It's also how particular you are with the winehi jule, i just referred to the wedding packages and remember! we selected 3 perks. the 3 perks we selected are:Complimentary 1 x 20 litres barrel of Tiger BeerComplimentary food tasting with a bottle of wine for 10 persons Complimentary 3 bottles of wine for every 12 bottles of wine purchased at $37nett per bottle we didn't select "waiver of corkage for 1 bottle duty-paid wine brought in for every guaranteed tables, subsequent bottles at $20nett per opened bottle" (1 of the perks) b'cos we find it not worth leh. i thot the bigger ballroom doesnt has? went to view once... but the lobby is super china... dun really like it. the coordinator told us directly that we shd go hunt for 2 or 3 more before making decisions i went to orchard parade too... but the ceiling too low i din likeorchard hote is not too bad and not expensive. just that hubby's fren just had the wedding there and i din wanna repeat it earned a bit profit. hubby says we shd have taken the function room then will earn more but i like the banquet suite... luckily MIL oso like and she backed me up per table is ard $160 more for the banquet suite for you managed to earn a bit profit. frankly speaking, nowadays if hold AD at hotels (esp 5 stars) is very difficult to earn profit lor. if manage to breakeven is very "heng" liao lor. usually, those AD that can earn profit are those held in restaurants and probably 4 stars hotels. my hb's friend held AD at a restaurant and managed to earn a profit to hong kong honeymoon! yup, meritus mandarin's ballroom has pillars leh. my hb told me and i also heard people said so. orchard parade is quite old. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 hi jule, i just referred to the wedding packages and remember! we selected 3 perks. the 3 perks we selected are:Complimentary 1 x 20 litres barrel of Tiger BeerComplimentary food tasting with a bottle of wine for 10 persons Complimentary 3 bottles of wine for every 12 bottles of wine purchased at $37nett per bottle we didn't select "waiver of corkage for 1 bottle duty-paid wine brought in for every guaranteed tables, subsequent bottles at $20nett per opened bottle" (1 of the perks) b'cos we find it not worth leh. for you managed to earn a bit profit. frankly speaking, nowadays if hold AD at hotels (esp 5 stars) is very difficult to earn profit lor. if manage to breakeven is very "heng" liao lor. usually, those AD that can earn profit are those held in restaurants and probably 4 stars hotels. My coordinator allowed us to choose the perks when the date gets nearer. It's not bad that you get 3 perks given <30 tables.Whether it's worth it will depends on the number of tables you have. My friend had more tables and was able to have the corkage reduced.i thot the bigger ballroom doesnt has? went to view once... but the lobby is super china... dun really like it. the coordinator told us directly that we shd go hunt for 2 or 3 more before making decisions i went to orchard parade too... but the ceiling too low i din likeorchard hote is not too bad and not expensive. just that hubby's fren just had the wedding there and i din wanna repeat it earned a bit profit. hubby says we shd have taken the function room then will earn more but i like the banquet suite... luckily MIL oso like and she backed me up per table is ard $160 more for the banquet suiteI think the pillar is those at the back ? Manderin has good location and a very big ballroom. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 My coordinator allowed us to choose the perks when the date gets nearer. It's not bad that you get 3 perks given <30 tables.Whether it's worth it will depends on the number of tables you have. My friend had more tables and was able to have the corkage reduced.I think the pillar is those at the back ? Manderin has good location and a very big ballroom.who's your co-ordinator? why only allowed you to choose when closer to the date?? you can choose now mah. yup, meritus mandarin has a good location. but very chinese style as what fifi said. btw, which florist have you decided on? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2007 for you managed to earn a bit profit. frankly speaking, nowadays if hold AD at hotels (esp 5 stars) is very difficult to earn profit lor. if manage to breakeven is very "heng" liao lor. usually, those AD that can earn profit are those held in restaurants and probably 4 stars hotels. my hb's friend held AD at a restaurant and managed to earn a profit to hong kong honeymoon! yup, meritus mandarin's ballroom has pillars leh. my hb told me and i also heard people said so. orchard parade is quite old. agree on this... we chose 4 stars (i think M hotel is under 4 stars) not coz we wanna make a profit. is more of we calculated how much we wanna spend per table and on the whole banquet then we decide which hotel so in this case, 5 stars is out for us we actually had mentally prepared to make a loss of at most $5k... but luckily din loh din really expect a profit...another thing i like abt M hotel is the location. though not very near to the MRT but at least not too far. oso, there wont be a traffic jam coz it's not in the busy city... plus, the lobby gives a very serene feeling...wanted to take a look at Amara coz like the "zen" feeling but in the end gave up coz heard of some bad critics there ya... orchard parade is quite old... but the entire look of it looks quite unique Share this post Link to post Share on other sites