korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Can.. mac meal, upsize.. big enough?? huh? macdonald only? so cheap? ask for something more expensive! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 no way man.. i got too many cards.. only thinking which card better to sign when the time comes.. lol..i also want trip for 2 to korea... lol...that will take care of honeymoon.. kekeke... **** cheapskate hor? no choice.. tough times.. loldont care lah.. as long as it saves money and goal is met.. any ways and means will do.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 (edited) Hmm.. then i should reduce the wines further... my hotel wavied corkage charge for all wines.. so good for us lor.. I agree that hotel wines are marked up.. super bo hua.. somemore limited selections...Huh, waived?? That's good leh...really can save alot...which hotel ah?? Anyway, you can get the hotel staff to cooperate, pour the wine S-L-O-W-L-Y, open only 5 bottles at a time. Worse come to worse, no more wine liao, then just buy from the hotel lor, at most a few bottles only.This is better than being stuck with a few cartons of wine after the wedding and don't know what to do with it - even if you got consignment, those opened cartons cannot be returned, so you will be left with at least one carton. Edited July 5, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Huh, waived?? That's good leh...really can save alot...which hotel ah?? Oriental Hotel.. actually we are quite surprised also.. such wavier for 5 star hotel.. really hard to believe.. especially for this period.. This is the main perks that attracted us to sign up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Can.. mac meal, upsize.. big enough?? Oii, confirmed bo?? I buy you six mac meal upsize ah!!Wait...erm, your banquet how much first?? Haha...must ask first leh, wait only 10 tables then I lugi lehh...kekeke... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Erm, when I said 'outside' I meant supermarkets and private cellars leh. You went to another hotel to check is it?? of course, checked with supermarkets and private cellars lah. aiyo! it's more ex to buy from outside. swissotel will charge corkage for wines brought from outside. swissotel only waives corkage for all duty-paid hard liquor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tingshen 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 yup, i know about increase the credit limit. but the problem is my hb doesn't want to use credit cards. he wants to pay using cheque so up to him lor. as long as we can settle the full payment to swissotel 7 days before the wedding then ok liao lor. I just SMSed the catering sales manager in RH, he told me they are not collecting full payment upfront, unless the couple dun stay in the suite. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Oriental Hotel.. actually we are quite surprised also.. such wavier for 5 star hotel.. really hard to believe.. especially for this period.. This is the main perks that attracted us to sign up.You better check properly; korea's post reminded me. Is it waive corkage for wines or for liquor?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 oriental got wavie the corkage for wines meh?? how come in the link below stated "SGD 25.00 per bottle will be levied for wine and champagne brought in for consumption during the wedding celebration"?? http://www.mandarinoriental.com/hotel/509000282.aspYou better check properly; korea's post reminded me. Is it waive corkage for wines or for liquor??i think she saw wrongly liao lah. you click on the link i shown you above. if oriental has such perk then they'll spoil the hotel market. there's association who control such alcoholic drinks. I just SMSed the catering sales manager in RH, he told me they are not collecting full payment upfront, unless the couple dun stay in the suite.good for you! oriental excludes printing of inserts whereby swissotel includes the printing of inserts. wow, free! how come oriental doesn't have complimentary valet parking for bridal car? so where do you park your bridal car? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 (edited) of course, checked with supermarkets and private cellars lah. aiyo! it's more ex to buy from outside. swissotel will charge corkage for wines brought from outside. swissotel only waives corkage for all duty-paid hard liquor. Hehe, I very cruel, but paiseh to tell you that I tricked you into saying this and I am now sure you are looking at the wrong places.FYI, wines carried by big hotels are from distributors that SOLELY cater to hoteliers and hi-end establishments; they do not sell to supermarket. As for private cellars, they usually import their own wines and do not take from such distributors. In fact, some hotels are such big purchasers that they actually import wines themselves too. Just for your knowledge: Do you know that big names like Les Amis and SIA actually 'book' a whole plot of land to grow grapes and produce their own wines??Back to topic: Of course there are hotels that carry 'supermarket' wines, but these are 3-star and below hotels, like carlton and allson hotels. I am sure swissotel does not belong to this category.Now, because there are so many wines available and sometimes its difficult to tell the class unless you are a conoseiur. Thus, instead of buying hi-grade wines from brands that are well-known (like wolfblass and linden), hotels rather find wulu-wulu brands so that they can differentiate themselves from the masses.Indeed, hi-end establishments do not want to be seen carrying wines that are widely available, even though they can be very good wines. And therefore, even if you can find the same bottle of wine "somewhere out there", its probably different year and of a different grade. Edited July 5, 2007 by zirhk3355 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Hehe, I very cruel, but paiseh to tell you that I tricked you into saying this and I am now sure you are looking at the wrong places.FYI, wines carried by big hotels are from distributors that SOLELY cater to hoteliers and hi-end establishments; some hotels are such big purchasers that they actually import wines themselves. Of course there are hotels that carry 'supermarket' wines, but these are 3-star and below hotels, like carlton and allson hotels. I am sure swissotel does not belong to this category.Now, because there are so many wines available and sometimes its difficult to tell the class unless you are a conoseiur. Thus, instead of buying hi-grade wines from brands that are well-known (like wolfblass and linden), they rather find wulu-wulu brands so that they can differentiate themselves from the masses.Indeed, hi-end establishments do not want to be seen carrying wines that are widely available, even though they can be very good wines. And therefore, even if you can find the same bottle of wine "somewhere out there", its probably different year and of a different grade.aiyo, nothing to be tricked lah. we told our co-ordinator to show us the wine bottle and we actually can find them at supermarket and wine cellars. it's just an ordinary wine lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 aiyo, nothing to be tricked lah. we told our co-ordinator to show us the wine bottle and we actually can find them at supermarket and wine cellars. it's just an ordinary wine lah. Erm, if that is true, and given what I had told you, are you proud that you are actually buying 'supermarket' wines from a big hotel like swissotel?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 but hor, we can only find the wine at carrefour. supermarket like NTUC, giants, cold storage etc don't have leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jule 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 of course, checked with supermarkets and private cellars lah. aiyo! it's more ex to buy from outside. swissotel will charge corkage for wines brought from outside. swissotel only waives corkage for all duty-paid hard liquor. There's a perk where you can choose to waive 1 bottle corkage per confirmed table. It's how you do your sums. The bottle at Swissotel is $37+++ and I think it's Australian Wine. With corkage at $20/bottle.. it depends how many bottles you want to get to make it worth ur whilebut hor, we can only find the wine at carrefour. supermarket like NTUC, giants, cold storage etc don't have leh. You mean the same wine or ? Supermarkets like NTUC, Cold Storage Im quite sure they carry wine and in fact NTUC has a wide selection also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2007 Erm, if that is true, and given what I had told you, are you proud that you are actually buying 'supermarket' wines from a big hotel like swissotel??i don't know how many type of wines swissotel has leh. our co-ordinator only recommended us this brand. but we only can find at carrefour and 1 of the wine cellars. other places cannot find liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites