rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 Despite the 'Cats ownership not allowed in HDB flat' regulation,any of you still kept a cat in your house?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 are you from hdb? yes i do keep cats in my hdb flatas it is, hdb's stand is rather relaxed on thisas long as no one complains, they are unlikely to take any actions Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lin_stapler 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 Me also have Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 are you from hdb? yes i do keep cats in my hdb flatas it is, hdb's stand is rather relaxed on thisas long as no one complains, they are unlikely to take any actionsim IN , NOT FROM. heheso tat means no problem owning a cat then. yeah yeahdo they need a license too (like dogs)? if so, any trouble getting one with HDB address?u on any pet's forum or group?meow. MEOW ohh, do u kitten-proof your house? is it necessary at all? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lin_stapler 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 (edited) There's no license for cats since they are "supposedly" not allowed to be kept in hdb flats Bottomline, you need to be a responsible cat owner. Get your pet neutered and toilet train them. Never let them stray, pee or poo around your neighbour's compound. Must bear in mind that not everybody like animals and some people are terrified of them.As for kitten proof my house, I never do so. One of my cat is too old and have weak hip while the naughty one is too timid to go out. He only peep outside and look out the window. But you can never be too careful though. If you have those hyperactive or curious cat, perhaps you'd like to get those mesh from pet shop to cover up your windows and gates Edited June 26, 2007 by lin_stapler Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 as to whether having a cat in hdb is a problemit'll have to depend on your neighbours i guessi'm very lucky coz my current immediate neighbours all love my catsand we all have a give-and-take attitudes towards each other coz we have lived 'together' for twenty over years but if you suay suay have a neighbour like a friend of minewho is basically looking at her every moveif she carries a pet carrier home, the neighbour will call TC and HDB immediatelyyou can almost be sure that they'll be there the next day to 'advise' my friend as for cat-proofing a home, there are two perspective to look atone is to protect your belongings from the catsand the other to protect the cats from any harmfor me, its protecting my cats my parents will kill me if i allow anything to happen to themfor this new place, my dad specifically 'instructed' that even if nothing is done, the grilles must be up things i do to cat-proof my home1. grilles with 2.5" or less gap for the whole unit2. ample space for them to play around3. no sharp edges that they may hurt themselves4. provide perching grounds by having shelves, empty cabinet tops etc5. only have plants that are edible for cats...when i think of more i will post it herein fact, there is no licence for cats regardless where you staybut i micro-chipped my babies in case they got lostif kenna caught by AVA and cannot find owner, they will kill the cat sorry if i'm being naggy herebut if you have cats, please dun assume that cats can jump from height and not be injured at all.some cats are not that agile and may injure themselves if falling from a height more than 1m esp if they are not prepared Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 hey, thanks a lot both!good to hear tat much considerations had been made towards a pet i was previously rather concern about the cat jumping off the balcony, despite being only on the 3th floor.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 no problem, just fire away if you have any other queries e.g. which vet to go to, what food we feed our babies etc btw, how's the legrand switches?looking at changing my switches now Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 no problem, just fire away if you have any other queries e.g. which vet to go to, what food we feed our babies etc btw, how's the legrand switches?looking at changing my switches now HEY, u r an SK EA too;)the legrand switches are beautiful- saw & played with them before i left spore in april... in fact, im still in new zealand right now. even though th eelctrician has not billed me yet, the price tag will be hefty. unless u have exposed switches in prominent locations, these may be considered luxury items= not a necessity:p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 for me it's more of a convenient thingycoz my parents are not so youngthe hdb switches may prove to be a 'challenge' to themsee, i have to cat- & elderly-proof my home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 for me it's more of a convenient thingycoz my parents are not so youngthe hdb switches may prove to be a 'challenge' to themsee, i have to cat- & elderly-proof my home hmm, in fact, the MK-brand also have those big button switches - AT HALF THE PRICE TAG u r lucky woman to have both the parents & the pet.do u hv ur kitty foto to show? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 hahaha, let me shamelessly direct you to my t-blog chatthe second link in my signaturepg 6 you can see my babiespg 7 there's a link to see scoria76's darlingsthink you can see lin_staplers darlings hereand yes i totally agree that i'm very lucky to have both am looking around for such switches, just dun know which brand to go forclipsal? legrand? jung? MK? any idea where i can find all these under one roof??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
karen77sg 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 Wah....I didnt noe cats cannot be kept in HDBs.....then how comedogs are allowed leh?My friend do keep a cat though in her 4 rm flat. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 hahaha, cause hdb say cats are 'nomadic in nature' and a whole load of other rubbish lohthen as animal lovers, we can't take the risk to say why dogs can cat cannot? coz if hdb go and ban dogs also then liao liao anyway hdb also knows about the unhappinessso they won't do anything unless someone specifically complain about cats in your particular unitsand not just cats in unit, but must be smell / poo everywhere / noisy then they'll take action for this i salute them Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rummi 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2007 hahaha, let me shamelessly direct you to my t-blog chatthe second link in my signaturepg 6 you can see my babiespg 7 there's a link to see scoria76's darlingsthink you can see lin_staplers darlings hereand yes i totally agree that i'm very lucky to have both !!am looking around for such switches, just dun know which brand to go forclipsal? legrand? jung? MK? !! any idea where i can find all these under one roof???meow, 3 kitties !! they r beautiful.as to the switches, i saw some electrical shops & hardware shops carrying them in loose pieces. MK is especially common. once in a while they have clipsal too... though i've never seen legrand in the shop.comparing the brands... hmm... lets say clipsal & legrand are the UK & French version of each other in the same market. whereas MK is the cheaper 'copycat' version of the more expensive brands.if u are really interested in LEGRAND, may have to ask your electrician to go get from shops that supply to construction projects. hope these helps;) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites