OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

Ok... again thanks for the advise.... I will discuss with my hubby again..

I hv a question regarding our main door...... our door (main) is fire-proof one rite? Then, it should has a sticker pasted on the door rite? But I can't find the sticker on my main door leh.... is it now dun need to paste it har? Can anyone tell me?

Hi folks,

Ive moved in to my unit for 2 mths already. So here's somemore experience to share with you (which may or may not be relevent)

1. Be sure to ask how's the curtain or blind railings going to look like once installed.

2. Check the bomb shelter door if it can be close easily and also the rubber hose around the inner door frame which tends drop off after sometime because of the lousy glue that they use

3. If you want to have many pillows, queen size bed is not enough ..hehe

4. Test the aircon before anything if possible, because it will be tricky rectifying any problem if u already painted or have concealed the pipes

5. If you are getting a big TV say 37" and above, try to have the distance between the tv and sofa be 2x the length of the TV to have the best effect.

6. When designing your tv console, take in the factor of a home entertainment system (esp the location for the woofer, speakers etc)

7. Try to use electrical door bell instead of wireless because in the event of lightning, chances that the door bell will ring non stop due to the stastic electricity in the atmosphere (was told by the electrician)

8. Be careful if you want to do a platform for the fridge. Its best if you know what fridge you want to buy 1st and then give the dimension to your contractor. It will be real headache if you done your platform and then cannot find a suitable fridge that fits.

Hope this helps and to be continued if I can think of more :P

PS...anyone knows where to get nice door mat for the front door???

Hi Elaine,

My ID did quote me for a sliding 10mm tempered glass door leh.. but she have not went up to our unit to take a look yet lar.. dun koe if there will be any changes after she went p to take a look a not :P

But what is teh reason ur contractor gave you for not being able to do up the door leh?

my contractor said i should at least do a 12mm to be withstand breakage etc...

Ok... again thanks for the advise.... I will discuss with my hubby again..

I hv a question regarding our main door...... our door (main) is fire-proof one rite? Then, it should has a sticker pasted on the door rite? But I can't find the sticker on my main door leh.... is it now dun need to paste it har? Can anyone tell me?

Hi jj2,

u can try to open the side panel door (the main door). Coz mine is stick on the side panel when we open up everything including the gate side panel.

Hope u can find it.

Tanglin Halt had some gate problem, as in ppl can steal the metal gate?

bee joy - your house almost ready?

Yap. My house is already in Shift-in mode. Now sourcing for furniture n stuffs.

For those under En-bloc and has shifted in, can share if you hv surrender yr old flat to HDB? Actually thinking of getting an extension on the surrender date. Blk 27B has less then 5 units shifted in and so many renovation works are still going on. I dun feel safe shifting in yet. Any feedback?

Hi folks,

Ive moved in to my unit for 2 mths already. So here's somemore experience to share with you (which may or may not be relevent)

1. Be sure to ask how's the curtain or blind railings going to look like once installed.

2. Check the bomb shelter door if it can be close easily and also the rubber hose around the inner door frame which tends drop off after sometime because of the lousy glue that they use

3. If you want to have many pillows, queen size bed is not enough ..hehe

4. Test the aircon before anything if possible, because it will be tricky rectifying any problem if u already painted or have concealed the pipes

5. If you are getting a big TV say 37" and above, try to have the distance between the tv and sofa be 2x the length of the TV to have the best effect.

6. When designing your tv console, take in the factor of a home entertainment system (esp the location for the woofer, speakers etc)

7. Try to use electrical door bell instead of wireless because in the event of lightning, chances that the door bell will ring non stop due to the stastic electricity in the atmosphere (was told by the electrician)

8. Be careful if you want to do a platform for the fridge. Its best if you know what fridge you want to buy 1st and then give the dimension to your contractor. It will be real headache if you done your platform and then cannot find a suitable fridge that fits.

Hope this helps and to be continued if I can think of more :P

PS...anyone knows where to get nice door mat for the front door???

I guess U must be from Blk 25A. Many units have shifted in there.

U mentioned abt the curtains or blinds railing. Can i check if u hv a problem fixing up the curtains at all bedrooms? Due to the protuding edge n the L-shape window, i will hv problem fixing leh.

I think someone has asked this before... but forgive me for asking again.

How to post pictures in here huh? :-p

Step by Step instructions... Hope you can show us more photos :P

1. http://www.picoodle.com/

2. Click on "Browse" to select your picture file & "Upload It"

3. Select the URL link for "Direct link to image URL of image", click on image.gif found on top of the text box when u try to post and paste the URL

bee joy - As above :rolleyes:

Post some photos of your house?

hehe nic is our helpful neighbour from across the street....great advice! :P

i already bought my bed :rolleyes: need to get less pillow then or kick my hubby off the bed :rolleyes:

nice floormat...haha dont ask me, i am a disney fan so it will be a disney one most probably!

I guess U must be from Blk 25A. Many units have shifted in there.

U mentioned abt the curtains or blinds railing. Can i check if u hv a problem fixing up the curtains at all bedrooms? Due to the protuding edge n the L-shape window, i will hv problem fixing leh.

I think someone has asked this before... but forgive me for asking again.

How to post pictures in here huh? :-p

Dear bee joy, like Linggie has mentioned, I am our neighbour across road at 118A.

It is very much depend on the TYPE of curtain or blind you choose, thickness of the window grill and space around the window.

For example, my guestroom's window does not have a latch/spacing above it, so i have to use brackets that are about 4 inches long to hold up the blind railing which is not very nice.

Another thing to note is, try to flush your curtain around 1 inch of your window, cos it wont be nice if you have a big gap between the window and the curtain.

Ultimately, you need to get your curtain man to tell u the pros and cos on the various type of curtains/blinds and how it is being installed, ask them if the railings/bracket will be concealed or very visable. Like I chose roman blind for my MB, so whenever I pull it up, I have to straighten out the creases but its pretty nice when its down.

I have panel curtains for LR....effect is nice, you can consider if it suits your theme

tmr IT fair starts lo..buy tv buy tv buy tv :yamseng:

Yeah loh...you should able to get good deals....too bad i got mine already :furious:

When you buy, make sure they allow you to do 1 time change should you change your mind abt the model before delivery

Linggie,

where u get ur disney floor mat. I oso wan to get. Dun tell me fly all the way to disneyland to buy. I will pengzz :yamseng:

hm.... hubby intend to buy 37" TV dunno will it be too big for our living rm (4rm). Intend to haf it stick up the feature wall.

Linggie,

where u get ur disney floor mat. I oso wan to get. Dun tell me fly all the way to disneyland to buy. I will pengzz :yamseng:

hm.... hubby intend to buy 37" TV dunno will it be too big for our living rm (4rm). Intend to haf it stick up the feature wall.

Yup 37" should be perfect....I got 42" think its too big, but lucky my LR is long so can adjust the sofa abit further

Hi NIC

Can post your pic of your new home over here for us to see see look look?

Thanks!:yamseng:

HAPPY

Hi NIC

Can post your pic of your new home over here for us to see see look look?

Thanks!:furious:

HAPPY

)

I still meddling with my home entertainment system cables becos I didnt expect to have 1. Dunno where to put the woofer...cos my console is not designed for it :yamseng:

One i have it figured out, will post and share :furious:

oh ya.. me scare scare coz i cannot adjust the sofa if tv too big coz sofa on the other side of the wall no place to move back liao.