OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

also, has anyone here explored a 'L' shaped kitchen. Like, the back of the kitchen is used to put dryer and washing machine, and one wall is built to separate the washing machine area and the actual kitchen. n the actual kitchen is 'L' shaped. wondering if space allows us to do that.

i'm considering having an L-shaped kitchen. will decide again once feng shui permits. :yamseng:

Edited by VinceDelfino

Hi all, for those using parquet / laminate for your bedrooms, why did u all decide on using parquet / laminate? am in a dilemma actually, there are things abt parquet that i dont like (prone to scratches) and there are also things abt laminates that i dont like (once water gets in, and is not cleaned immediately, it'll spoil the floor).

also, has anyone here explored a 'L' shaped kitchen. Like, the back of the kitchen is used to put dryer and washing machine, and one wall is built to separate the washing machine area and the actual kitchen. n the actual kitchen is 'L' shaped. wondering if space allows us to do that.

so far anyone got quotation for less than $15k?

I'm taking parquet b'cos I feel that it requires lesser maintenance... after applying vanish, I do not have to fear about water unlike laminates

As for yr ideas for a L shape kitchen, go to 25A 10th & 15th floor and look at the units done by "Homemakers"

hey guys! thanks! I just got the letter from my dad on last thurs (yup it was very late but it is ok lah at least i got it back safely liao) n sent back to HDB on last fri nite hopefully today will reach HDB Credit Department before lunch..

wow! congrats to sparey!! so happy hor.. get keys liao!:jawdrop: i guess i'd hv to wait a lil longer le.. since my loan form reached HDB later than others.. nvm la.. need to keep myself positively.. it will come to me SOON!! hee..

hey guys! thanks! I just got the letter from my dad on last thurs (yup it was very late but it is ok lah at least i got it back safely liao) n sent back to HDB on last fri nite hopefully today will reach HDB Credit Department before lunch..

wow! congrats to sparey!! so happy hor.. get keys liao!:o i guess i'd hv to wait a lil longer le.. since my loan form reached HDB later than others.. nvm la.. need to keep myself positively.. it will come to me SOON!! hee..

:jawdrop: congrats

Just to share some info on flooring - parquet vs laminate wood....

parquet vs laminate wood flooring

Laminate Flooring Advantages

First up for the laminate versus hardwood floor match, consider these:

•Laminate floors give you variety of choices in style and quality. I definitely find it delightful when I get to see the choices.

•There are numerous methods for installment; it is all up to you as to what to choose.

•It can be installed on any type of surface.

It can be installed in both low grade and high grade

•Laminate flooring are stable and durable

•Laminate flooring lasts long

•It is affordable

Laminate Flooring Disadvantages

Now consider this for the wood floors vs. laminate dilemma that you and I may face.

•Laminate floors have so may options to choose from, that it can become very confusing

•Aside from the choices, there are also numerous methods of installations. Though I have found this convenient at times, it can also add to the confusion.

•The top of laminate flooring is a mere photograph of a hardwood floor; I often think that authenticity greatly suffers here.

Wood Flooring Advantages

I have already given you what laminate flooring is all about. Now consider these:

•Wood flooring is authentic, real wood

•When you utilize wood flooring, especially the antique ones, you are helping the ecosystem

•Wood flooring is durable

•When you have wood flooring, it means that it is high grade

Wood Flooring Disadvantages

For the wood floor vs laminate question, you have to take a look at this too.

•Wood flooring can only be installed above grade only

•Wood flooring poses difficulty when it comes to installations

•Not all floors can accommodate wood flooring

•Some wood flooring are engineered, not entirely made up of wood

•Wood flooring is expensive

•Wood flooring requires a lot of maintenance and not that durable.

I have often considered this hardwood vs laminate flooring thing. For me, it may not be necessarily your opinion, laminate flooring is better. Yes, laminate flooring is a replica of the real thing but it is affordable and for me, more beautiful than the real one. Also, when you say hardwood versus laminate flooring, I would choose laminate for its easy installation. I do not want to go through all that hassle. Laminate can be installed in most floors. Much better isn’t it? However if you compare hardwood floors vs laminate and find hardwood floors the better, then I would not disagree with you. Everyone after all has different opinions. Also, if you can afford it and are willing to go through the difficulties of installations, then by all means go for hard wood flooring.

Another website http://interiordec.about.com/od/hardwoodfl...woodfloorsF.htm

:jawdrop::o

Just to share some info on flooring - parquet vs laminate wood....

thanks for list, i guess i will opt for all granite flooring.

Edited by nemofc

wow! congrats to sparey!! so happy hor.. get keys liao!:thumbs up: i guess i'd hv to wait a lil longer le.. since my loan form reached HDB later than others.. nvm la.. need to keep myself positively.. it will come to me SOON!! hee..

hehe thks, really excited abt it... have not actually sneak in and wonder how small it is :yamseng:

hehe thks, really excited abt it... have not actually sneak in and wonder how small it is :dunno:

hee sparey.. i dunno how u guys feel abt it.. but to me.. no matter how small.. it is still a big flat for me already.. i've been living in rooms no more than 30sqm for my whole life.. can u imagine.. hehehehe... so a 85sqm is a big upgrade to me liao!:thumbs up::yamseng:

hee sparey.. i dunno how u guys feel abt it.. but to me.. no matter how small.. it is still a big flat for me already.. i've been living in rooms no more than 30sqm for my whole life.. can u imagine.. hehehehe... so a 85sqm is a big upgrade to me liao!:yamseng::dunno:

wow guess u will be more excited than any one of us here :thumbs up:

can we install a chimney hood in our kitchen?

Yes, you can. Just have to buy a chimney hood and inform your ID or contractor when they are designing your kitchen..

Hello all

BF thinking of doing up our living/dining area + corridor in black galaxy granite tiles. Do you think is a good idea? Ours is a 85m2 one.. So I believe the area to do up will be very minimal.. any suggestions if to do this or not?

Thanks in advance!