OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

Hello...what is the pros and cons for using the storage heater compare to instant heater?

Still deciding.....

happy, in my unit now we using the free 1 frm citygas, it is a 5L capacity gas instant heater, reason i use cos firstly it was free n gas in sg is much cheaper than electricity, we do not fancy those rainshower, so normal shower head is ok for the water pressure, but however, if 2 bathroom take shower at the same time.. seems like the heater can't heat up the amount of hot water needed to pump to both bathroom.. resulting i getting cool water in the MBR sometimes.. u may want to take tis into consideration as you have more family members living together.. so chances of using both shower at the same time is higher.. i do not hv storage heater so dunno much abt it..

(jus added)..

oh forgot to add.. my gas instant heater.. it is ready quite instant.. i turn on the mix tap for abt 15sec for the 1st time.. then hot water will b available at once subsequently.. so for the 1st 15sec of the cold water i use it to wash underwear n jus nice hot water come as i finished rinsing off n can start my shower le.. no wastestage..

Edited by xlan

OMG..I remember one thing, I wont be using govt gas.

So, unable to use storage at all right?

happy, in my unit now we using the free 1 frm citygas, it is a 5L capacity gas instant heater, reason i use cos firstly it was free n gas in sg is much cheaper than electricity, we do not fancy those rainshower, so normal shower head is ok for the water pressure, but however, if 2 bathroom take shower at the same time.. seems like the heater can't heat up the amount of hot water needed to pump to both bathroom.. resulting i getting cool water in the MBR sometimes.. u may want to take tis into consideration as you have more family members living together.. so chances of using both shower at the same time is higher.. i do not hv storage heater so dunno much abt it..

(jus added)..

oh forgot to add.. my gas instant heater.. it is ready quite instant.. i turn on the mix tap for abt 15sec for the 1st time.. then hot water will b available at once subsequently.. so for the 1st 15sec of the cold water i use it to wash underwear n jus nice hot water come as i finished rinsing off n can start my shower le.. no wastestage..

ALL neighbour if you all hv defect , like watermark or other pls report to HDB bukit merah better . As the officer from HDB tell me contractor never tell them hv watermarks also in other unit . They dUnno abt this watermarks issue . IMPORTANT " 27B IS THE CONTRACTOR NOT HDB "

He say the contractor need to work and rectify , else cant hang over .

Now I scare the contractor want easy job and get money fast fast so never report to HDB .

Report pls attach the photo as proof will be better

Edited by msbean

OMG..I remember one thing, I wont be using govt gas.

So, unable to use storage at all right?

oh like tat.. i tink u got it wrong le.. if u not using govt gas (aka citygas).. then u left with 2 choices.. 1 is electric storage heater (u'd hv 1 big cylinder thingy, "centralised" install at 1 place n split hot water supply to wherever u need hot water).. else the other option is to use electric instant heater (u need to install 1 heater per bathroom, not "centralised" kind, meaning u gotta buy 2 heater to install separately in bathroom if u want both to hv hot water supply)

Edited by xlan

for our new flats, storage heater will be better as all the pipes are hidden. You notice the gas pipe sticking out on the wall on the left side of your common toilet door? That's for connecting to the storage heater. If you go for instant heater, they will have to re-run the pipes and you will see the pipe running from your instant heater to your shower tap. Like in our parent's house. Will look rather awful.. This is what i gathered from the few IDs i spoke to..

mine is instant heater..but i dont see any pipe running from / to the heater leh :sport-smiley-004:

Where is the switch if i installed the storage tank? I mean if i taking shower in MBR, do i need to on the switch in the kitchen or i will have a switch in my MBR?

oh like tat.. i tink u got it wrong le.. if u not using govt gas (aka citygas).. then u left with 2 choices.. 1 is electric storage heater (u'd hv 1 big cylinder thingy, "centralised" install at 1 place n split hot water supply to wherever u need hot water).. else the other option is to use electric instant heater (u need to install 1 heater per bathroom, not "centralised" kind, meaning u gotta buy 2 heater to install separately in bathroom if u want both to hv hot water supply)

Hi Kelvin

Nice to meet you today.

What a surprised it is to meet you at econ.

Nice to take a short tour to your house and my house.

Too bad, unable to go in as wet work is in progress.

Nevermind, we will have plenty of time.

Hi Cindy MonkeyBone...were you be at home late afternoon this week? I knock off in the afternoon and came straight to see my house. You want to take a peek at my unit? I will give you a buzz if you are at home.

Hi SKYSheep...were you be there also in the afternoon or evening this week? Might drop by to see your house.

Hi everybody...anybody going?

HAPPY

Edited by h4happy

Ms Bean,

OMG. What is HDB doing ? So many defects. It is really a blessing that u found out this before you do your flooring. Open big big eyes and check throughly.

ok...I got it.

Eat up alot of electricity?

My neighbour told me need to on it for 10 min in order to take bath.

Yup. It is true! I need to switch it on for 10 to 15 mins.

:sport-smiley-004:

Hi Kelvin

Nice to meet you today.

Hi Cindy MonkeyBone...were you be at home late afternoon this week? I knock off in the afternoon and came straight to see my house. You want to take a peek at my unit? I will give you a buzz if you are at home.

Hi SKYSheep...were you be there also in the afternoon or evening this week? Might drop by to see your house.

HAPPY

Yup. I will either be at home or at shopping center. SHOPPING ! SHOPPING ! SHOPPING! :bangwall:

Edited by Cindy-Monkeybone

msbean, dun like that say leh, i finished my reno liao and moved in liao, luckily till now nothing pop out yet, but my HDB given shower head at my MBR spolit liao and also i discovered hairline cracks appearing at my painted walls.. Sian.. Really lousy leh..

Now i so **** regret last time never hack the kitchen tiles.. All my kitchen tiles very dirty, the grout lines are so dirty, tried everything but just can't remove.. The lines is BLACK lor, not brown or dark brown, but BLACK!:ph34r::)

yeah i agree, i noticed some hairline cracks in my MBR toilet.. and kitchen tiles **** jialat... trap dust one!!

common toilet tiles get dirty very easily... sighs... 8|8|8|

for our new flats, storage heater will be better as all the pipes are hidden. You notice the gas pipe sticking out on the wall on the left side of your common toilet door? That's for connecting to the storage heater. If you go for instant heater, they will have to re-run the pipes and you will see the pipe running from your instant heater to your shower tap. Like in our parent's house. Will look rather awful.. This is what i gathered from the few IDs i spoke to..

Hihi PoohBearz.. wanna check with u where is the storage water heater to be install?? at the gas pipe there?? Was told by 1 contractor... dunno whether it is true... cos won't it be awful to be place there? so bulky..

Cos currently my parents' place have the storage water heater place @ the common toilet.. high up, so wont block way...

So tat particular contractor advice me to change to instant one which i realli dun like...

Storage water heater have a longer life span (more than 10 yrs), water is REAL HOT!! GOOD!:ph34r:

Hi Happy,

when you going for the visit?? can join in heehee..

But my hubby n me will be around at JM i tink on either friday evening or sunday.

Hi Kelvin

Nice to meet you today.

HAPPY

Hello...what is the pros and cons for using the storage heater compare to instant heater?

Still deciding.....

storage heater - good for people with rain shower, bath tub as capacity is higher. but it also means that it has a slightly higher running cost. also needs to heat up the tank first.

instant heater - there are 2 type, gas and electric. for the gas type, city gas has run out of the free give away. for gas instant heater, you will have a gas pipe running basically all round your kitchen. pro is lower running cost as gas is cheaper. electric instant heater is installed inside the bathroom near your shower point, supplying hot water to that bathroom only. hence no unsightly gas pipe or water pipe. however, you need one for each bathroom.

Where is the switch if i installed the storage tank? I mean if i taking shower in MBR, do i need to on the switch in the kitchen or i will have a switch in my MBR?

The switch will be at the entrance to your kitchen.

Hihi PoohBearz.. wanna check with u where is the storage water heater to be install?? at the gas pipe there?? Was told by 1 contractor... dunno whether it is true... cos won't it be awful to be place there? so bulky..

Cos currently my parents' place have the storage water heater place @ the common toilet.. high up, so wont block way...

So tat particular contractor advice me to change to instant one which i realli dun like...

Storage water heater have a longer life span (more than 10 yrs), water is REAL HOT!! GOOD!:ph34r:

The storage heater will be installed just outside your common toilet bcos the hot/cold water inlet is there, the U shape thing just above those switches outside the toilet.

Ya lor Dun worry this few day JM keep raining ( as My office is at JM also ) Ling also tell me she also get the same old reply from a 'Lady "

Ling and Crazy car did the "lady" give you any black and white in email to say u can start the reno start before they rectify the fault ?

no leh.... for me, i only have some minor defects. reported, they rectified and signed off the form. now i'm into my reno. must really monitor the water slippage problem.

Hi Kelvin

Nice to meet you today.

HAPPY

i went back @ 6 with my wife and they were packing up liao :notti:

Hi Everybody..thanks for your input on the instant heater and storage heater.

If I go for the instant heater, then have to box up the pipes outside the kitchen wall.

Did you notice that when you switch on the heater, did you go and look at the meter running?

Whenever I switch on the instand heater, the meter run very fast? Kind of scary man!

Edited by h4happy