OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

din notice got phone jack or not, but cfm got TV point (it using cables)

nice all hv TV point heehee can cook and see my series in kitchen .

One sotong question nowsday new flat TV point can have SCV also right ? Dun need apply for them to install the SCV point anymore right?

Happy maybe u stay high lv is it ?

Becos I call HDB ytd they say they either follow by level or my units to give key . Nvm soon u also see yr status change

Hi XIAO

You overlay your toilet tiles?

Or original tiles?

HAPPY

no leh... capentry will only come in next week. after that is kitchen top, final painting and then cleaning up.

simpleboi, my reno order is like this:

aircon-->screeding-->tiling and kitchen base-->electrical wiring-->1st coat painting-->lighting-->laminate floor-->capentry-->final painting

dunno when henry will do chemical wash, think should be b4 capentry.

and then hor, our toilets are very dark rite, so cannot see clearly without lights. after my toilet lights are up, i on it and got a shock!! the toilet wall tiles are so badly done!:notti:!! super duper uneven, some tiles protrude more than others. very disgusting.... but my hubby say never mind cos the mirror will hide most of them. so yucky rite???

nice all hv TV point heehee can cook and see my series in kitchen .

One sotong question nowsday new flat TV point can have SCV also right ? Dun need apply for them to install the SCV point anymore right?

Happy maybe u stay high lv is it ?

Becos I call HDB ytd they say they either follow by level or my units to give key . Nvm soon u also see yr status change

bean, saw your signature that you are using an contractor , is it?

how's their services? any blog?

Hello MAKE

I saw your signature, you spend $24k. Is that include renovationa and all the misc. expenses?

HAPPY

yup, but plenty of items still pending.. will do the essentials first...'when we have the time and moiney to go bangkok, we can get the furnishings to enhance the thai/balinese feel.

we actually have an excel sheet to keep track of all the spendings, so that we won't spend anyhow.

after all, our pay is very low. :notti:

by the way, did anyone here experience kitchen cement/glue which is holding the tiles being eaten up after chemical washing?

Edited by makemefly

Did any of you hack away the wall of BR 2 and MBR? Just wondering whether there's a need to engage a PE on that.

Yeap. you need PE endorssment for it. check with your Id / contractor for the price first. market rate is @ 450 - 550. there are cheap ones available also. Mine charged me $300 cause i had business dealing with them.

Err...you mean

1) Cable point

2) TV point

3) Phone point??

ya all rooms and kitchen have it but not sure if the cable is turn on or not !!

bean, saw your signature that you are using an contractor , is it?

how's their services? any blog?

Dunno leh heehee as is my SO frenz , just want find someone I trusted one . as I think I dun hv much time go monitor the reno

Think they have a website u can go and find it . have their portfile

Edited by msbean

Got some questions here !!

For those who have installed the air con and lighting already,

does it affect the painting?

I am worried that it will affect, but neither my ID nor the air con company is willing to touch up if anything goes wrong. :blink:

Also, shld chemical wash be before or after installation of the air con, and if it is before, will the installation of the air con dirty the place :unsure:

It will definitely affects the painting. For air con, you may want to paint the trunking with same wall colour to make it not so obvious. For lightings, it will affect your false ceilings as electrician will draw lines to cut hole for PLC lights.

Chemical wash before or after is ok as there will be a final cleaning after completion. For my case, ID suggest to install trunking first and air con will be somewhere near completion.

no leh... capentry will only come in next week. after that is kitchen top, final painting and then cleaning up.

simpleboi, my reno order is like this:

aircon-->screeding-->tiling and kitchen base-->electrical wiring-->1st coat painting-->lighting-->laminate floor-->capentry-->final painting

Oh... thanks xiao_xiin

It seems that everybody have different coats of painting at different times and a final one at the end.. only mine is all together before the carpentry and chemical wash.. I asked my ID.. but he say its like dat one.. hmm.. :notti:

It will definitely affects the painting. For air con, you may want to paint the trunking with same wall colour to make it not so obvious. For lightings, it will affect your false ceilings as electrician will draw lines to cut hole for PLC lights.

Chemical wash before or after is ok as there will be a final cleaning after completion. For my case, ID suggest to install trunking first and air con will be somewhere near completion.

Thanks sparey

That's what I think also, that it will affect the painting.. I told my ID.. he just tell me to be careful.. and they will not do any touch up.. if affect then too bad lor.. got like dat one ah...

I do not have false ceilings, so not sure if the lightings will affect or not.. have to pray lor.. :furious:

Also hopefully got the final cleaning too.. my ID didnt say anything bout it yet.. and yup... the air con is after the trunking.. but the final coat of painting done lor.. so worried worried.. :bleah:

Oh... thanks xiao_xiin

It seems that everybody have different coats of painting at different times and a final one at the end.. only mine is all together before the carpentry and chemical wash.. I asked my ID.. but he say its like dat one.. hmm.. :sport-smiley-004:

Thanks sparey

That's what I think also, that it will affect the painting.. I told my ID.. he just tell me to be careful.. and they will not do any touch up.. if affect then too bad lor.. got like dat one ah...

I do not have false ceilings, so not sure if the lightings will affect or not.. have to pray lor.. :notti:

Also hopefully got the final cleaning too.. my ID didnt say anything bout it yet.. and yup... the air con is after the trunking.. but the final coat of painting done lor.. so worried worried.. ;)

hmmm..so weird..that means if the wall is dirtied after installing air con, then they will hand over the flat to u in dirty condition? paint touch up is v fast de leh..i see the painter do it in less than 1/2 hr

Oh... thanks xiao_xiin

It seems that everybody have different coats of painting at different times and a final one at the end.. only mine is all together before the carpentry and chemical wash.. I asked my ID.. but he say its like dat one.. hmm.. :sport-smiley-004:

Thanks sparey

I do not have false ceilings, so not sure if the lightings will affect or not.. have to pray lor.. :notti:

Also hopefully got the final cleaning too.. my ID didnt say anything bout it yet.. and yup... the air con is after the trunking.. but the final coat of painting done lor.. so worried worried.. ;)

It's ok. Ask ID to touch up lor... if refuse to, hold payment. Like YG said, touching up takes a short while.

Do they want to do half an hour less work in order to risk bad reputation?

hmmm..so weird..that means if the wall is dirtied after installing air con, then they will hand over the flat to u in dirty condition? paint touch up is v fast de leh..i see the painter do it in less than 1/2 hr

Hi YG,

Yup, if it is dirty will tell them to touch up.. he told me that coz the air con pple make dirty shld be their job to touch up the paint.... but will still tell them..

It's ok. Ask ID to touch up lor... if refuse to, hold payment. Like YG said, touching up takes a short while.

Do they want to do half an hour less work in order to risk bad reputation?

Hi makemefly,

Yup, will not pay until they handover in good condition..

It seems that they do the work so fast also.. and spend a lot of time doing nothing..

Also I cannot tell if they really put 3 coats of paint or just trying to fake.. by 1 or 2 coatings.

Anybody know how to tell?

We received letter already collecting keys on 19th Jan morning...

oh no..i havent liquidate my CPF investment...no money to collect, very surprised because always thought it would be like Feb or later

Juz like to check, did u all have the electrical layout? HDB say its in our flat, but i cant seems to find it. I only have the water piping layout plan leh..anyone have the same problem?