OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

iwannagohome

got 1 branch @ Tanglin Mall too :yamseng:

Been there before and not exactly cheap. The problem is if we put too nice or too expensive stuff outside the door, it may be gone pretty fast....... :dunno:

this is what we can do...

red = circuit breaker box

blue = fixed panel

purple = sliding door

f_slidingdoorm_c8a08f8.jpg

anyone doing it this way?

Been there before and not exactly cheap. The problem is if we put too nice or too expensive stuff outside the door, it may be gone pretty fast....... :yamseng:

if u're gonna put it outside, anything cheap would be alright...

Aussino has some kiddy ones, selling quite cheap... but I dun think u wanna get those cos they're really childish :dunno:

for those who have done up their aircon, care to share how ur trucking will be done?

Mine's a sys 4, somemore 1 wall in living room hacked... now dunno where to place aircon..

Well, since my flat is a resale, I dont have any choice since the previous owner already done the trunking.

However,I added a unit in my LR and placed it on the section of the wall which separates the LR and the MBR toilet. So the trunking goes thru the toilet and the aircon is mounted directly over the hole in the wall so that no trunking is needed

Edited by Nic

Helo fellow neighbours, just went to Bukit Merah Branch Office to apply for cement screeding today. Nearly fell aslp while waiting for my turn. Check with you all, is it ok for the cement screeding to be done b4 the reno starts? as in, would it affect any wiring or wat? Hope it's not too silly a qn. haha.

anyone doing it this way?

if u're gonna put it outside, anything cheap would be alright...

Aussino has some kiddy ones, selling quite cheap... but I dun think u wanna get those cos they're really childish :dunno:

actually wanted to do a door to separate the 2 area as well, but it is difficult bcoz of the circuit box, moreover, how often u think u will b opening and closing the door? mayb should save up the $$?

m doing a full length wooden door frame just to differentiate the 2 area... that alone, already $450... maybe nxt time put up those drappy curtain (dunno the name, those tiny hanging streaks?)

Helo fellow neighbours, just went to Bukit Merah Branch Office to apply for cement screeding today. Nearly fell aslp while waiting for my turn. Check with you all, is it ok for the cement screeding to be done b4 the reno starts? as in, would it affect any wiring or wat? Hope it's not too silly a qn. haha.

u got an ID already? my ID will liase everything for me... it is a very impt process and it's better to let yr ID decide

I guess cement screeding can be done anytime but we need time to let it settle/dry

actually wanted to do a door to separate the 2 area as well, but it is difficult bcoz of the circuit box, moreover, how often u think u will b opening and closing the door? mayb should save up the $$?

m doing a full length wooden door frame just to differentiate the 2 area... that alone, already $450... maybe nxt time put up those drappy curtain (dunno the name, those tiny hanging streaks?)

glass sliding door gives an open concept look :dunno:

u meant string curtains

Edited by OnePostWonder

is it..i also not sure y the contractor cannot do. he just give a reason saying no space. maybe i check with him when i go meet him tonight to view his show flat

onepostwonder, i see u posted the sliding door for ur unit? good idea, i think i will suggest to the contractor to see if its feasible for him to do it or not.. if can, i will get him to do it this way. strange thing is that another ID said can do sliding door and gave me a quotation. but not the contractor i intend to engage...

Hi Elaine,

My ID did quote me for a sliding 10mm tempered glass door leh.. but she have not went up to our unit to take a look yet lar.. dun koe if there will be any changes after she went p to take a look a not :dunno:

But what is teh reason ur contractor gave you for not being able to do up the door leh?

Edited by elaine1205

Why the thieves always like to frequent the new estates? I notice that Tanglin Halt got lots of burglars and this is not happening to our estates. This is really not safe for us especially when our corridoors are so dark.

Oh is it?

I think thieves come especially when they see the door left open, just grab something and leave.

Of course if the contractors or carpenters or tilers are in the house, then should be ok.

But then, if I buy air con, sink, stove..etc and leave it at the living room or bedroom, then will be risky, especially pple might come in, and take the things out.

I will definately ask my id/contractors to lock the main fate or doors at all times if new items deliver to the house.

Then how about those tiles, laminated or paraquet? They can also grab some and leave!

Edited by h4happy

anyone roughly knows how does a downlight cost? or estimate how much u spent on your lightings purchased? i am gg to buy lights soon, hehe jus wanna make sure i am not quoted highly by those shops at balestier

is it..i also not sure y the contractor cannot do. he just give a reason saying no space. maybe i check with him when i go meet him tonight to view his show flat

onepostwonder, i see u posted the sliding door for ur unit? good idea, i think i will suggest to the contractor to see if its feasible for him to do it or not.. if can, i will get him to do it this way. strange thing is that another ID said can do sliding door and gave me a quotation. but not the contractor i intend to engage...

on the foyer side, we have a circuit breaker box (which is marked in red in my illustration), on the kitchen side, we have lotsa sockets... so if u do not wish to "sacrifice" those sockets, u have to do it on the foyer side, the sliding door stopping just before the circuit breaker box... with this, u'll need to have a fixed panel to match the dimension of the sliding door otherwise it'll be jotting out of the wall

anyone roughly knows how does a downlight cost? or estimate how much u spent on your lightings purchased? i am gg to buy lights soon, hehe jus wanna make sure i am not quoted highly by those shops at balestier

hi yang guo,

for PLC downlights rates, check out this thread...

for downlights, can choose whether to have either PLC bulb (snap-in type) with magnetic ballast or E27 bulb (screw-in type)...

2 x 13W Osram PLC with Acto magnetic ballast in aluminum die-cast housing is about $20-$25...

1 x 20W E27 bulb in aluminum die-cast housing is abt $15-$20...

balestier has lotsa lighting shops, so check out several shops first before committing... some forumers also recommend Sungei Road for cheap lightings...

Hi Zlia, for my case.. my ID quickly asked his men to lay the SCV cables & electric cables on the floor first.. as the intended tv feature walls are on the other side of wat HDB has done for us.. so when the cement screed can shunbian hide the cables underneath.. it should b the way to do it if u r shifting any electrical points or SCV points.. as for the leveling.. or how high should the screeding be.. contractor did called me to get my ID's contact to directly liaise with him..

hi yang guo,

for PLC downlights rates, check out this thread...

for downlights, can choose whether to have either PLC bulb (snap-in type) with magnetic ballast or E27 bulb (screw-in type)...

2 x 13W Osram PLC with Acto magnetic ballast in aluminum die-cast housing is about $20-$25...

1 x 20W E27 bulb in aluminum die-cast housing is abt $15-$20...

balestier has lotsa lighting shops, so check out several shops first before committing... some forumers also recommend Sungei Road for cheap lightings...

thanks for the information, u have answered all my questions already hehe

hi neighbours.. do b extra careful when shopping for lightings along balestier road.. i hv been warned there r a few "black shops" along tat stretch.. always selling super expensive n yet giving u poor quality china bulbs tat spoiled v v soon.. :dunno: