OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

i bought 21 down lights, 1 chandelier, 2 normal lights for 2 bedrooms...total about $1050.

hi bee joy, have your reno complete? mine is halfway thru'...taking own sweet time to complete :)

hi all neighbours, i've changed my master bedroom toilet colour (due to feng shui). therefore i've laid other tiles over those supplied by hdb. i have now an extra toilet bowl & wahing basin. they're both un-used. they're grey in colour. can let go at cheap price... :dancingqueen:

Hello Vince,

my renov is more then half completed. Contractors need to do chemical wash first, then install toilet accessories, then will install the capentry work (which they hv yet to take measurement). And the finally coat of painting n touch up.... n everything shuld be done. I guess. Which unit are u at? can go look see look see?

I m interested in your toilet bowl. How much u willing to let go? since we both r fr SERS, can hv special special price or not? hee. :dunno:

I bought 22 down lights & 8 normal lights for store/kitchen/bedroom at $1084. i guess Vince has got a better deal then me leh...

hi all neighbours, i've changed my master bedroom toilet colour (due to feng shui). therefore i've laid other tiles over those supplied by hdb. i have now an extra toilet bowl & wahing basin. they're both un-used. they're grey in colour. can let go at cheap price... :dancingqueen:

Hi VIN

How much you engage your fsm?

Is it expensive?

Did you change alot according to your fsm?

Btw, new flats are not allow to hack walls, is it?

Anyone knows the market price for installing false ceiling?

My contractor has given me an additional bill slammed with a cost of $1K+ for putting up additional L-box in bedroom, one 4" thick artifical wall at the dinning area and one artificial wall at the master bedroom jus beside the wardrobe area!:dancingqueen: Worse of all, the one at the master bedroom was not at my request!. My contractor said it will look nicer if we want to put the bedhead there. If not, there will be a gap between the bedhead n the wall. They hv not seek our approval to install that n now they billing me for IT!:dunno:! :)

Should i pay?

I need to know wat's the market rate for installing lighting points too. How much did yr id's or contractor charged you? I dun want my contractor to give me another shock later.

Edited by bee joy

My contractor has given me an additional bill slammed with a cost of $1K+ for putting up additional L-box in bedroom, one 4" thick artifical wall at the dinning area and one artificial wall at the master bedroom jus beside the wardrobe area!:dancingqueen: Worse of all, the one at the master bedroom was not at my request!. My contractor said it will look nicer if we want to put the bedhead there. If not, there will be a gap between the bedhead n the wall. They hv not seek our approval to install that n now they billing me for IT!:dunno:! :)

Should i pay?

I need to know wat's the market rate for installing lighting points too. How much did yr id's or contractor charged you? I dun want my contractor to give me another shock later.

yr ID quite inflexible leh...

1 lighting point range from $30-$45 (diff ID gave me diff price)

Edited by OnePostWonder

My contractor has given me an additional bill slammed with a cost of $1K+ for putting up additional L-box in bedroom, one 4" thick artifical wall at the dinning area and one artificial wall at the master bedroom jus beside the wardrobe area!:) Worse of all, the one at the master bedroom was not at my request!. My contractor said it will look nicer if we want to put the bedhead there. If not, there will be a gap between the bedhead n the wall. They hv not seek our approval to install that n now they billing me for IT!:bow:! ;)

Should i pay?

ermm... tink it will really look nicer with the artificial wall at the masterbedroom lar.. but tink ur ID sld still seek for your approval before putting up anything lor... try to see if u can ask him to absord it or if not maybe cheaper ba? :)

ermm... tink it will really look nicer with the artificial wall at the masterbedroom lar.. but tink ur ID sld still seek for your approval before putting up anything lor... try to see if u can ask him to absord it or if not maybe cheaper ba? :bow:

Will need to talk to them lor. Yet to discuss the additional sum lor. Maybe my contractor has purposely add extras.... becos he was complaining i hv pick too many colours for my house paint n ask us to pay him some extras. But he cannot blame me. They hv stated "unlimited colours" in my contract. And i hv been pressing him unlimited means how many colours. He keep saying " Up to u la, how many colours can u use? At most 7". But guess wat, I choose total 10 colours including gloss paint. :)

I will press him to reduce or absorb the extra charges.. I m willing to give in to pay some extras but not $1k+. :)

Will need to talk to them lor. Yet to discuss the additional sum lor. Maybe my contractor has purposely add extras.... becos he was complaining i hv pick too many colours for my house paint n ask us to pay him some extras. But he cannot blame me. They hv stated "unlimited colours" in my contract. And i hv been pressing him unlimited means how many colours. He keep saying " Up to u la, how many colours can u use? At most 7". But guess wat, I choose total 10 colours including gloss paint. :bangwall:

I will press him to reduce or absorb the extra charges.. I m willing to give in to pay some extras but not $1k+. :bangwall:

Hi BEE

Yeah, your contractor should ask you first.

Is that I call hidden cost?

Do it first and tell yhou later?

Tell him you are very tight and unable to cough up $1k+, tell him to reduce a bit.

hi vincedelfino!

wow! how did u do that?? can show some photos?? :bangwall::bangwall:

i wanted to get the toshiba one also, but i thought no way to get it to the aircon ledge...

thanks for the tip!:):bangwall:8|:)

i did not manage to get the pic of the window pane tonight. but what i meant was that it's better to pay $200 to replace the window pane then to pay $700 more for the air-con. can be done, trust me... :notti:

Hello Vince,

my renov is more then half completed. Contractors need to do chemical wash first, then install toilet accessories, then will install the capentry work (which they hv yet to take measurement). And the finally coat of painting n touch up.... n everything shuld be done. I guess. Which unit are u at? can go look see look see?

I m interested in your toilet bowl. How much u willing to let go? since we both r fr SERS, can hv special special price or not? hee. :notti:

I bought 22 down lights & 8 normal lights for store/kitchen/bedroom at $1084. i guess Vince has got a better deal then me leh...

i manage to take pic of the original basin & toilet bowl but i do not know how to attach the pics. i'm willing to let go both items at $100. is this price special enough? :notti:

Hi Vince!!

Great to know that you are progressing well.

May I know where did you get all your lights?.

I will probably go down to Balestier, Jln Besar (or some other places this weekend). Any tips to share on where not to go and where I should go for good lighting deals?.

Also wish to see how you have progressed, some pictures to share with us would be very great!

hi. i got my lightings at one of the shops along jalan besar. the shop is not that well renovated but the prices are cheaper than a number of shops along the same street. anyway, see below for the details. hope this helps. :sport-smiley-004:

Licio Lighting Trading

359 Jalan Besar

Tel : 62566082

Hi VIN

How much you engage your fsm?

Is it expensive?

Did you change alot according to your fsm?

Btw, new flats are not allow to hack walls, is it?

hi happy, have pm you the contact and the price. i did not hack any walls but did make a number of changes according to his advise. :bangwall:

finally,26c ppl pay attention. HDB will invite you to take possession (ie collect keys) of your new flat in due course. .Time to renew HLE :sport-smiley-004:

Yeah! It's the same here!

Have been looking around for contractors and here are some bad experiences to share. Unfortunately one contractor recommended by friend turned out to be really horrible!!

His name is Vincent from Art & Design:

I sent him my floor plan and list of things I need in the renovation since 1-2 weeks ago. Finally yesterday he sent me this:

Vincent: Hi, how are things going? Hope u can still rmbr me. I'm Vincent from Art & Design. When will u be free n sit down for reno discussion?

Me: Pls send the quote for me to take a look.

Vincent: We haven't yet discuss wif it. How am i know what you want? R u really interested or just only want to waste my time? If you are not keen, then is ok.

Me: I need to take a look at the quote first.

Vincent: Lucky never waste my time.

Me: ok

Vincent: As what i can see i don't think u hv that money to spend. U this kind of customer e most can spend is 10 over k. But yet u want people to work for nothing for u. Pls don't come n talk story to me. Bye bye n god bless u. :S

Me: Rest assured.

Vincent: Pls don't come. Tks many many too. zzz

See how rude he became after his 2nd sms and after I asked him for quote.

What's wrong with asking for quotes???

I guess he thinks he doesn't think much of our "small" project.. well up to him.. we were prepared to pay more for flooring... the point though is regardless of the size of customer's project, this is not how u treat them...

Edited by makemefly