OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

heard laminate flooring is no good after years, it will hv chips at edge (not sure you knows what i mean).

parquet flooring is still better than laminate flooring. But i worry that the sun will do no good to parquet if done up.

worse come to worse, granite liao lor..

i think u meant the laminate will peel off?

1 ID told me not to use laminate flooring for my platform as the corners will peel off after a few years...

parquet is actually not hard to maintain... i've been living with parquet flooring almost half my life... as long as the parquet flooring is varnished, it'll last... except for scratches

varnish can do wonders, recommend that we varnish our toilet doors as the toilet is a wet area and water definitely affect our doors

i think u meant the laminate will peel off?

1 ID told me not to use laminate flooring for my platform as the corners will peel off after a few years...

parquet is actually not hard to maintain... i've been living with parquet flooring almost half my life... as long as the parquet flooring is varnished, it'll last... except for scratches

varnish can do wonders, recommend that we varnish our toilet doors as the toilet is a wet area and water definitely affect our doors

Hi!

I heard laminate is not that durable n might spoil in a couple of yrs.. is that true?? :wub:

Could i check wats the purpose of varnish? Does it help to remove scratches??

Sry for the ignorant qns :lol:

if i am not wrong hor.. there is a type of homo tiles that are in matt finish.. will that make it more anti stain? or rather it will not be so obvious when the tiles is stain? :wub:

if i am not wrong hor.. there is a type of homo tiles that are in matt finish.. will that make it more anti stain? or rather it will not be so obvious when the tiles is stain? :yamseng:

nope. for those matt finish, it will definitely not anti-stain due to its rough surface. Instead, it will 'absorb' stain and pretty hard to remove.

Hi!

I heard laminate is not that durable n might spoil in a couple of yrs.. is that true?? :P

Sry for the ignorant qns :bangwall:

Varnishing is to help the wood to have an extra layer of certain chemical/substance, so as it won't cut your wood/parquet that deep, any scratch will somewhat scratch that varnish. varnishing also help to 'restore' the color. just like a paint on your car, ..

varnishing also help to protect the wood from water. (direct soaking from water, esp toilet door,as what onepostwonder mentioned)

any news on Block 26C? i popped by at site last week. saw the painting completed... wonder when the handover will take place... :bangwall:

hihi elaine,

26C should be next... Last week, we went, the workers are cleaning 26C already, probably by next month can expect keys also.. :P

I just call my CS officer, confirm that, just fax in the last 3 months payslip to renew the HLE can already.. I will fax on Friday.. The day my HLE expire.. :yamseng: Otherwise like super kiasu like.. :yamseng:

i just visited my cousin house, renovated by Classic Kitchen...nice kitchen! very sleek hehe

All their drawers in their whole house (including WIW) use blum soft closing...cool!

massive re-vamp for their flat, they hacked all the doors and rejoing 2 sliding doors to their TV console wall

I will be going Classic Kitchen to view their showroom, intend to get a quote for reference. will share fter got it! cheers

(i m going Japan tommrow! my bf is so afraid i will buy things for the house haha)

Hi!

I heard laminate is not that durable n might spoil in a couple of yrs.. is that true?? :yamseng:

Sry for the ignorant qns :P

laminates will definitely last more than a couple of years :bangwall: some brands even provide 10 years warranty...

Parquet flooring is made of real wood. If it's well cared for, it will last nearly forever. A solid hardwood floor can be sanded and refinished several times over many, many years.

like what gadgetgal mentioned, varnish is like a protective layer... I dun think laminate flooring can be varnished

any news on Block 26C? i popped by at site last week. saw the painting completed... wonder when the handover will take place... :yamseng:

Hi Elaine,

I believe ours wil be ready in late Nov as Blk 26D neighbours was informed that the flat is ready on last week.

FLOORING

I think some laminated company is offering 15 yrs and even lifetime warranty so I presume that they will repair your damaged flooring. "Please correct me if I am wrong"

FLOORING

I think some laminated company is offering 15 yrs and even lifetime warranty so I presume that they will repair your damaged flooring. "Please correct me if I am wrong"

1 of the IDs i went to told me that some brands dun have warranty against warping... you gals/guys might wanna take note of this clause

Edited by OnePostWonder

Hi Elaine,

I believe ours wil be ready in late Nov as Blk 26D neighbours was informed that the flat is ready on last week.

FLOORING

Yeap, I think it is not so correct, as the wording they use is pretty vague (on the 'life time warranty'), like kronotex, they warranty 10-15yrs for their laminated flooring ONLY for a non-fading color warranty (say color fade cause too much exposed under the sun, etc), they don't provide warranty if you soak it in the water, or it got chipped because some hard object hit it, etc.

Definitely there is a catch, and there are lots of it from what I see. Warranty only this but not this, not that, and not other things.. *sigh.. consumers like us are going to be fooled like.... idiot :paint:

I think they will definitely not warranty any wear and tear,.. need to dig and dig for the details then only they will open up bit by bit.

Yeap, I think it is not so correct, as the wording they use is pretty vague (on the 'life time warranty'), like kronotex, they warranty 10-15yrs for their laminated flooring ONLY for a non-fading color warranty (say color fade cause too much exposed under the sun, etc), they don't provide warranty if you soak it in the water, or it got chipped because some hard object hit it, etc.

Definitely there is a catch, and there are lots of it from what I see. Warranty only this but not this, not that, and not other things.. *sigh.. consumers like us are going to be fooled like.... idiot :paint:

I think they will definitely not warranty any wear and tear,.. need to dig and dig for the details then only they will open up bit by bit.

Oh my gosh ! My whole flat will be using laminated flooring and my hubby feels that pebblewash at the foyer will spolit his design. I must tell him to re-consider again.

Is anyone installing whirlpool or bathtub ? What is the expected cost to tile it into the bathroom ? I am still waiting for my quotation.