h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 i am having a big headache... deciding using homogeneous , granite , ceremic tiles.I heard homo will hv stains on it and when mopping the floor, must quickly dry it.Granite, i don't like the dark tone.Ceremic, still hv pple using that?Grainte has those white without dark tone: paper white, pink white, pearl white.Cost is about $11.50 psf (I think so lah), but then one contractor told me no more stock in spore!!China granite (with black spot) cost about $3.50 psf. Most of the units are using those tiles.My mum also said that. Homo tiles easily oily if lots of pple come to visit you.That is why she strongly against using homo tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Nemofc,Now homogenous tiles got those super glossy, anti-stain type.. Saw the demostration, can even clean off marker stain using eraser.. I think all tiles got pros and cons lah, depending on which ones is more / less important to you..Hehe.. Binzz... for super glossy, I agree with you but for the anti-stain one..I have to disagree with you.Well, at first that is what I thought also, they have this anti-stain type (they purposely put a label there "NEW! Anti-stain" kind of labels). well, apparently, it is a hoax, well at least for me.I tried to use marker (permanent marker which I usually write on the surface of DVDs), and wrote on them. It appears all of them are anti-stain, as long as they are glossy! Some of them without the mark of 'anti-stain' can even be cleaned/erased after a few days, which those "anti-stain" one can't (well not exactly can't, but more difficult).You can try and see.. we tried and played around with it last week after we've got some sample from the shops. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
binzz 10 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Hehe.. Binzz... for super glossy, I agree with you but for the anti-stain one..I have to disagree with you.Well, at first that is what I thought also, they have this anti-stain type (they purposely put a label there "NEW! Anti-stain" kind of labels). well, apparently, it is a hoax, well at least for me.I tried to use marker (permanent marker which I usually write on the surface of DVDs), and wrote on them. It appears all of them are anti-stain, as long as they are glossy! Some of them without the mark of 'anti-stain' can even be cleaned/erased after a few days, which those "anti-stain" one can't (well not exactly can't, but more difficult).You can try and see.. we tried and played around with it last week after we've got some sample from the shops.Really??? Ah, never tot of playing with the samples.. haha.. Thanks for the info, but how, the super glossy ones looks sooooo nice ... hehe.. Really tough to choose..My mum also said that. Homo tiles easily oily if lots of pple come to visit you.That is why she strongly against using homo tiles.Happy, $$$$ is problem... Oily, still have to take.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jazznpop 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Grainte has those white without dark tone: paper white, pink white, pearl white.Cost is about $11.50 psf (I think so lah), but then one contractor told me no more stock in spore!!China granite (with black spot) cost about $3.50 psf. Most of the units are using those tiles.My mum also said that. Homo tiles easily oily if lots of pple come to visit you.That is why she strongly against using homo tiles.Hi happy, u looking for granite too?? i heard from one ID, she oso told me white granite now veri rare as the stock didn't come in. She further explain tat granite is natural stone mah, so if u wan to get those off white one it will be difficult.Less such granite available in quarry liao. S less stock available in market. I meant it sound logical to me lah. But how true is it, it still depend on whether u believe or not Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Hi happy, u looking for granite too?? i heard from one ID, she oso told me white granite now veri rare as the stock didn't come in. She further explain tat granite is natural stone mah, so if u wan to get those off white one it will be difficult.Less such granite available in quarry liao. S less stock available in market. I meant it sound logical to me lah. But how true is it, it still depend on whether u believe or not That is why another option is to go for compress stone.Compress stone is also very durable and solid.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Nemofc,Now homogenous tiles got those super glossy, anti-stain type.. Saw the demostration, can even clean off marker stain using eraser.. I think all tiles got pros and cons lah, depending on which ones is more / less important to you..Binzz,thanks for the explanation.But i heard from my colleagues that she have bad experience on the homogenous tiles. Especially, she can't use the mop to mop the floor but manually mop (meaning using a damp cloth to mop & dry cloth to wipe away) else, when it dry up, can see the water mark there.Also, her kid's crayon drop on the floor, can't be remove. i heard about the anti-stain too but heard is not true too.Granite, will also have stains too. what to do?who is using the parque? can advise? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Binzz,thanks for the explanation.But i heard from my colleagues that she have bad experience on the homogenous tiles. Especially, she can't use the mop to mop the floor but manually mop (meaning using a damp cloth to mop & dry cloth to wipe away) else, when it dry up, can see the water mark there.Also, her kid's crayon drop on the floor, can't be remove. i heard about the anti-stain too but heard is not true too.Granite, will also have stains too. what to do?who is using the parque? can advise?Yes I agreed with you about mopping, water hard to dry up...But granite is easy to mop...homo tiles hard to mop....Parquet cannot mop wet right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Yes I agreed with you about mopping, water hard to dry up...But granite is easy to mop...homo tiles hard to mop....Parquet cannot mop wet right?so what's yours? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jazznpop 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Hi happy,compress stone is it quart ? Heard it more X than granite and marble. hm... unless u intent to pump lots of $$$ inside then maybe can afford it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 Hi happy,compress stone is it quart ? Heard it more X than granite and marble. hm... unless u intent to pump lots of $$$ inside then maybe can afford it No quart also have.Yes more X lah....me also tight budget...might go for granite...also confuse,so what's yours?Me might go for granite for easy maintain.So, I am a lazy type of person, so mop and clean once a week.Granite hard to see dust! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 but granite tone is very limited & are darker tone. maybe use ceremic tiles... faint Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jazznpop 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 hm..... readi headache leh.... granite indeed is on a darker side. unless u dun m ind a dark color flooring Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnePostWonder 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 cannot use wet mop on parquet flooring... damp mop is fine as parquet flooring is varnished. been doing it for the more than 10 years in my current placenot sure if u can even use a damp mop on laminate flooringbut granite tone is very limited & are darker tone. maybe use ceremic tiles... faintceremic tiles are what older generation houses are using... seems to crack easily?indian granite are lighter & nicer as compared to the china ones we see @ showflat #06-106 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 cannot use wet mop on parquet flooring... damp mop is fine as parquet flooring is varnished. been doing it for the more than 10 years in my current placenot sure if u can even use a damp mop on laminate flooringceremic tiles are what older generation houses are using... seems to crack easily?indian granite are lighter & nicer as compared to the china ones we see @ showflat #06-106heard laminate flooring is no good after years, it will hv chips at edge (not sure you knows what i mean).parquet flooring is still better than laminate flooring. But i worry that the sun will do no good to parquet if done up.worse come to worse, granite liao lor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2007 heard laminate flooring is no good after years, it will hv chips at edge (not sure you knows what i mean).parquet flooring is still better than laminate flooring. But i worry that the sun will do no good to parquet if done up.worse come to worse, granite liao lor..Yes I think many units go for china granite...they wont mind pay a few thousand more.But the choice is limited.For 4 room, it is better to have a lighter or brighter colour than dark colours. Brighter colour will make the living room looks bigger and spacious. We will not feel being trap in the small unit. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites