crazycar 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 no la, it shld be well ventatiled for the gas to burn mah... like your gas cooker. Dun tink it that dangerous.ya lor, not dangerous at all. else HDB won't approve one. i used to have one at my old place. u will hear a 'pop' sound when u on the hot water tap and u can see fire burning thru the small viewing window on the heater. other than that it's like a normal electric instant heater. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 ya lor, not dangerous at all. else HDB won't approve one. i used to have one at my old place. u will hear a 'pop' sound when u on the hot water tap and u can see fire burning thru the small viewing window on the heater. other than that it's like a normal electric instant heater. Mostly it will be cheaper than electric gas, however, personally I think the price will be more or less the same. One bad thing is that it is automatically switched on whenever you turn on your hot water tap (upon detecting that it will turn on the flames and start burning). Just be conscious whenever you turn the tap to the hot direction even for your sink tap, as it will switch the flames on and waste your gas (unlike electric one where you need to manually switch it on).The free gas heater from city gas may have minor disadvantage if two people take shower at the same time, as it may not be so hot (5 Litre/minute). But it's free, cheaper, environmentally cleaner and not affected by rising oil price. I go for gas heater from city gas and the heater is free!.saved $200+ for this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
binzz 10 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 Mostly it will be cheaper than electric gas, however, personally I think the price will be more or less the same. One bad thing is that it is automatically switched on whenever you turn on your hot water tap (upon detecting that it will turn on the flames and start burning). Just be conscious whenever you turn the tap to the hot direction even for your sink tap, as it will switch the flames on and waste your gas (unlike electric one where you need to manually switch it on).The free gas heater from city gas may have minor disadvantage if two people take shower at the same time, as it may not be so hot (5 Litre/minute). But it's free, cheaper, environmentally cleaner and not affected by rising oil price. I go for gas heater from city gas and the heater is free!.saved $200+ for this. Icic.. Gadgetgal, when will you be starting your renovation?? If possible, can show a pic on how pipes run for the Gas heater from City Gas??? Kreigs, I just sms my customer service officer for the tentative date of the keys for Blk 26D, she mentioned no dates available yet.. Haiz.. Boring.. Dunno whether next month can get keys anot.. Cos get only in Dec, probably I will want to wait for after CNY then start renovation... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 totally agreed with gadgetgal.. me too been long decided to get the city gas heater.. since it is free n gas is always cheaper than electricity in sg.. i saw 1 of the 4rm (90sqm) already installed the heater liao.. with the pippings on the wall.. not nice n very messy (cos hvn't paint to the wall's color yet).. n heater is quite high.. quite far from the U-shape.. which makes that area even more messy..my ID said the U-shape can be taken out.. but will left with 2 knobs on the wall still.. sigh.. but i guess 2 knobs is easier to hide than the big weird ugly U-shape there.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
binzz 10 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 totally agreed with gadgetgal.. me too been long decided to get the city gas heater.. since it is free n gas is always cheaper than electricity in sg.. i saw 1 of the 4rm (90sqm) already installed the heater liao.. with the pippings on the wall.. not nice n very messy (cos hvn't paint to the wall's color yet).. n heater is quite high.. quite far from the U-shape.. which makes that area even more messy..my ID said the U-shape can be taken out.. but will left with 2 knobs on the wall still.. sigh.. but i guess 2 knobs is easier to hide than the big weird ugly U-shape there..Which 4-room? So far I have been to level 6 & 8 of 25A to view only.. By the way, xlan, I am interested in getting the KDK ventilation fans for both toliets also, your ID got cover in his quote? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Peng*Ling :D 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 Hi gadgetel, pls clear ur message box, need to PM u. thanks ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rommie 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 Icic.. Gadgetgal, when will you be starting your renovation?? If possible, can show a pic on how pipes run for the Gas heater from City Gas??? Kreigs, I just sms my customer service officer for the tentative date of the keys for Blk 26D, she mentioned no dates available yet.. Haiz.. Boring.. Dunno whether next month can get keys anot.. Cos get only in Dec, probably I will want to wait for after CNY then start renovation...Hi Binzz and KreigsMe more sianz... HLE expiring tmr... Though I am not in a hurry to shift in or do reno I find it a hassle to reapply or to re-submit document. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 I think it's electric heater or gas heater. Gas heater u can get from City gas n it's free n as the name implied, it runs on gas. When turn on, u can see flames inside the heater. There are 2 kinds of Electric heater. The instant kind or the tank kind. Instant heater u can mounted it in your toilet jus beside yr shower head. Whereas the tank kind u need to mount it in the kitchen area. The tank kind comes in 15 litres, 30 litres etc. Was told best to get the 30 litres so that water temperature will not be affected if so happen 2 people are taking shower at the same time.yes, 2 kinds of heater. we might opt for tank heater as instant heater, disadvantage is that you can't really adjust the water temperature to suit you. Either warm / really hot water. currently, my parent's home using that and have this experience.Use gas heater, govt needs to lay the pipes so it's really not nice looking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rommie 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 Hi Binzz and KreigsMe more sianz... HLE expiring tmr... Though I am not in a hurry to shift in or do reno I find it a hassle to reapply or to re-submit document.Hi future neighbours out there whose HLE expires before collection of keysSpoken to the HDB officer in charge of my flat applicationShe mentioned that HLE applied was to ensure that applicant are eligible for housing loan when Signing of lease agreement and should it expires before keys collection, there is no need to act as yet till collection of keys.When it is time to collect keys, they will need us to reapply as they need to re-assess our eligibility hence for those whose key collection date are much later (in a few weeks time) there is no need to extend the expired HLE. Got to reapply again. I have this feeling that keys collection for Blk 26D will NOT be anytime soon else officer can actually extend my HLE instead of asking me to wait and re-apply. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 Hi future neighbours out there whose HLE expires before collection of keysSpoken to the HDB officer in charge of my flat applicationShe mentioned that HLE applied was to ensure that applicant are eligible for housing loan when Signing of lease agreement and should it expires before keys collection, there is no need to act as yet till collection of keys.When it is time to collect keys, they will need us to reapply as they need to re-assess our eligibility hence for those whose key collection date are much later (in a few weeks time) there is no need to extend the expired HLE. Got to reapply again. I have this feeling that keys collection for Blk 26D will NOT be anytime soon else officer can actually extend my HLE instead of asking me to wait and re-apply.To correct the above statement, i have checked my officer if can extend the HLE for us. But she said the Credit dept can't extend for us as we already paid the downpayment. To reconfirm the statement, best that you clarify with your officer in charged, to prevent any miscommunication/ delay in collection of keys. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rommie 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 To correct the above statement, i have checked my officer if can extend the HLE for us. But she said the Credit dept can't extend for us as we already paid the downpayment. To reconfirm the statement, best that you clarify with your officer in charged, to prevent any miscommunication/ delay in collection of keys.I agree with nemofc that credit dept cannot extend HLE for us and hence the Credit dept officer got me to contact the customer service manager in charge of my application and was informed by her that there is a need to re-apply HLE if it expires before keys collection.PS: Neighbours out there, you can get your respective customer service manager's contact from my HDBpage under application detail (scroll all the way down under contact us).It is definitely the safest and most assuring to call and double confirm especially for those whose HLE gonna expires soon coz it seems that different officers / managers give different instructions. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 yes, 2 kinds of heater. we might opt for tank heater as instant heater, disadvantage is that you can't really adjust the water temperature to suit you. Either warm / really hot water. currently, my parent's home using that and have this experience.Use gas heater, govt needs to lay the pipes so it's really not nice looking.err.. some of your said lay pipes?. I think no need quar, I thot gas heater use the existing yellow pipe running along the wall (not concealed, due to the fact of hazard and danger if gas pipe leaked inside the wall or accident drilling). Currently only cold and hot water pipe is marked with blue and red color and both are concealed.One only need to lay a pipe say not more than 2 meters down to the area (beside the toilet) and above the two pipes protruding out (you can see that beside your common toilet above power point) for water heater. and a bit of extension for Gas pipe if your hob and sink located further/somewhere else.Well it is small gas heater, and I think it is quite okay.From my experience for the electric tank heater, for me it need to be heated up for a while before it is being used/you can feel the heat, and remember, this electrical heater have to heat the whole tank regardless you use all of the water in the tank or not (it will get cold after an hour or two if not used I believe). The cons are, it will heat the tank regardless the tank is already hot or not (never check-assumption), and it will continue to consume your electricity if the switch is always on. (in case you forgot to switch it off, the electricity bill will go pretty high for that month, and for my case, there is once where the tank blow up due to the fact for few nights it was continuously switched on, guess the rubber or mechanical parts within the tank is spoiled, and water from the tank simply overflow to the floor). Pros of electric water heater is that, even though you have switched it off after 30mins to sometimes 1 hr the water is still warm and u can still use warm water till the water within the tank is used up.Hi gadgetel, pls clear ur message box, need to PM u. thanks ! cleared! sorry... the inbox in this forum is pretty limited.I guess they should provide a minimum 200 messages.Well, it's free.. can't complain much Otherwise, anyone can email me to gadgetgalsg@gmail.com (do not check that often, once a week mostly) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 Hi future neighbours out there whose HLE expires before collection of keysSpoken to the HDB officer in charge of my flat applicationShe mentioned that HLE applied was to ensure that applicant are eligible for housing loan when Signing of lease agreement and should it expires before keys collection, there is no need to act as yet till collection of keys.When it is time to collect keys, they will need us to reapply as they need to re-assess our eligibility hence for those whose key collection date are much later (in a few weeks time) there is no need to extend the expired HLE. Got to reapply again. I have this feeling that keys collection for Blk 26D will NOT be anytime soon else officer can actually extend my HLE instead of asking me to wait and re-apply.Not sure how this HLE issues got into some of your.From my experience, between "option to purchase to key collection is within 3 months", and during option to purchase the officer will ask whether you want to get HDB Loan (therefore to apply for HLE).Therefore, when I apply HLE they processed it within 1-1.5 month, and then after you got a reply (of which the HLE has a validity of 3 months), a few weeks to 1.5 month later, you were asked to collect the key.So, in my case, it is impossible to have HLE expired since option to purchase (when you pay 2k) till key collection itself is 3 months, and the HLE just happened and get approved in between "option to purchase" and "key collection" (pay minimum amount of 10% from the flat purchased ) date.Which I think that the above is and should be the right procedure, and also I think is the best solution, as you don't have to visit them so often. However, I get to know some of your actually have two processes separated, "signing lease agreement" and "key collection" (each of the process have to pay 5%).Dunno why the ask to sign lease agreement so early, maybe to get the fund early and to pay the developer bah. But the pro is that, you guys were given assurance that the house is officially yours during the "signing lease agreement" and the cons is... of course building up expectation from the home owners for keep on guessing when to collect the keys! A fun guessing game I suppose.. I agree with nemofc that credit dept cannot extend HLE for us and hence the Credit dept officer got me to contact the customer service manager in charge of my application and was informed by her that there is a need to re-apply HLE if it expires before keys collection.PS: Neighbours out there, you can get your respective customer service manager's contact from my HDBpage under application detail (scroll all the way down under contact us).It is definitely the safest and most assuring to call and double confirm especially for those whose HLE gonna expires soon coz it seems that different officers / managers give different instructions. Yupe.. totally agreed. Better still, if you can have a black and white email to show in case something goes out of hand Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 our HLE has expired yesterday, so will reapply again this week. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
almatador 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2007 our HLE has expired yesterday, so will reapply again this week.My HLE will expire on 19 Oct too... Called up the officer, at first he says can extend, etc etc... and I was so disappointed...who knows yesterday nite, when i check again, i'm collecting on 18th Thanks folks for the suggestion, and thanks to the hdb officer too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites