OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

Hi Sparey,

May i know what kind of defects you are looking for? Because, for my flat, i din find anything major that needs rectify, i am just scare that i might miss out something. As for the windows, main gate and doors, what are the main issues? I only notice that the are crack lines for all my room doors, but think no choice, cos the door is of bad quality. as for the window, just some handle is loose, some is tight. will that pose any problem? Main gate also you find problem ma? Hope you can give me some advice. Thanks!

for our type of windows, the handles can break easily as they age... and they also become loose over time, so the tighter the better

the handle in my current bedroom broke and the maintenance guy cannot find a replacement for me and it is not easy to replace :D

Edited by OnePostWonder

i have just called my officer-in-charged & finally answer my call.

she said, earlier last week alot pple collecting liao & will check the status on what's holding back my keys. so, i guess dates will be out soon. Also, she said is released by batches. Yeah!!

Hi Sparey,

May i know what kind of defects you are looking for? Because, for my flat, i din find anything major that needs rectify, i am just scare that i might miss out something. As for the windows, main gate and doors, what are the main issues? I only notice that the are crack lines for all my room doors, but think no choice, cos the door is of bad quality. as for the window, just some handle is loose, some is tight. will that pose any problem? Main gate also you find problem ma? Hope you can give me some advice. Thanks!

hmm.. im the kiasu type. juz report everything dat catch my attention.

- both side of the gate as well as the side door --> cannot open after pushing up the lock.

- door chip and scratches

- windows dented, rubber goes off, scratches, loose handles, cannot open...

Not sure am I the only one encountered such problems. Did anyone of you check the wall tiles and floor tiles???

So far anyone encounter hollow tiles?

i have just called my officer-in-charged & finally answer my call.

she said, earlier last week alot pple collecting liao & will check the status on what's holding back my keys. so, i guess dates will be out soon. Also, she said is released by batches. Yeah!!

Congrates nemofc and all 27A neighbours.. Seeing you guys collecting the keys very soon makes me soooooo green with envy.. But also I feel scared whenever I think that we may be of collecting the keys soon, so scared that later all our decisions on the choice of designs, colours, furnitures, furnishing all doesn't match and also all the money we saved and saved these years will be gone within 2 to 3 months.. !!

Congrates nemofc and all 27A neighbours.. Seeing you guys collecting the keys very soon makes me soooooo green with envy.. But also I feel scared whenever I think that we may be of collecting the keys soon, so scared that later all our decisions on the choice of designs, colours, furnitures, furnishing all doesn't match and also all the money we saved and saved these years will be gone within 2 to 3 months.. :rofl:

then u have to !! !! :P ur ID liaox...

ur ID should give u more confidence :)

ya binzz.. i share the same sentiments.. i'm def very excited getting the keys next week.. BUT on the other hand.. yest nite my insomnia relapse.. cos my previous calculation on the loan repayment amt is somewhat different from the latest letter i got from HDB.. n i spent quite some time to figure why n redo my maths.. n in my head.. i keep tinking abt the $ n maths.. dunno what's the repayment preiod i shld take up.. 30yrs seem too long.. 20yrs gotta top up cash every month.. just nice amt no need top up cash would be 22yrs.. 22 seems a v odd figure.. dunno can b done or not.. aiyoh.. scare later make wrong decision.. if maximise the amt of OA contribution.. wat if recession again n pay slash.. then will not b able to pay up the monthly installment.. aiyoh.. v complicated for a simple minded me... *headache*

then u have to !! !! :P ur ID liaox...

ur ID should give u more confidence :)

hahaha.. My ID abit poor thing, from the very first meeting till now, i at least change my decisions 20 times.. hahahahahaha... Actually, till now, we havent finalise everything yet.. kekeke.. I keep changing till i so paisei.. My lau :rofl: me liao..

ya binzz.. i share the same sentiments.. i'm def very excited getting the keys next week.. BUT on the other hand.. yest nite my insomnia relapse.. cos my previous calculation on the loan repayment amt is somewhat different from the latest letter i got from HDB.. n i spent quite some time to figure why n redo my maths.. n in my head.. i keep tinking abt the $ n maths.. dunno what's the repayment preiod i shld take up.. 30yrs seem too long.. 20yrs gotta top up cash every month.. just nice amt no need top up cash would be 22yrs.. 22 seems a v odd figure.. dunno can b done or not.. aiyoh.. scare later make wrong decision.. if maximise the amt of OA contribution.. wat if recession again n pay slash.. then will not b able to pay up the monthly installment.. aiyoh.. v complicated for a simple minded me... *headache*

Hey xlan,

Many of my colleagues advise us to take the longest period first, as and when got more money in OA e.g. $10k, go clear off some and then if possible shorten bit by bit, try not to top up cash.. Cos no one know what will happen in future, like u say, if one day suddenly recession, then what to do with the loan?? Also HDB concession loan is the lowest interest loan that one can get, so its better to lengthen first then shorten..

you should get a 30 year loan first. if you clear the loan in 22years, the interest is pro-rated to 22 years instead of 30 years.

for my case, i pay min. down-payment but at the same time make sure i do not need to top-up cash for my installment every month (even though can afford to put more down-payment). the 'excess' cpf will be invested as the return rates are much higher than the interest rates hdb charges you (2.6%). with that, the invested amount acts as an emergency fund for monthly repayments just in case you or your hubby lost your job (touchwood!!!). secondly, the higher returns means you'll be able to repay the hdb loan much faster and shorten the overall loan period... :jawdrop:

Xlan - Will be collecting keys on 16th

Sparey - 16 to 20

Nemofc - Not collected keys (L15-20)

Jasch - Not collected keys(L2-5)

Xlan - Will be collecting keys on 16th

Sparey - 16 to 20

Nemofc - Not collected keys (L15-20)

Jasch - Not collected keys(L2-5)

osjusti - Not collected key (L10-15)

you should get a 30 year loan first. if you clear the loan in 22years, the interest is pro-rated to 22 years instead of 30 years.

for my case, i pay min. down-payment but at the same time make sure i do not need to top-up cash for my installment every month (even though can afford to put more down-payment). the 'excess' cpf will be invested as the return rates are much higher than the interest rates hdb charges you (2.6%). with that, the invested amount acts as an emergency fund for monthly repayments just in case you or your hubby lost your job (touchwood!!!). secondly, the higher returns means you'll be able to repay the hdb loan much faster and shorten the overall loan period... ;)

yes, totally agreed. Take the maximum loan and if you have $$ then shorten the loan. You can shorten the loan BUT not length the loan.

for me, I pay as much downpayment as I can so I'll have more excess CPF monies every month... with more excess, I can diversify into more investments or maybe take up a regular premium life policy

this is a safer way of investing your cpf monies. :)

there're pros & cons. for my case, the bigger the investments, the bigger the returns !! however if the funds/shares are not doing well, then it'll also means higher losses :notti:

our method are basically another form of 'gambling'...heheh ;)

Edited by VinceDelfino