OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

island will just be exactly the name suggested

http://www.getdecorating.com/kitchens.cfm?...4641&page=1

i doubt our kitchen is big enough to fit an island...hehe maybe a small island?

http://trendsideas.com/ViewArticle.aspx?to...mp;article=7049

how abt a trolley bf counter?

Er. Why she quote me an island kitchen ? Put where ???

Hi Xlan,

Just wanted to check a few things :P

Mind if I ask how much you paid for the Mattress (Simmons Beautyrest Tribute), and where did you get it?. Went to expo last week, and it cost around $2639 for the Arlington model (if not mistaken another term for Beautyrest) for a queen size and $3039 for a king size.

I also noticed that you have gone for Water Heater,the free Rinnai model from City Gas. any idea/advice on the Gas consumption on a monthly basis? is it expensive? Hv u got the unit itself?

Any idea if City Gas have some kind of a lock-in period or contract/plan?.

Thanks.. hope it is not so much of a question! :P

i'm not sure on the Arlington model.. cos specific models only carried by the respective merchants.. but i see it as not the model that matters.. for mattress.. it boils down to the comfort level tat satisfied u.. so it is very personal.. best to try out more n compare.. if both of u tried n love certain brand/model.. n within ur budget.. jus go for it loh.. regardless which brand/model.. :notti:

for the water heater.. i tink redbottle has evaluate on this too even with some calculation on the monthly consumption.. for me.. it is jus simply cos it's FREE! haha.. i'm not a frequent user.. so not very impt to me.. tis is only for the guests n my bf's usage loh.. so i'm not that particular la.. i prefer cold shower! hee.. but wat do u mean by lock-in period? as far as i understand.. there's no contract or plan 1 leh.. simply activate the gas supply frm citygas n they will give u tis heater FREE.. u can go down to the citygas showroom to find out more bah.. me too will go down on 1 of the weekends.. to see the demo.. cos wanna listen how loud is the "pomp" sound when turn on the hot water tap..

When did your Dad send it out ? Normally it takes 1.5 weeks for the letter to reach Singapore.

on 7sept lunch time i sent out to HK via registered mail by air.. it reached my dad on the following tues(11sep) 11am... he signed the form at the post office n send back immediately via registered mail by air as well.. n till now.. already 6 working days (or more than a week if incl weekend).. i still hv not received it yet.. aiyah.. 急死人啦 :dribble:

i also got think of this island kitchen workplace..but dunno whether kitchen is spacious enough for it or not.

island will just be exactly the name suggested

http://www.getdecorating.com/kitchens.cfm?...4641&page=1

i doubt our kitchen is big enough to fit an island...hehe maybe a small island?

http://trendsideas.com/ViewArticle.aspx?to...mp;article=7049

how abt a trolley bf counter?

xlan, thats quite long for mail from HK to SG.. but i sure its reaching ur mailbox soon. be patient !..i think its around 5 working days for the mail from HK :bangwall:

i'm not sure on the Arlington model.. cos specific models only carried by the respective merchants.. but i see it as not the model that matters.. for mattress.. it boils down to the comfort level tat satisfied u.. so it is very personal.. best to try out more n compare.. if both of u tried n love certain brand/model.. n within ur budget.. jus go for it loh.. regardless which brand/model.. :P

for the water heater.. i tink redbottle has evaluate on this too even with some calculation on the monthly consumption.. for me.. it is jus simply cos it's FREE! haha.. i'm not a frequent user.. so not very impt to me.. tis is only for the guests n my bf's usage loh.. so i'm not that particular la.. i prefer cold shower! hee.. but wat do u mean by lock-in period? as far as i understand.. there's no contract or plan 1 leh.. simply activate the gas supply frm citygas n they will give u tis heater FREE.. u can go down to the citygas showroom to find out more bah.. me too will go down on 1 of the weekends.. to see the demo.. cos wanna listen how loud is the "pomp" sound when turn on the hot water tap..

:dribble:

on 7sept lunch time i sent out to HK via registered mail by air.. it reached my dad on the following tues(11sep) 11am... he signed the form at the post office n send back immediately via registered mail by air as well.. n till now.. already 6 working days (or more than a week if incl weekend).. i still hv not received it yet.. aiyah.. 急死人啦 :notti:

i think its around 5 working days for the mail from HK :bangwall:

ya.. i tink so too.. but it's now already 6 working days liao... :dribble:

Simpleboi,

May I know how much did you get it?. what is the pricing like?. I was told, if I hv the mattress delivered by end of Dec/Jan, and there is a price difference, they will pay me back the difference.

And also, may I know how much did you get your bedframe too?. hvn't start my furniture hunting yet, guess I will do so by end of the year.

We got it at around $1,900, with the bedframe, pillow and matress protector included...

We tried the bed at the fair, and my other half liked it a lot, so we got it :bangwall:

We now also will hunt for other furnitures...but still got some time..as still dunno when the keys will come hehehe.. :dribble:

on 7sept lunch time i sent out to HK via registered mail by air.. it reached my dad on the following tues(11sep) 11am... he signed the form at the post office n send back immediately via registered mail by air as well.. n till now.. already 6 working days (or more than a week if incl weekend).. i still hv not received it yet.. aiyah.. 急死人啦 :bangwall:

Dun worry too much. it should arrive by this week as I always have mail coming from HK office.

sigh.. cos usually the normal airmail reached us w/o delay.. :bangwall: y tis time like tat.. sigh.. or is it i'm too anxious tats y feeling slower? :dribble:

sigh.. cos usually the normal airmail reached us w/o delay.. :dribble: y tis time like tat.. sigh.. or is it i'm too anxious tats y feeling slower? :notti:

Maybe tonight when u go back, you will see it?? Its always like that, when u want it to come fast, out of nothing it will take abit longer.. :P

Also, is Blk 26D's windows closed??? ahhhh... hope they will faster do the inspection.. hahaha.. Actually hor, I was wondering if HDB really inspect the flat thoroughly? If they do, there should have no defects for us to check.. kekeke.. I feel that only the owner will take effort to inspect thoroughly, cos it their own flat.. :bangwall:

Actually hor, I was wondering if HDB really inspect the flat thoroughly? If they do, there should have no defects for us to check.. kekeke.. I feel that only the owner will take effort to inspect thoroughly, cos it their own flat.. :D

er.. i tink they hv inspected quite extensively la.. till i saw my fren's unit.. window's handle got knocked n chipped off then can see tat they tried to mend it with something (which i dunno wat la) then spray paint on it.. n the patches is real obvious de loh.. :)

i told my fren.. dun care n jus stick it as defect n submit.. see wat they say.. sigh.. lousy workmanship!

Edited by xlan

on 7sept lunch time i sent out to HK via registered mail by air.. it reached my dad on the following tues(11sep) 11am... he signed the form at the post office n send back immediately via registered mail by air as well.. n till now.. already 6 working days (or more than a week if incl weekend).. i still hv not received it yet.. aiyah.. 急死人啦 :)

suggest that you emailed to your officer-in-charged so that they can speed up the process for you while waiting for hardcopy. You have a copy? if have, send a certified-true-copy to them via DHL so that you can keep track of it via airway bill number.

ya.. i hv called the officer regarding this loan application.. was allowed to submit the form b4 sept ends.. but now is like coming the last week of sept liao.. my dad's signed doc seems MIA.. wat worrying me is tat wat if really lost then i left 1 week to send over another copy for him to sign n send back n then submit to HDB.. *faint*.. hopefully by this few days i get the mailer la.. very anxious now.. :D

jus now 2pm+ i called my dad, as well, asked him to go down to post office to check the mail status..

Edited by xlan

wa.. those uncles very smart hor.. got insider info is it??? majiam they knew tat 27A getting keys way b4 we (the owner) know it leh.. kao! hate them loh.. like ghost tailing behind n keep asking u..

last weekend went up to my fren's unit on 27B.. there was tis grp of contractors wanted to ask me.. frm a distance away already aiming at us as we getting nearer to the lobby.. before they can speak i give them the sign "talk to my hand" and told them i had engaged a designer already.. then they were so 不要脸 loh.. 1 uncle said "hey gal, tis guy also a designer leh!" ... :D

I think those uncles has to stop doing this.

It makes pple so uneasy and stressful.

You know, when you feel like coming to see,

but was restricted by those uncles standing there.

Maybe can tell the hdb officers about it? But how?

And ask the hdb officers to inform those uncles that touting is illegal.

And warm them dont paster the owner and visitors.

Look at the lift?

The black spray?

The showroom unit no.?

And the dirty 4 letter words?

It is getting out of hand!:)

Edited by h4happy

There is a FSM who has done the FS for my colleague. My colleague looks good and highly recommend him to me.

There is another frd who went to see this FSM. This FSM is like an ID because he drew out the layout of the furnitures location , colour of the wall & floor , hacking of wall, location of . . . . . <In simple - V. detailed>

BUT .... The colour combination that he choosen does not really appeal to me and gave 100% negative remark about this new flat.

Well, my frd has totally followed the FSM's advice. OMG !

Hi Cindy-Monkeybone,

since the FSM gave u 100% negative remark, did he still wan to do ur biz? i heard some FSM dun wan to do if the plc reali jiat liat one leh. anyway i thought FS suppose to correct any negative angle in the hse. (correct me if i am wrong).

wat is the charges like for the highly recommend FSM? Is it ike wat h4happy mention, a rm 1.8k?

Yes that is the one.

In fact I consulted them for the unit!:yamseng:!

But then their charges a bit high; $1800 est. for 5 room unit for 2 hours!:)

We intend to look for cheaper fsm without any major changes to the unit. eg hacking.

hi h4happy,

u mean they help u to select the unit when u only have the estate plan??

hm... this means ur blk is a very good blk :)

ya.. i hv called the officer regarding this loan application.. was allowed to submit the form b4 sept ends.. but now is like coming the last week of sept liao.. my dad's signed doc seems MIA.. wat worrying me is tat wat if really lost then i left 1 week to send over another copy for him to sign n send back n then submit to HDB.. *faint*.. hopefully by this few days i get the mailer la.. very anxious now.. :yamseng:

jus now 2pm+ i called my dad, as well, asked him to go down to post office to check the mail status..

can you get your dad to signed the doc & emailed you first before sending the document back? so that with the signed email, you can email to HDB.