OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

gals can we like the old type HDB flats make hole outside the window for the bamboo stick to stick inside the holes ?

Yes that would be better.

But nowadays, new flats are built in this way.

Cindy-monkeybone,

Count me in for the storeroom rack bulk purchase! You refer to those warehouse metal rack right?

Me too.

Btw, is all the shelter room same size??

Is so, then I am in also.

If can buy in bulk with great discount, then better still.

For the retractable stick (inside the window), I intend to take it out and maybe see whether any wall to drill into it.

But then keep looking at the floor plan, seem that no wall for me to drill!;)!

I also thought of buying a dryer, but then, space is the problem!!!

U're right ! I have been looking and drawing & drawing my kitchen cabinet to suit the holder. It's is a big headache. The contractor say needs to take it out and install another type of retractable holder from the celiling. BUT I have a low renovation budget so i cannot afford this.

One contractor told me if we remove that metal thing, it can't be reuse due to the dismantling. Not sure how true is it. But if it can be reused, maybe can install above the kitchen window (I mean inside the kitchen, don't think we are allow to put it outside right.) But then, think there's built in water pipes :unsure:

If you get your key, then you will have 4 months to source for contractors, reno works takes up about 6 to 8 weeks...hope you have time.

For me, I have already talk to few ids and even have quotations.

Just to compare around and by talking to ids...we tend to learn bit by bit.....

o ya, we are not in hurry to move in, taking it slowly actually...

Yes that would be better.

But nowadays, new flats are built in this way.

yes, almost new flats do not have bamboo holes outside example TPY flats near methodist church there..

o ya, we are not in hurry to move in, taking it slowly actually...

yes, almost new flats do not have bamboo holes outside example TPY flats near methodist church there..

Me and hubby too... taking it easz as we are in no hurry to shift in... will be signing our lease agreement tomorrow tho... :sport-smiley-004:

By the way, wonder if anyone knows when can we delay the collection of keys till??? If there is no valid reasons for the delay, will hdb allow??? Coz I dun wish to collect the keys till April next year... :jawdrop:

woo.. so much to catch up tonight.. day time was at war zone in office.. sigh..

do u guys think that we can move the retractable hanging bars from the wall to the ceiling? meaning.. instead of pulling OUT will be pulling DOWN.. idea?? my bf suggested this.. dunno workable or not..

dorcas, the models i'm eyeing are (model no in my signature):

kitchensetqa8.jpg

oh n me too.. thot of buying those portable/foldable laundry stand.. cos most prob my place not much sun shining in.. so will need something mobile enough to follow the little sunshine.. haha.. but i tink will be getting more sturdy ones.. ikea ones too flimpsy n can't take too much weight.. no gd leh..

msbean, i tink if ur bedsheets are queen sizes shld still fit onto the rods.. but if kings.. then can't perfectly fit (can't b "flat" on the rods).. for those moldy smell u r concerned.. u can buy those 洗衣粉 specifically for indoor drying kind.. n add a small cap of dettol to ur 2nd rinse cycle n then follow by a final(3rd) rinse.. mama n me do our laundry this way n even on rainny day there r no moldy smell at all.. n i dun tink we can make any hole outside for safety reasons..

n i notice for the outer hanger.. the "shelter" is quite big that it actually covers all the hanging rods outside the window.. see below pic tat i took frm the staircase..

outsiderodsju7.th.jpg

linggie, u bet it.. all my colleagues were strongly adviced me not to get washing-cum-drying machine.. cos if either function spoilt.. the whole machine stop working.. so better to buy it separately..

h4happy, is it confirmed that SERS ppl hv only 4mths to move to new place? i heard frm frens (who had fren enbloc before) they had 6mths to move over leh.. so was it 4 or 6 mths? for nemofc n others who got the unit frm the balloting exercise.. dun think they hv any restrictions on the moving into the new units.. cos they do not hv to return any old house to HDB.. so in a way they are practically own time own target..

Edited by xlan

Hi Xlan

I also not sure.

I heard it from my neighbours as they already in progress @ blk 25a.

They told me only 4 months when they collect the key.

So for balleting, can take their own time to choose, no hurry.

Hi Xlan

I also not sure.

I heard it from my neighbours as they already in progress @ blk 25a.

They told me only 4 months when they collect the key.

So for balleting, can take their own time to choose, no hurry.

oh.. so ur neighbours already started renovations n got notice of letter saying we only 4mths to move over ah.. aiyoh.. v rush leh.. anyway.. my bf already 看扁我巴不得一个月就给他搬过去! hahaha.. quite true.. he knows me better than i do.. haha... :sport-smiley-004:

hahahaha...

Actually my neighour already feel sian and disappoiintmented with contractor.

They started work at 8th Aug 07.

Yesterday, give 1st payment and my nieghbour wanted to cancel certain items.

But was told that is it a package. Can refund $1K. So rugi $450++.

This kind of contractor!

I have already cancel off their service as I still have not sign.

And they actually wanted me to go down and show me the materials they going to built for my kitchen cabinet and granite tiles.

They just want to seal the contract asap.

hahahaha...

Actually my neighour already feel sian and disappoiintmented with contractor.

They started work at 8th Aug 07.

Yesterday, give 1st payment and my nieghbour wanted to cancel certain items.

But was told that is it a package. Can refund $1K. So rugi $450++.

This kind of contractor!

I have already cancel off their service as I still have not sign.

And they actually wanted me to go down and show me the materials they going to built for my kitchen cabinet and granite tiles.

They just want to seal the contract asap.

huh.. so bad.. at least trade off with some other fixings to "offset" their lost la.. ur neighbour shld hv bargain with them n tell them if they do biz like tat will gonna "make themselves smelly" only.. that words of mouth spread very fast de! :deal:

mind to share which the renov co name? or hint hint la.. many of our neighbours here still looking for reliable ones leh.. :notti:

Edited by xlan

Ceiling better, but not sure if the hdb model can convert to ceiling retractable.

Anyways, got some cool alternatives.

http://www.orlant.com.sg/product.php

http://www.ezziliving.com/lift2.htm

http://www.tame.com.sg

http://www.super-laundry.com

http://www.ezziliving.com

do u guys think that we can move the retractable hanging bars from the wall to the ceiling? meaning.. instead of pulling OUT will be pulling DOWN.. idea?? my bf suggested this.. dunno workable or not..

Me and hubby too... taking it easz as we are in no hurry to shift in... will be signing our lease agreement tomorrow tho... :deal:

By the way, wonder if anyone knows when can we delay the collection of keys till??? If there is no valid reasons for the delay, will hdb allow??? Coz I dun wish to collect the keys till April next year... :notti:

I think its possible to delay the collection of keys :wub: Maybe u can check with them tomorrow when signing the agreement tomorrow :wub:

Good luck tomorrow hehe :dribble:

Cindy-monkeybone,

Count me in for the storeroom rack bulk purchase! You refer to those warehouse metal rack right?

What is storeroom rack? Got any photos to see? hehe

If you get your key, then you will have 4 months to source for contractors, reno works takes up about 6 to 8 weeks...hope you have time.

For me, I have already talk to few ids and even have quotations.

Just to compare around and by talking to ids...we tend to learn bit by bit.....

Break in?

Ok will read now...

So far have 1 or 2 shortlist.

PM me if you want the id name.

Any good IDs to recommend? It seems a lot of IDs we talk to all say the same thing..also not sure if reliable etc or not :dribble: Want a good reliable contractor hehe

huh.. so bad.. at least trade off with some other fixings to "offset" their lost la.. ur neighbour shld hv bargain with them n tell them if they do biz like tat will gonna "make themselves smelly" only.. that words of mouth spread very fast de! :deal:

mind to share which the renov co name? or hint hint la.. many of our neighbours here still looking for reliable ones leh.. :notti:

Pm me and I tell you.

If post the name I dont think it is nice.

My colleague told me my neighbour can actually bring this to the CASE.

But then if bring the matter to the CASE, then more trouble, the contractors can even tell the workers just anyhow do, then he will have hard time liao.

So, for customer, loss loss situation.