nochance

Nochance's Den@cck Blog

I am thinking of repartition the walls of my new home. A lot of hacking and redoing of walls. Hope fellow forummers can give me pointers. :)

1638394_1aaba7ec1183224170_m.jpg

Before repartition

1638562_b9ad40b41183224656_m.jpg

After repartition

Hope all these hacking will not burn a big hole in my pocket. 8|

WELCOME!

used to stay at teck whye but just moved to jelebu rd so not exactly cck but bukit panjang near near la!

if u want to recontruct the rooms, u must take note of structural beams. not all walls can be hacked. have u got the floor plan fr hdb already (indicated by dark black bold lines compared to the rest of the lines)? further, not only main beams cannot hacked, there are oso ceiling beams which oso cannot be hacked u need to take note of (this is not shown in the floor plan, u need to get the id go down to yr unit to see so that they can plan around it). hence, even if wall can be hacked, ceiling cannot, u cannot have a full room swee swee per se. i had this problem. happy happy plan plan plan then got ceiling beams problems. but if i don't look up at ceiling, then not so bad, if look up, feel a bit weird. but id says got structural modern concept. haha. :lol:

oso, den yr mbr no toilet lei. not inconvenient? imagine u wan to bathe, got to walk across yr living. if got guests a bit more ma fan lo. how abt dining?

if u doing serious relocating of rooms, can tell lots of potential in yr place. find a good designer and get them to plan. or talk to many designers and get them to plan. get ideas here and there to combine into the best one! do take note, hacking, making good etc etc costs quite a fair bit so need to budget for more.

sorry ya, last qns, wat is cr? hehe, i lousy at acronyms la. :P

Edited by LinDa

WELCOME!

used to stay at teck whye but just moved to jelebu rd so not exactly cck but bukit panjang near near la! but

if u want to recontruct the rooms, u must take note of structural beams. not all walls can be hacked. have u got the floor plan fr hdb already (indicated by dark black bold lines compared to the rest of the lines)? further, not only main beams cannot hacked, there are oso ceiling beams which oso cannot be hacked u need to take note of (this is not shown in the floor plan, u need to get the id go down to yr unit to see so that they can plan around it). hence, even if wall can be hacked, ceiling cannot, u cannot have a full room swee swee per se. i had this problem. happy happy plan plan plan then got ceiling beams problems. but if i don't look up at ceiling, then not so bad, if look up, feel a bit weird. but id says got structural modern concept. haha. :P

oso, den yr mbr no toilet lei. not inconvenient? imagine u wan to bathe, got to walk across yr living. if got guests a bit more ma fan lo. how abt dining?

if u doing serious relocating of rooms, can tell lots of potential in yr place. find a good designer and get them to plan. or talk to many designers and get them to plan. get ideas here and there to combine into the best one! do take note, hacking, making good etc etc costs quite a fair bit so need to budget for more.

sorry ya, last qns, wat is cr? hehe, i lousy at acronyms la. :P

Hi LinDa, ur Bt Panjang house is very nicely done. :P Thanks for pointing out so much to us. :lol:

I will be gettin my floorplan next week. I will start sourcing for IDs for more ideas :P

My wife and i will like to extend the current MBR and yet wanted to retain 3 rooms for future needs. Hence i came up of this repartion. :rofl: The new layout will makes our room makes bigger(i guess :P )

Cost is also a concern to me.. Lets y tryin 2 come up wif my own ideas and get contractor to do it. cheaper :P

Lastly, CR = Common Room :D

Hi LinDa, ur Bt Panjang house is very nicely done. :P Thanks for pointing out so much to us. :lol:

I will be gettin my floorplan next week. I will start sourcing for IDs for more ideas :P

My wife and i will like to extend the current MBR and yet wanted to retain 3 rooms for future needs. Hence i came up of this repartion. :rofl: The new layout will makes our room makes bigger(i guess :P )

Cost is also a concern to me.. Lets y tryin 2 come up wif my own ideas and get contractor to do it. cheaper :P

Lastly, CR = Common Room :D

tks! but u see the $ spent not nice liao. :P

got experience with my unit can share share lo. hehe.

all the more u shld talk to many many many ids and tell them to plan for u. then u can combine into the best one and go find a contractor to work on it. but care shld be taken to find a good contractor coz one design we see outside like easy easy nice nice but actually lots of hidden issues. coz at first my hubby oso say he be the id to save money (id+their co take at least 30% profit from the quote) but lucky we didn't.

one example : we have a extended island worktop and the sink is located on it, we did not expect the water source and water drainage to be so complicated, it was routed all the way from the opposite side of the kitchen from the top and the drainage is routed back at the bottom, my id use a lot of ways (false ceiling, boxing up, tiling over etc) to cover up all these pipes as i hate exposed pipings. it is something i don't think we will be able to plan and resolve on our own. and from the way i see my id's contractors work, they don't know abt planning lor. every little thing they will call him to ask.

u can oso check with forummers if u sign with contractor, on ideas feasibility coz a lot of them do that and have lots of experience plus their place looks great! kudos to them! so put yr ideas here for their comments. :P

happy contractor/id sourcing! i find that its the most headache part for me - signing on the dotted line with the right id. :)

Edited by LinDa

Long time no post in my thead. I have engaged Kelvin from GPlan to reno my house. Below are some items i have purchased. Sharing with all :)

My Sofa from Evov, i ordered in grey

box_70_6.jpg

My bed frame from Evov

ferra.jpg

My table lamps from Kartell, i bought in clear transparent

take.jpg

wow you've got very nice stuff :P :P

must have cost you a bomb

Thanks! :) Not really cost a bomb. I source from various shops and splash only when i really like it. I have a tight budget to work wif. :jawdrop:

The sofa cost me 1.1k

The bed frame 800+

The lamp per piece is $90. Bought from Space furniture.

good buys you've got there

any pix of your renovation to share?

me always :good::dribble: over pix

Have not started :dunno:zz Startin in 10 days time. Can't wait liao :o Will update when reno started

Foyer Before

cimg1124jl3.jpg

Foyer After

cimg1138qc7.jpg

you hacked the walls to combine the MBR with another room?

looks soooo big :P:)

Yup! The MBR door is sealed and an opening is open to lead to another room. You sure have sharp eyes :yamseng:

wow so much mosaics...nice. the Kartell lamp is lovely. how much and where did u buy it for? :)