inu

What Is The Pro And Con Of Eletric Hob?

As stated can someone kindly tell me the pro and cons of an eletric hob as compare to a gas hob. We was considering either electric or cylinder gas as our house dont come with pipe gas. The problem now is not sure which is better in the long run, btw we'll hardly cook. :dunno:

electric hob

pro - won't be so hot when you cook, more sleek in design, needs less space, no need pipe gas

con - consume a lot of electricity, uses specific woks and pots, can't use claypot

if you rarely cook i.e. instant noodles once or twice a month, then electric ones should do.

i cook at least once a week so going for piped gas cooker. dun like cylinder gas cooker coz got to find space for the cylinder and the feeling of dread when cooking half-way no more gas :dunno:

con - consume a lot of electricity, uses specific woks and pots, can't use claypot

Cannot use claypot meh? :sport-smiley-004:

We using electric hob now and my mum uses claypot to stew meat and brew her chinese medicine, so far ok leh. And ya, electric hob consumes a lot of electricity, no advisable if u cook a lot.

Some say it is easier to control temp with a electric hob and the heat is more evenly distributed to your woks and pots.

paiseh, i mixed up electric hob and induction hob :good:

i'm quite conservative so find that open fire is still the way to go for me - i like my food with 'wok-hei'

and the electricity bill is really :sport-smiley-004:

your mum stew things on it??? how much is your electricity bill???

but claypot not important lah, can always get a slow-cooker :sport-smiley-004:

and i find that distribution of heat has got more to do with the type of wok rather than the type of cooker you have e.g. S/S distributes head better but clay retains heat longer

your mum stew things on it??? how much is your electricity bill???

Let's just say can be quite a bit, luckily not very often.

So no electric hob or induction hob for my new place, all gas.