scoria76

Should I Vacant My House & Let Buyer Stay In After The 1st Appt?

:( Thank you all for advice. But in the end, I feel much worse than before. Anyway, too much stress for me to cope till not been having sleep since tat day.

1. House reno not completed, ID left company.

2. Buyer pushing to stay in.

3. TTC since 2004.

4. Work stress

Not to get any sympathy, but I doubt anyone cares.

Yesterday, received a phonecall from the buyers' agent. Begging & apologising profusely to let the buyer stay in the house. He has not way out to help them other than get my help. Their rental place has been rented out to another ppl. So they have to move out by 14 June.

So the agent wants us to rent one room for the couple to stay in. He say he can't find another renthouse. So I should be compassionate rite? So, now my house will be filled with 2 more person.

Wah, from 6 person in a 4rm flat to 8 person.

Just fyi.. no need to reply...

:( Thank you all for advice. But in the end, I feel much worse than before. Anyway, too much stress for me to cope till not been having sleep since tat day.

1. House reno not completed, ID left company.

2. Buyer pushing to stay in.

3. TTC since 2004.

4. Work stress

Not to get any sympathy, but I doubt anyone cares.

Yesterday, received a phonecall from the buyers' agent. Begging & apologising profusely to let the buyer stay in the house. He has not way out to help them other than get my help. Their rental place has been rented out to another ppl. So they have to move out by 14 June.

So the agent wants us to rent one room for the couple to stay in. He say he can't find another renthouse. So I should be compassionate rite? So, now my house will be filled with 2 more person.

Wah, from 6 person in a 4rm flat to 8 person.

Just fyi.. no need to reply...

i know no need to reply,...but just want you to know that like everything else in life...this too will pass.

so take heart...it wont be for long.

I think you are already being a very nice owner to allow this, and I sincerely respect you for that. You acknowledge your mistake, not avoid it and you seek recourse to correct it, now even have to cope with two strangers staying with you for a few weeks. All these, when you do not have any legal obligations to do so and can just heck care the buyers.

Don't stress lah, once this is over it will be a valuable experience for you! :(

Scoria76... at least u agreed on the date upfront.

Our agents told us that estimated date we could get the flat latest mid June. So we happily told our buyers that by mid July, they can get the keys, given 1 mth for reno.

In the end, we ended up getting the keys only in late July. Our seller did a contra and their seller couldnt realease them the flat early enough to move out by mid June. We couldnt force them to move early cos on paper, it's the 2nd apptm for handover. So yours was quite kind to handover to u before 2nd appmt. Luckily we could move into our in laws place while our home was under reno.

Anyway, from experience, I learnt that agents wont help u solve any problem. It seems like our problem that we couldnt find any place to live in, not theirs. :bangwall:

scoria76, tinkle...hope u all coping well

anyone can pls gimme some advice? im facing a similar problem except im the buyer and my seller wana extend their stay to a few days after the 2nd appointmt.

im in a dilemma now. the problem oso my seller's seller cant move out b4 the 2nd appointmt date cos her new rented place can only commence a few days after our 2nd appointmt. so this has chain effect affecting my seller who cant move out. at the time when we sought early completion (6 wks), both the sellers oso agreed and confirmed that they got alternative plans of moving out b4 the 2nd appointmt. in fact, my seller was trying to pursue 4 wks early completion some more.

now, after the date of 2nd appointmt is given, both parties oso cant adhere to it. the agent (the seller's agent, we dun hv an agent) told us to inspect the hse once b4 the 2nd appointmnt, he'll collect the keys on our behalf on the day of the 2nd appointmt and then hand it back to our seller since they r stil staying there. then after they move out a few days later, we do a 2nd inspection of the hse and they'll handover the keys to us.

is this allowed? will we get in trouble for anything or wht problems/issues might we face or need to beware of? i read abt the harbouring of illegal immigrants. scareee leh. should we make a written agreement allowing them an extended stay til a specified date by which time they hv to move out? does this help us in any way? or wht else can we do?

wht if the 1st inspection (with all the seller's stuff in the hse) was ok, but during the 2nd inspection which is days after the 2nd appmt, if we found sth not right, can the findings during the 2nd inspection be used to make claims when in fact we r the owners oredi? according to the agent, can wor...but tis agent has alwys say everythg oso ok and made plenty of empty promises, but in the end nothing has turned out in our favour.

the sellers supposed to terminate all their utilities b4 the 2nd appointmt, right? so after 2nd appointmt, do we hv to register with the relevant authorities for utilities or is it automatic with the change of ownership?

anyone can advise me pls? actually we dun mind helping them...but jus hope we dun face any complications or problems as a result of it.

thks!

ohhh...i jus remembered sth else. i was looking for contractors to do minor reno like changing the 2 toilet floors, do a divider in the living area etc. but now im faced with the problem of my seller cant move out, they verbally agree move out on 28 jul and i do the 2nd inspection on 29 jul. if i managed to find a contractor to start work on a certain date after 28 jul and finish b4 the 7th mth...but the seller still cant move out yet...wht m i to do?? can i move in, and then do the reno only after the 7th mth? but then the contractor would hv scheduled his work and he might not hv time for me til later...and it will be terrible leh staying in the hse with all our stuff and the stuff for the reno going on as well! and i got a toddler who'll play with anythg in sight

hmmm on 2nd thot...if the seller really cant move out by 28 jul...we better stop being nice and better make some reports to move them out of our hse so that our plans wont b disrupted? we better make them give us a written commitment to move out by 28 jul as evidence? hmmm any compensations for us??

any suggestions? jus trying to think of worse scenarios cos so far every stage of our purchase oso got hiccups and delays.

thks!

Arh? wat's the 2nd appointment date?

Ideal solution is to change 2nd appointment to avoid any legal implication. And if I'm rushing to move in before the 7th month, I'll not delay cos renovation is not going to be on schedule.

Plus, your seller can move in to their seller's seller place while their seller's seller wait to move in to her own rented place since it is only a few days. It should be between them and not involve you (as third party).

Edited by raincole

ohhh...i jus remembered sth else. i was looking for contractors to do minor reno like changing the 2 toilet floors, do a divider in the living area etc. but now im faced with the problem of my seller cant move out, they verbally agree move out on 28 jul and i do the 2nd inspection on 29 jul. if i managed to find a contractor to start work on a certain date after 28 jul and finish b4 the 7th mth...but the seller still cant move out yet...wht m i to do?? can i move in, and then do the reno only after the 7th mth? but then the contractor would hv scheduled his work and he might not hv time for me til later...and it will be terrible leh staying in the hse with all our stuff and the stuff for the reno going on as well! and i got a toddler who'll play with anythg in sight

hmmm on 2nd thot...if the seller really cant move out by 28 jul...we better stop being nice and better make some reports to move them out of our hse so that our plans wont b disrupted? we better make them give us a written commitment to move out by 28 jul as evidence? hmmm any compensations for us??

any suggestions? jus trying to think of worse scenarios cos so far every stage of our purchase oso got hiccups and delays.

thks!

I think by hook, the ex owner move out from the house. Or you want to may want to rent only 1 room to them. Cos you are already the home owner after the 2nd appt. Anything happen the home owner kena, example illegal harbouring, houseburn.. etc.

Anyway, you are supposed to inspect the house, then signed the confirmation on the 2nd appt date.

I advise you sometimes in situation like tis, we have to be a bit selfish.

the 2nd appointment date is 25 jul. dun dare change...scared delay til duno when...

yah i oso been thinking why the seller's seller problem become our problem oso...at first thot goodwill mah, let them stay a few more days. but worry abt possible problems...and wana do reno some more.

hey yr suggestion is good leh. let the seller move in to their seller's place. its their problem anyway. like u said...for a few days only wat...

thks!

Anyway, from experience, I learnt that agents wont help u solve any problem. It seems like our problem that we couldnt find any place to live in, not theirs. :notti:

Oh yes, I agree this part. Agents wont help u in this kind of situation. They just let u settle on your own.. 8|

the 2nd appointment date is 25 jul. dun dare change...scared delay til duno when...

yah i oso been thinking why the seller's seller problem become our problem oso...at first thot goodwill mah, let them stay a few more days. but worry abt possible problems...and wana do reno some more.

hey yr suggestion is good leh. let the seller move in to their seller's place. its their problem anyway. like u said...for a few days only wat...

thks!

:notti:8|