annpaul 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2007 Hi all...need your advise regarding aircon issue...we bought a resale and it's got a system 3 in all 3 rooms. we kept it coz still good condition. the living room doesnt have aircon unit. at first we thought we dont wan anyway. coz waste a lot of money. now the reno is completed. but i'm contemplating to install a unit in the living room. i've read a bit about a spilt unit or sorts. its just one unit right? just for living room? how much would such system cost on average? is it high maintainence? i dont intend to on it on daily basis. only when there're visitors. we're staying close to 30th floor so quite windy. i took down the grills in the living coz i love the view outside. then erected a platform. but now when guests come, they find it scary to stand at the window. but have to leave the windows open for ventilation.now i'm thinking if i have a/c in living, then i can close the windows when there are visitors. so not so scary. but scared the reno will be affected leh...can i install after the reno done wan? whats the implications? need to truck it to somewhere? then the truck will be very visible right? need your advise! thanks!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cherish 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2007 Hi all...need your advise regarding aircon issue...we bought a resale and it's got a system 3 in all 3 rooms. we kept it coz still good condition. the living room doesnt have aircon unit. at first we thought we dont wan anyway. coz waste a lot of money. now the reno is completed. but i'm contemplating to install a unit in the living room. i've read a bit about a spilt unit or sorts. its just one unit right? just for living room? how much would such system cost on average? is it high maintainence? i dont intend to on it on daily basis. only when there're visitors. we're staying close to 30th floor so quite windy. i took down the grills in the living coz i love the view outside. then erected a platform. but now when guests come, they find it scary to stand at the window. but have to leave the windows open for ventilation.now i'm thinking if i have a/c in living, then i can close the windows when there are visitors. so not so scary. but scared the reno will be affected leh...can i install after the reno done wan? whats the implications? need to truck it to somewhere? then the truck will be very visible right? need your advise! thanks!! you can install after reno done but the truncking cannot be hidden liao... think you got to check with contractor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cha_alex 0 Report post Posted May 23, 2007 you can install after reno done but the truncking cannot be hidden liao... think you got to check with contractor...it is advisable not to hide trunking in HDB unit.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted May 23, 2007 There's nothing more to split. You just need a single unit for the living room. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Devilaz 0 Report post Posted May 23, 2007 For sure trunken cant be hidden unless you want to spend a bit more money to hide it. You can ask quotes from the suppliers or from the shops. At required a certain amount of BTU to cool the area down. Guess is about 12000BTU at least. As what waileong stated, you will required onli a single unit unless you want to install system 2 then different story. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yellow 0 Report post Posted May 24, 2007 I got same situation as annpual. Just renovated my flat with 3 system. And now really regretted not getting system 4. Mine is a resale old flat. They said I cannot add one more compressor and air-con unit for my living room but need to replace the whole unit. Is that true? Does that mean, I have to hack my cornice too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2007 (edited) That's not true. Unless you have no more space to place a compressor or run the trunking. But you will need an additional dedicated power point, so you also have to find out the power loading restrictions on your unit. Edited May 25, 2007 by waileong Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yellow 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2007 That's not true. Unless you have no more space to place a compressor or run the trunking. But you will need an additional dedicated power point, so you also have to find out the power loading restrictions on your unit.Thanks Waileong. I think i only got space for one compressor which is hung outside the window on a metal bracket. It's very old flat. So no space rite? sigh...really regret...check out the portable aircon but it's very ugly... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2007 hi Yellow and Wai LeongWai Leong, I'm sorry to say you're wrong.. cuz I had the similar problem in my flat. For old resale flats without upgraded electricity ie 30amp, you can only have ONE compressor regardless of whether u got space to store it or not (usually dun have space to store on the ledge outside for old flats).So for Yellow, if your situation is the same as mine, the ONLY way to air con the living room is to buy a new System 4 unit to replace your entire old air con system. Not because of the air con technology problem. But due to HDB rules! ARRRGUH! Hubby and I spent a lot of time calling and asking. So thatz why i can share this with you.A quick way to check, just look at the flats in your block and surrounding blocks. Anyone got two compressors? If not, it's an added proof that you can't add 2 compressors ah... hahah anyway that's what i did. Hope it helps! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Devilaz 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2007 well there is another way is to purchase a portable air-con. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2007 yeah portable air con is the only way out... but it's not so strong as the normal aircon... unless u take the window casement type which already mentioned that its ugly.anyway my resale flat didn't come with aircon. so i have to install... it's going to be daikin inverter sys 4... but even with that. i scared that living room air con will be not strong. i can't aircon the dining room liao cuz it's only sys 4. haiz. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Devilaz 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2007 well, increase the BTU to 28000BTU will be strong enough to cool the entire living and dining room. but must close all the doors and windows. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yellow 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2007 Ya, I think system 4 is only the way then....but I just got my system 3...arrgh...Another option is to get a air cooler. At least better then nothing..Came across one yesterday at IMM, ground floor, less than $300. sigh...still regretful of my decision not to install.Advice to all old flats owners, if you have yet to install air-con, please install system 4. Whether you use or not use, it's good to keep one in the living room, just in case! Ai yo, why weather so hot nowadays...now cannot sleep without the aircon every night. When I need to watch TV, I will watch in the room because of the air-con. My living room is becoming a white elephant now. Average daily time spend:Kitchen: 30% (to wash clothes, plates)Living rm: 10% (to walk in and out from main door to room & kitchen)Room: 60% (sleep, watch tv, fold clothes, unpacking etc..)Anyone like me? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites