jjk

Water Seepage - Inter-unit

Need some advise.

There's water seeping onto my bathroom ceiling from the unit above mine.

I'm not sure what's the possible cause of it. I guess it could be from that unit itself (coz waterproofing membrane is old), or it could also be the concealed pipes leaking.

Just wondering what are the steps to take, before approaching the upstairs pple. and would the upstairs unit have to reinstate my bathroom ceiling, like, are they obligated to (like paint it etc...)?

Need some advise.

There's water seeping onto my bathroom ceiling from the unit above mine.

I'm not sure what's the possible cause of it. I guess it could be from that unit itself (coz waterproofing membrane is old), or it could also be the concealed pipes leaking.

Just wondering what are the steps to take, before approaching the upstairs pple. and would the upstairs unit have to reinstate my bathroom ceiling, like, are they obligated to (like paint it etc...)?

I asked my branch officer the same question before.. He advised that a HDB officer will go down with an inspector and assess the damage.. The repairs will either be beared by the unit upstairs or shared between the 2 units on case by case basis..

Thanks for your reply!

But ours is a condo...not HDB. hehs...so I think it shd be the upstairs unit bearing the costs if it's coming from the bathroom. But also wondering if the water could be coming from the concealed piping. Then who's unit?? And are they obligated to paint my ceiling?

Thanks for your reply!

But ours is a condo...not HDB. hehs...so I think it shd be the upstairs unit bearing the costs if it's coming from the bathroom. But also wondering if the water could be coming from the concealed piping. Then who's unit?? And are they obligated to paint my ceiling?

Oppss.. :good: Haha... Then I not sure liao..

Thanks for your reply!

Call your MCST. They will advise you.

It 's usually share cost 50-50 if it's a leak between floors. Sometimes it is difficult to trace the point of leak. Or simply leaking from your own storage water heater above the ceiling board if you have one. Your plumber can check. If it's a leak below the upper floor slab, you bear the cost.

I shared 50-50 repair cost with neighbour downstairs.

Call your MCST. They will advise you.

It 's usually share cost 50-50 if it's a leak between floors. Sometimes it is difficult to trace the point of leak. Or simply leaking from your own storage water heater above the ceiling board if you have one. Your plumber can check. If it's a leak below the upper floor slab, you bear the cost.

I shared 50-50 repair cost with neighbour downstairs.

Hi Aprilshower,

Thanks! hmmm...the MCST...Called them liao. They just said (without looking) that it's upstairs unit's fault. (Huh? While I dun mind lah, but it just doesn't feel right leh). And they don't have blueprints of the unit's concealed pipes. Faintz...

Oohh...u managed to share cost with your neighbour downstairs? That's great! Coz I thought most pple tend to point the cost to the upstairs unit. Perhaps in your case it's a possiblity of either unit. :)

Hi Aprilshower,

Thanks! hmmm...the MCST...Called them liao. They just said (without looking) that it's upstairs unit's fault. (Huh? While I dun mind lah, but it just doesn't feel right leh). And they don't have blueprints of the unit's concealed pipes. Faintz...

Oohh...u managed to share cost with your neighbour downstairs? That's great! Coz I thought most pple tend to point the cost to the upstairs unit. Perhaps in your case it's a possiblity of either unit. :)

Aiyo your MC don't care hah. Then see if your plumber can trace the leak. See, sometimes it is not the inlet pipe (clean water) that leaks but could be the area near the waste pipe (dirty water).

Hope you have nice neighbours or better still nothing serious. True, downstairs unit always point finger at upstairs but then upper neighbours don't suffer if nothing is done. You will have water raining down on you if you don't share cost to repair. Sometimes upstairs neighbour will avoid you if they don't want to pay anything. That is when the MCST bye-laws come in.

For me, actually I see it that I was at the losing end leh but bo bian. We agreed on a contractor. They suspected leak from floor trap area, so they injected grout (to save on hacking tiles) but the grout "ran" and choked up my toilet bowl. Then they have to remove the toilet bowl (wc broke in the process, this I didn't claim from neighbour) to hack the grout and then got to hack the floor too. Worse part was not being able to find matching tiles. The repair went on for 3 weeks. See the trouble. :) That's why upstairs people, whether HDB or private, can be difficult in this situation.

Anywayz, hope your case isn't so bad.

Water doesn't flow upwards, so generally it's always the unit upstairs who's responsible. Even if it is wear and tear, it is still upstairs responsibility.

Your logic is quite skewed.

Let's say you walk along the pathway carrying your laptop, rain comes along and damages your laptop. Is it God's responsibility? Or is it LTA or Nparks' responsibility because they never build shelter on the pathway? Or is it YOUR OWN responsibility because you never carry an umbrella?? Think about it...

I know the rule. It's just a rule. It doesn't mean it's right.

While sometimes HDB and some MCST do make stupid regulations, but by not explaining yourself also does not make you any smarter. And coincidentally, I concur with HDB for this particular regulation.

Speaking strictly between two units, the waterproof membrane provided by HDB is for the benefit of the lower level unit, actually. The upper level unit does not benefit at all from this waterproofing on their floor, although they are supposed to maintain it as it is part of public amenities. Thus the regulation that wear and tear costs should be shared by both parties is fair.

In fact, if only one party is responsible, it should be the lower unit's own responsibility to repair wear and tear items that will affect themselves, UNLESS the upper unit had done some works to damage/destroy the waterproof membrane.

Hi all, thanks for the responses, opinions and advice.

Sorry, been busy past few days that I didn't get to check back in here.

Aprilshower:- Thanks for the link! I'll check it out.

Hmmm, upstairs neighbour can avoid the downstairs one meh? hahaha. won't downstairs one sue them or something? Heard from my colleauge, that her neighbour kena sued by the downstairs one. Though I think it's quite crap to sue someone of such things lah. Probably the upstairs one avoided the downstairs one coz the downstairs guy wasn't being reasonable and always pointing finger or something....hehs. you know lah, sometimes, it's the way peopole treat others that spark the reaction...

Called the BCA (they drew up the Building and Maintenance Strata Act) and also called the Strata Board.

BCA advocates that both neighbours split the cost. As to proportion of split, it's up to both to discuss and come to an agreement.

Strata Board's view is:- if it's due to normal wear and tear of the water membrane (i.e. no renovation was done to the flooring, and therefore no hacking was done which could potentially damage the flooring - everything still original conditioin), the situation should be the building/MCST's problem. Coz it's wear and tear - like how other common property in a building wears out.

Just thought I'd post this here for info. :)

Hi jjk,

If it's a concealed pipes leaking, the water will be leaking non-stop. Any idea if your neighbour upstairs just had a reno done? It might be due to the waterproofing not properly done during the reno. If not, it might be due to the old waterproofing wear & tear. I know someone who specialize in repairing ceiling leakage & wall seepage using chemical injections which means no hacking of tiles required and the job comes with one year warranty. His service includes a non-obligation quote. PM me if you need the contact.

Hi jjk,

If it's a concealed pipes leaking, the water will be leaking non-stop. Any idea if your neighbour upstairs just had a reno done? It might be due to the waterproofing not properly done during the reno. If not, it might be due to the old waterproofing wear & tear. I know someone who specialize in repairing ceiling leakage & wall seepage using chemical injections which means no hacking of tiles required and the job comes with one year warranty. His service includes a non-obligation quote. PM me if you need the contact.

Hi mr_pgm4,

Well, upstairs has done the work...so I dun really bother anymore. :P Thanks for the offer!