tingshen

Flat Wall, How To Achieve It?

I plan to use one of my living hall walls as a 100"-104" projector screen (will be using some special mix or matte gray paint) but I think the default wall fresh from HDB is not flat enough.

Is there a way to measure the flatness of the wall and how to make it flat?

Hmmm.....maybe doing plastering of the wall will make it smooth?

My wall fom HDB also uneven and full of lines from the bricks used in the construction. After plastering, its very smooth.... !!

I plan to use one of my living hall walls as a 100"-104" projector screen (will be using some special mix or matte gray paint) but I think the default wall fresh from HDB is not flat enough.

Is there a way to measure the flatness of the wall and how to make it flat?

yah, my contractor also told me plastering, but if I were to do this particular 3mx2m wall, it will cost $450, which is more expensive than some basic screen. Imagine the whole house plastering only cost $3K+?

how much are you being charged for plastering?

in the end, they used sand paper to make it smoother, I will have to see if I can get full focus from my projector before I decide to plaster + repaint it again...

My plastering was $1600 for whole house including kitchen walls, all ceilings (toilet included) for 4A unit..

Get a screen if you're serious about projection tv. Once you read more about what materials go into a screen and how they are designed to reflect light, you'll regret using a wall.

our 5I flat plastering only cost us $1.5K.

but anyway, like what waileong said, screen would be more suitable.

I have read about all the screen thingy liao. The real good ones are too expensive, with the image produced on my pink wall at my current house, it's very acceptable. New house wall is matte white, should have better results. This shall last me until I get my 70" XBR5 next year :D

I dunno if it's acceptable to you guys, but this is what it is like when ambient lights are all turned on.....with the lamp in high power mode too lah....

DSC05136.jpg

I was thinking of using some optical paint, but can't justify the cost if it's only meant for 1 year......

May use a roller screen when I get my TV in....

just wondering, how come the plastering for whole house is so cheap from your contractors, there are more than 1 contractors told me whole house plastering will cost $3K+ one leh......

Edited by tingshen